Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Physician Assistant


A physician assistant ("PA") is a licensed health care professional who provides medical care under the supervision of a physician. PAs provide a wide range of care within the area of practice of the supervising physician.

Licensing Requirements:

Any use of the title "registered physician assistant" within New York State requires licensure.

To be licensed as a registered physician assistant in New York State you must:

  • be of good moral character;
  • be at least 21 years of age;
  • meet education requirements; and
  • meet examination requirements.

The specific requirements for licensure are contained in Title 8, Article 131-B, Section 6541 of New York's Education Law and Part 60 of the Commissioner's Regulations.

Education and Experience Requirements:

To meet the professional education requirement for licensure as a registered physician assistant, you must have completed high school or its equivalent and you must present satisfactory evidence of completion of a program for the training of physician assistants that is approved by the New York State Education Department as licensure qualifying or accredited by the Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant (ARC-PA) or a program that is determined by the Department to be the substantial equivalent of a licensure qualifying or accredited program.

For a program for the training of physician assistants to be determined substantially equivalent to a licensure qualifying or accredited program, it must include:

  • at least 32 semester hours of classroom work; and
  • 40 weeks (1,600 clock hours) of supervised clinical training.

Please note: Graduates of medical programs cannot be licensed as registered physician assistants based solely on medical education. All applicants for registered physician assistant licensure must fulfill the educational requirements outlined above.

Infection Control and Barrier Precautions:

Every practicing physician assistant must complete approved coursework or training appropriate to the professional's practice in infection control and barrier precautions, including engineering and work practice controls, to prevent the transmission of the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) and the hepatitis B virus (HBV) in the course of professional practice. See additional information and a list of approved providers for this training.

Examination Requirements:

You must pass the Physician Assistant National Certifying Examination (PANCE), a computer examination, that is administered by the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA).

Fees (as of November 2, 2016)

The fee for licensure is $115 ($70 Application Fee, $45 First Three-Year Registration Fee).
The fee for a limited permit is $105

Licenses Issued and Active:

In 2014, there were 1,040 licenses issued for this occupation.
In 2015, there were 1,074 licenses issued for this occupation.

As of July 1, 2016, there were 14,318 active licenses for this occupation.

Licensing Authority:

New York State Education Department
Office of the Professions
Division of Professional Licensing Services
Medicine Unit
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12234-1000
518-474-3817, ext. 260 (voice)
518-402-2323 (fax)

Standard Occupational Classification:

29-1071 - Physician Assistants
To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).

Additional Information:

New York State Society of Physician Assistants
174 S. New York Rd., POB 606
Oceanville, NJ 08231
Phone: (877) 769-7722 or 9(17) 679-4005
Fax: (609) 573-5064

American Academy of Physician Assistants
2318 Mill Road, Suite 1300,
Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone: (703) 836-2272


Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.

This page was last updated on 12/21/16.

Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.