Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Physical Therapist

Description:

A physical therapist is a licensed health care professional who examines and evaluates a patient's condition and then plans and administers treatments to promote optimal health. Physical therapists seek to relieve pain, improve the body's movement and function, maintain cardiopulmonary function, restore, maintain and promote optimal physical function; and limit disabilities resulting from injury or disease.

Licensing Requirements:

Any use of "Physical Therapist" title within New York State requires licensure.

To be licensed as a Physical Therapist in New York State you must:

  • be of good moral character
  • be at least 18 years of age
  • meet education and examination requirements
  • file an application (Form 1 and fee)

The specific requirements for licensure are contained in Title 8 Article 136, Sections 6734 and 6740 of New York's Education Law and Part 77 of the Commissioner's Regulations.

Education and Experience Requirements:

To meet the professional education requirement for licensure as a physical therapist, if your education was from a:

  • New York State Registered or APTA Accredited Physical Therapy Program, you must have:
    • a master's or higher degree in physical therapy.
  • Program Located in the United States but not NYS Registered or APTA accredited, you must have:
    • completed a program satisfactory to the Department which is substantially equivalent to a master's or higher degree program in physical therapy registered by the department.
  • Physical Therapist Program Located Outside the United States that is not NYS Registered or APTA Accredited, you must have:
    • completed a program satisfactory to the Department which is substantially equivalent to a master’s or higher degree program in physical therapy registered by the Department and which culminates in a degree or diploma accepted as satisfying the educational requirements for the practice of physical therapy by the civil authorities of the country in which the studies were completed.

Examination Requirements:

The National Physical Therapy Examination, or an examination determined by the Department to be comparable in content, is required for physical therapy licensure in New York.

Fees (as of November 2, 2016)

The fee for licensure as a physical therapist is $294.
The fee for a limited permit for a physical therapist is $70.

Licenses Issued and Active:

In 2014, there were 1,225 licenses issued for this occupation
In 2015, there were 1,288 licenses issued for this occupation.

As of July 1, 2016, there were 22,415 active licenses for this occupation.

Licensing Authority:

New York State Education Department
Office of the Professions
Division of Professional Licensing Services
Physical Therapy Unit
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12234-1000
(518) 474-3817, ext. 270 (voice)
(518) 402-5354 (fax)
Email:opunit3@mail.nysed.gov

Standard Occupational Classification:

29-1123 - Physical Therapists
To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).

Additional Information:

American Physical Therapy Association
1111 North Fairfax Street
Alexandria, Virginia 22314-1488
Phone: (703) 684-2782
Fax: (703) 684-7343

Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy
124 West Street South, 3rd floor
Alexandria, Virginia 22314
Phone: (703) 739-9420
Fax: (703) 739-9421
examregistration@fsbpt.org

Disclaimer:

Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.

This page was last updated on 12/20/16.

Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.