Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Certified First Responder


The New York State Department of Health, Bureau of Emergency Medical Services offers certification at the following levels:
Certified First Responder (CFR)
Emergency Medical Technician - Basic (EMT-B)
Advanced Emergency Medical Technician - Intermediate (AEMT-I)
Advanced Emergency Medical Technician - Critical Care (AEMT-CC)
Advanced Emergency Medical Technician - Paramedic (AEMT-P)

Certificates Issued and Active

As of 2010, there were 56,755 currently certified providers.

Certifying Authority

New York State Department of Health
Bureau of Emergency Medical Services

875 Central Avenue
Albany, New York 12206-1388
Phone: (518) 402-0996
Fax: (518) 402-0985

Standard Occupational Classification

29-2041 - Emergency Medical Technicians
To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).


Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.

This page was last updated on 12/05/14.

Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.