A perfusionist is a highly specialized and highly skilled health care professional whose primary responsibility is to operate a heart-lung machine during open-heart surgery. A perfusionist has specialized training on the machinery and with the technology used to replace and support the patient’s circulatory and respiratory functions.
Only a person who is licensed or exempt from licensure under Article 134 of the Education Law can practice perfusion in New York State. However, any use of the title "Licensed perfusionist" within New York State requires licensure.
To be licensed as a perfusionist in New York State you must:
To meet the education requirements for licensure as a perfusionist, you must:
The current examination required for licensure is the certification examination of the American Board of Cardiovascular Perfusion. Information on taking the certification examination and more can be found on the American Board of Cardiovascular Perfusion's web site at http://www.abcp.org/
The fee for licensure and first registration is $200.
The fee for a limited permit is $105.
As of July 1, 2016, there were no active licenses for this occupation.
New York State Education Department
Office of the Professions
Division of Professional Licensing Services
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12234
Phone: (518) 474-3817 Ext. 260
Fax: (518) 402-2323
29-2012.00 - Medical and Clinical Laboratory Technicians
To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).
Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.
This page was posted on 12/19/16.
Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.