Psychoanalysis is the observation, description, evaluation and interpretation of dynamic unconscious mental processes that contribute to the formation of an individual’s personality and behavior in order to identify and resolve unconscious psychic problems that affect interpersonal relationships and emotional development, to facilitate changes in personality and behavior through the use of verbal and nonverbal cognitive and emotional communication, and to develop adaptive functioning.
Practitioners, called psychoanalysts, may use verbal and non-verbal communications to uncover the unconscious blocks that may be affecting the individual’s behavior and personality. Psychoanalysts treat a range of conditions including anxiety, depression and phobias.
The practice of psychoanalysis or use of the title "licensed psychoanalyst" or the title "psychoanalyst" or any derivative thereof within New York State requires licensure as a psychoanalyst, unless otherwise exempt under the law.
To qualify for a license as a "licensed psychoanalyst" in New York State you must:
The specific requirements for licensure are contained in Title 8, Article 163, Section 8405 of the NYS Education Law and Section 52.35 and Subpart 79-12 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education.
To meet the education requirement for licensure as a psychoanalyst, you must present evidence of completion of the following.
A master's or higher degree from a program in any field that is registered by the Department or substantially equivalent as determined by the Department.
Completion of a program in psychoanalysis that is:
To meet the experience requirement for licensure as a Psychoanalyst, you must complete at least 1,500 contact hours of supervised experience in the practice of Psychoanalysis. The experience may only be completed under a limited permit issued by the Department or as part of the licensure qualifying education program, for experience in New York; experience completed in other jurisdictions must be completed legally in accordance with the laws of the jurisdiction. You and your supervisor must submit documentation of completion of a supervised experience of at least 1,500 clock hours providing Psychoanalysis in a setting acceptable to the Department. Supervised experience obtained in the education program required for licensure as a psychoanalyst may meet all or part of this requirement but must be documented by the supervisor on Form 4B.
To meet the examination requirements for licensure as a psychoanalyst in New York State, you must pass the New York State Case Narrative Examination administered by CASTLE Worldwide, Inc.
New York does not accept examinations in other professions (e.g., professional counseling, social work, or psychology) as meeting the examination requirement in Psychoanalysis.
Before being admitted to an examination for New York State licensure, you must:
CASTLE Worldwide, Inc.
Attn: NY Exams
P.O. Box 570
Morrisville, NC 27560
The fee for licensure and first registration is $371.
The fee for a limited permit is $70.
In 2014, there were 17 licenses issued for this occupation.
In 2015, there were 27 licenses issued for this occupation.
As of July 1, 2016, there were 809 registered licenses for this occupation.
New York State Education Department
Office of the Professions
Division of Professional Licensing Services
Mental Health Practitioners Unit
89 Washington Avenue, 2nd Floor
Albany, New York 12234
Phone: (518) 474-3817 Ext. 592
Phone: (518) 402-2323
19-3031.02 - Clinical Psychologists
To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).
Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.
This page was last updated on 11/29/16.
Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.