Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Certified Shorthand Reporter

Description

Certified shorthand reporting professionals - called certified shorthand reporters or CSRs - transcribe passages from notes taken of dictated records or legal proceedings. Only individuals certified by the Board of Regents may use the certified shorthand reporter title.

Licensing Requirements

Any use of the title "Certified Shorthand Reporter," within New York State requires licensure.

To be licensed as a certified shorthand reporter in New York State you must:

  • be of good moral character;
  • be at least 21 years of age;
  • meet education and examination requirements; and
  • meet experience requirements.

The specific requirements for licensure are contained in Title 8, Article 151, Section 7504 of New York's Education Law and Part 71 of the Commissioner's Regulations.

Education Requirements

To meet the education requirements for licensure, you must present evidence of satisfying the preprofessional education requirements listed below. If you also attended a professional school or institution, the professional education requirements must be met as described below.

Preprofessional

Graduation from high school/secondary school or its equivalent.

Professional

Completion of technical study in manual or machine shorthand reporting from a postsecondary school or private instruction consisting of 1,300 hours. The study or instruction must be designed to develop:

  • shorthand skills to achieve a minimum speed of 180 words per minute on three or four voice dictation of material of average syllabic density and transcription thereof;
  • typing skills of 50 words per minute;
  • proficiency in grammar, vocabulary and punctuation; and
  • familiarity with medical and legal terminology and court or hearing procedures.

Experience Requirements

Three years of experience is required when you have met the professional education requirements as outlined in the Education Requirements section above.

Five years of experience is required in lieu of the professional education requirements as outlined in the Education Requirements section above.

Examination Requirements

You are required to pass the Written Knowledge Test (WKT) and three sections of a skills test of the Registered Professional Reporter (RPR) examination administered by the National Court Reporters Association (NCRA).

Contact the NCRA for eligibility requirements for the RPR examination, fees and other information at:

National Court Reporters Association
12030 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 400
Reston, Virginia 20191
Toll Free Telephone: (800) 272-6272 (NCRA)
Phone: (703) 556-6272
Fax: (703) 391-0629
Web: www.ncra.org/

Fees: (as of November 2, 2016)

The fee for licensure is $173.

Licenses Issued and Active

In 2014, there were 2 licenses issued for this occupation.
In 2015, there were 0 licenses issued for this occupation.

As of July 1, 2016, there are 207 active licenses for this occupation.

Licensing Authority

New York State Education Department
Office of the Professions
Division of Professional Licensing Services
Certified Shorthand Reporting Unit
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12234
Phone: (518) 474-3817 Ext. 270

Standard Occupational Classification

23-2091 - Court Reporters
To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).

Additional Information

National Court Reporters Association
8224 Old Court House Road
Vienna, Virginia 22182-3808
Phone: (800) 272-6272 or (703) 556-6272
E-mail: msic@nsrahq.org

Disclaimer:

Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.

This page was last updated on 11/10/16.

Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.