Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Workplace Safety and Loss Prevention Consultant


A workplace safety and loss prevention consultant is certified by the New York State Commissioner of Labor to perform a workplace safety and loss prevention consultation for employers who are covered by Section 134(1) of the New York State Workers Compensation Law. The consultant conducts workplace safety and health consultations for businesses with high injury rates to identify hazards and recommend improvements in the safety and health management program to reduce injuries.

Certification Requirements:

New York State Department of Labor .

In order to be eligible for a certificate renewal you must meet one of the qualifications listed below:
* Certified Safety Professional (CSP) as granted by the Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP); or
* Certified Industrial Hygienist (CIH) as granted by the American Board of Industrial Hygiene (ABIH); or
* certification as a Certified Safety Executive (CSE), a Certified Safety Manager (CSM), or a Certified Safety Specialist (CSS)
granted by the World Safety Organization; or
* a New York State licensed Professional Engineer WITH five years of documented professional safety and health experience
within the last eight years; or
* a Bachelor of Science degree or higher in industrial hygiene, safety, occupational safety and health, biology, chemistry,
environmental health and science, physics, engineering, or a related field, WITH five years documented professional safety
and health experience within the last eight years; or
* eight and a half years of documented professional safety and health experience within the last ten years; or
* an insurance professional with qualifications as an Associate in Loss Control Management (ALCM) OR an Associate in Risk
Management (ARM) PLUS five years appropriate safety and health experience.

NOTE: The “Professional Safety and Health Experience,” which must be documented and deemed acceptable by the Commissioner of Labor prior to renewal of a certificate, is defined as work experience which includes analysis, synthesis, design, investigation, planning, and communication to optimally control or reduce the hazards and exposures which would be detrimental to the safety and health of individuals. Additionally, it is work experience in which an applicant has developed and defended recommendations for analytical approaches and engineering or administrative controls designed to control or reduce safety and health hazards to individuals.

Fees: (as of March 1, 2012)

Initial: There is a $100 non-refundable application fee. In addition, there is a certificate fee according to the schedule below:

  • $900 per person when 1-2 people apply
  • $600 per person when 3-5 people apply
  • $450 per person when 6-10 people apply
  • $400 per person when 11-20 people apply
  • $350 per person when 21+ people apply

Licensing Authority:

New York State Department of Labor .
Worker Protection Central Processing,
License and Certificate Unit, Room 290A
State Campus, Building 12
Albany, NY 12240
Phone: (518) 457-2735
Fax: (518) 485-8530

Standard Occupational Classification:

29-9010 - Occupational Health and Safety Specialists and Technicians
To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).


Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.

This page was last updated on 12/08/14.

Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.