Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Midwife

Description:

A New York State licensed midwife is a health care provider who may care for the health needs of pre-adolescent, adolescent, and adult women throughout their life span. Licensed midwives provide primary well woman health care including: gynecologic care, and care during pregnancy and childbirth, as well as care of the newborn following birth. Midwifery is defined as the management of normal pregnancy, childbirth and postpartum care, as well as primary preventive reproductive health care.

Licensed midwives are independent practitioners with expertise in the care of healthy women. Midwives collaborate with physicians and will consult with them immediately if complications arise at any time during the childbearing process. This insures safe care and continuous support for the woman and her family.

Licensing Requirements:

Any use of the title "Midwife" within New York State requires licensure.

To be licensed as a midwife in New York State you must:

  • be of good moral character;
  • be at least 21 years of age; and
  • meet education and examination requirements.

The specific requirements for licensure are contained in Title 8, Article 140, section 6955 of New York's Education Law and Subpart 79-5 of the Commissioner's Regulations.

Education Requirements

To meet the education requirements for licensure as a midwife in New York State, you must present evidence of completion of a master’s or higher degree program in midwifery or a related field that is:

  • registered by the Department as licensure qualifying; or
  • accredited by the American College of Nurse Midwives Division of Accreditation; or
  • determined by the Department to be equivalent of such a registered or accredited program.

Examination Requirements

To meet the examination requirement for licensure as a midwife in New York State, you must pass the examination developed and administered by the American Midwifery Certification Board (AMCB). Information and applications for the examination are available from:

American Midwifery Certification Board (AMCB)
Suite 205
849 International Dr.
Linthicum, MD 21090
Phone 410-694-9424
Fax 410-694-9425
Web http://www.amcbmidwife.org/

Fees (as of November 2, 2016)

The fee for licensure is $322.

Licenses Issued:

In 2014, there were 80 licenses issued for this occupation.
In 2015, there were 58 licenses issued for this occupation.
As of July 1, 2016, there were 1,135 active licenses for this occupation.

Licensing Authority:

New York State Education Department
Education Building
Division of Professional Licensing Services
Midwifery Unit
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12234
Phone: (518) 474-3817 Ext. 250
Fax: (518) 402-5354
E-mail: opunit1@nysed.gov

Standard Occupational Classification:

29-9099 - Midwives
To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).

Additional Information:

American College of Nurse-Midwives
840 Colesville Road, Suite 1550
Silver Spring, M.D. 20910
Phone: (240) 485-1800
Fax: (240) 485-1818
Website: http://www.midwife.org/

Disclaimer:

Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.

This page was last updated on 11/30/16.

Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.