Skip to Content Skip to Navigation



An audiologist is a licensed health care professional who diagnoses, evaluates, and treats hearing disorders and communication problems.

Licensing Requirements

Any use of the title "Audiologist" within New York State requires licensure, except in certain "exempt" settings. These settings include:

  • Federal, State or local governments
  • Public or nonpublic elementary or secondary schools
  • Colleges and universities
  • Be of good moral character;
  • Be at least 21 years of age;
  • Meet education requirements;
  • Meet examination requirements; and
  • Meet experience requirements.

The specific requirements for licensure are contained in Title 8, Article 159, Section 8206 of New York's Education Law and Part 75 of the Commissioner's Regulations.

Education Requirements

You must have obtained a graduate degree in audiology from a New York State registered licensure qualifying program, a program accredited by the American Speech Language and Hearing Association (ASHA), or the equivalent. To be considered equivalent, your educational program must culminate in a graduate degree from a college or university acceptable to the Department. It must include a practicum and 75 semester hours of courses as specified below. The 75 semester hours must be at the graduate level.

Experience Requirements

You must complete a minimum of 36 weeks of supervised experience in audiology. (Any break in time, e.g., maternity leave or, in a school setting, summer break, should be compensated for in the ending date.) The experience cannot begin until after all requirements (including any examinations or completion of a thesis) for the graduate degree are satisfied.

Examination Requirements

To meet the examination requirement for licensure as an Audiologist, you must pass the Specialty Area test of the Praxis Series, Praxis II, administered by the Educational Testing Service (ETS) in your licensure area.

  • Please note: As of September 1, 2014, ETS has migrated to a new exam (5331) and scoring system. New York State's acceptable passing score for Audiology is 170
  • Any test results prior to September 1, 2014, will not be converted using the new scoring system and the acceptable passing score of 600 for previous exam number 5330 will remain the same.
  • Examination scores must be sent directly from ETS. Request scores to be sent to agency code R7747.
  • ETS retains scores for ten years. If your scores are no longer available from the testing service, they may be verified by ASHA. Contact ASHA at:

2200 Research Blvd.
Rockville, MD 20850-3289
Phone: 800-498-2071

The examination is administered at over 400 test centers throughout the nation. Schedule information and registration materials for the examination may be obtained directly from ETS by calling 609-771-7395, or writing to The Praxis Series, Educational Testing Service, PO Box 6051, Princeton, NJ 08541-6051 or on the Web at .

Fees (as of November 1, 2016)

The fee for licensure and first registration is $294.

Licenses Issued and Active

In 2014, there were 61 licenses issued for this occupation.
In 2015, there were 64 licenses issued for this occupation.

As of July 1, 2016, there are 1,461 active licenses for this occupation.

Licensing Authority

New York State Education Department
Office of the Professions
Division of Professional Licensing Services
Speech-Language Pathology Unit
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12234-1000
Phone: 518-474-3817, ext. 270
Fax: 518-402-5354

Standard Occupational Classification

29-1181 - Audiologists
To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).


Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.

This page was last updated on 11/9/16.

Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.