Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Physical Therapist Assistant

Description:

A physical therapist assistant is a licensed health care professional who provides treatment according to a plan developed by and under the supervision of a licensed physical therapist.

Licensing Requirements:

Any use of "Physical Therapist Assistant" title within New York State requires licensure.

To be certified as a Physical Therapist Assistant in New York State you must:

  • be of good moral character
  • be at least 18 years of age
  • meet education and examination requirements
  • file an application (Form 1 and fee)

The specific requirements for licensure are contained in Title 8 Article 136, Sections 6734 and 6740 of New York's Education Law and Part 77 of the Commissioner's Regulations.

Education and Experience Requirements:

To meet the professional education requirement for certification as a physical therapist assistant, if your education was from a:

  • New York State Registered Physical Therapist Assistant Program or APTA Accredited Physical Therapist Assistant Program, you must have:
    • Completed a two-year college program for physical therapist assistants
  • Physical Therapist Assistant Program Located Outside the United States that is not APTA Accredited, you must have:
    • Completed a physical therapist assistant program determined by the New York State Education Department to be equivalent to a registered program for physical therapist assistants. When adequate program records are not available or a site visit is not feasible to determine equivalency, an applicant may demonstrate competency by passing a national examination satisfactory to the Department.

Examination Requirements:

Effective February 9, 2003, the National Physical Therapist Assistant Examination is required for physical therapist assistant applicants.

If you are seeking licensure as a physical therapist assistant in another state, you must contact the licensing authority in that jurisdiction for examination application materials.

Fees (as of November 2, 2016)

The fee for certification as a physical therapist assistant is $103.
The fee for a limited permit for a physical therapist assistant is $50.
NOTE: Effective February 9, 2003, limited permits may be issued to physical therapist assistants.

Licenses Issued and Active:

In 2014, there were 567 licenses issued for this occupation.
In 2015, there were 509 licenses issued for this occupation.

As of July 1, 2016, there were 6,245 active licenses for this occupation.

Licensing Authority:

New York State Education Department
Office of the Professions
Division of Professional Licensing Services
Physical Therapy Unit
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12234-1000
(518) 474-3817, ext. 270 (voice)
(518) 402-5354 (fax)
Email:mailto:opunit3@mail.nysed.gov

Standard Occupational Classification:

31-2021 - Physical Therapist Assistants
To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).

Additional Information:

American Physical Therapy Association
1111 North Fairfax Street
Alexandria, Virginia 22314-1488
Phone: (800) 999-2782
Fax: (703) 684-7343

Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy
124 West Street South, 3rd floor
Alexandria, Virginia 22314
Phone: (703) 299-3100
Fax: (703) 299-3110
Email:examregistration@fsbpt.org

Disclaimer:

Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.

This page was last updated on 12/19/16.

Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.