Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Occupational Therapy Assistant

Description:

Occupational therapy assistants provide treatment according to a plan developed by or in collaboration with a licensed occupational therapist. They must work under the supervision of a licensed occupational therapist or a licensed physician.

Licensing Requirements:

Any use of the title occupational therapy assistant within New York State requires authorization as an occupational therapy assistant.

To be authorized as an occupational therapy assistant in New York State you must:

  • be of good moral character
  • be at least 18 years of age
  • meet education and examination requirements

The specific requirements for licensure/authorization are contained in Title 8, Article 156, Section 7904 and Section 7906 (c) of New York's Education Law and Part 76 of the Commissioner's Regulations.

Education and Experience Requirements:

To meet the professional education requirement for authorization as an occupational therapy assistant, if your education was from a:

  • New York State Registered Occupational Therapy Assistant Program or AOTA Accredited Occupational Therapy Assistant Program, you must have completed:
    • a two-year associate degree program for occupational therapy assistants.
  • non-New York State Registered or non-AOTA Accredited Occupational Therapy Assistant degree Program, you must have completed:
    • a post-secondary program in occupational therapy of at least two years duration which is satisfactory to the New York State Education Department.

Examination Requirements:

Occupational therapists assistants must pass the COTA examination of the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy, Inc. (NBCOT).

  • The passing score is 450.
  • Examination scores must be sent directly from the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT) to:

New York State Education Department,
Office of the Professions
Division of Professional Licensing Services
Occupational Therapy Unit
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12234-1000.

Fees (as of November 2, 2016)

The fee for authorization for occupational therapy assistant is $147.
The fee for a limited permit for occupational therapy assistant is $70.

Licenses Issued and Active:

In 2014, there were 196 licenses issued for this occupation.
In 2015, there were 261 licenses issued for this occupation.
As of July 1, 2016, there were 4,003 active licenses for this profession.

Licensing Authority:

New York State Education Department
Office of the Professions
Division of Professional Licensing Services
Occupational Therapy Unit
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12234-1000
518-474-3817, ext. 270 (voice)
518-474-3398 (fax)
Email: opunit3@nysed.gov

Standard Occupational Classification:

31-2011 - Occupational Therapist Assistants
Learn more about this occupation at ONET online.

Additional Information:

National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy, Inc.
12 South Summit Avenue, Suite 100
Gaithersburg, Maryland 20877-4150
Phone: (301) 990-7979
Fax: (301) 869-8492

Disclaimer:

Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.

This page was last updated on 12/01/16.

Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.