Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Polysomnographic Technologist

Description:

A polysomnographic technologist collects, analyzes, scores, monitors and records physiologic data during sleep and wakefulness to assist the supervising physician in the clinical assessment and diagnosis of sleep/wake disorders and other disorders, syndromes and dysfunctions that either are sleep related, manifest during sleep or disrupt normal sleep/wake cycles and activities. Polysomnographic technology includes the non-invasive monitoring, diagnostic testing, and initiation and delivery of treatments to determine therapeutic levels of inspiratory and expiratory pressures for individuals suffering from any sleep disorder.

Licensure Requirements:

Any use of the title "Authorized Polysomnographic Technologist" within New York State requires authorization.

To be authorized as a Polysomnographic Technologist in New York State you must:

  • be of good moral character;
  • be at least 18 years of age; and
  • meet education and examination requirements.

The specific requirements for authorization are contained in Section 8505 of New York's Education Law and Part 79-4.8 through 79-4.17 of the Commissioner's Regulations.

Education Requirements:

You must have graduated from high school, or the equivalent, and completed an approved associate or higher degree program in polysomnographic technology or another degree program in polysomnographic technology determined by the Department to be equivalent.

Examination Requirements:

All applicants must pass an exam acceptable to the Department. The Board of Registered Polysomnographic Technologists (BRPT) examination, Registered Polysomnographic Technology (RPSGT), is the examination acceptable to the Department.

Fees (as of November 3, 2016)

-The fee for authorization for a polysomnographic technologist is $600.
-The fee for a limited permit for a polysomnographic technologist is $70.

Licenses Issued and Active:

In 2014, there were 461 licenses issued for this occupation.
In 2015, there were 42 licenses issued for this occupation.
As of July 1, 2016, there were 649 licenses issued for this occupation.

Licensing Authority:

New York State Education Department
Office of the Professions
Division of Professional Licensing Services
Respiratory Therapy Unit
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12234
Phone: (518) 474-3817 Ext. 270
Fax: (518) 402-5354
E-mail: opunit3@nysed.gov

Standard Occupational Classification:

29-2099.01 - Neurodiagnostic Technologists
To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).

Disclaimer:

Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.

This page was posted on 12/21/16.

Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.