Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Respiratory Therapy Technician

Description:

Respiratory therapy technicians perform these services under the supervision of a licensed respiratory therapist or a licensed physician.

Licensing Requirements:

Any use of the title "Respiratory Therapy Technician" within New York State requires licensure.

To be licensed as a Respiratory Therapy Technician in New York State you must:

  • be of good moral character;
  • be at least 18 years of age; and
  • meet education and examination requirements.

The specific requirements for licensure are contained in Title 8, Article 164, Sections 8504 and 8510 of New York's Education Law and Part 79-4 of the Commissioner's Regulations.

Education Requirements:

You must have graduated from high school, or the equivalent, and completed an approved one-year certificate program in respiratory therapy technology or a respiratory program determined by the Department to be equivalent.

Examination Requirements:

You must pass the NBRC Certified Respiratory Therapist examination (CRT).

Fees (as of November 3, 2016)

The fee for licensure for respiratory therapy technician is $154.
The fee for a limited permit for a respiratory therapy technician is $50

Licenses Issued and Active:

In 2014, there were 78 licenses issued for this occupation.
In 2015, there were 43 licenses issued for this occupation.

As of July 1, 2016, there were 1,031 active licenses for this occupation.

Licensing Authority:

New York State Education Department
Education Building
Office of the Professions
Division of Professional Licensing Services
Respiratory Therapy Unit
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12234
Phone: (518) 474-3817 Ext. 270
Fax: (518) 474-3706
E-mail: opunit3@mail.nysed.gov

Standard Occupational Classification:

29-2054 - Respiratory Therapy Technicians
To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).

Additional Information:

American Association for Respiratory Care
9425 N. MacArthur Blvd. Suite 100
Irving, TX 75063-4706
Phone: (972) 243-2272
Fax: (972) 484-2720

National Board for Respiratory Care
10801 Mastin Street, Suite 300
Overland Park, KS 66210
Phone: (888)341-4811 or (913) 895-4900
Fax: (913) 712-9283
E-mail: nbrc-info@nbrc.org

Disclaimer:

Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.

This page was last updated on 12/22/16.

Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.