[X] close video player
This video requires Adobe Flash Player
New York State Department of Labor

Ironworkers Recruit Apprentices

play video alt txt

Orchard Park, NY (January 25, 2018) -

The Joint Apprenticeship and Training Committee for Ironworkers, Local Union #6, will conduct a recruitment from February 02, 2018 through August 06, 2018 for five ironworker (outside) apprentices, the New York State Department of Labor announced today.

Please note that the five openings listed for apprentices represent the total number for three recruitment regions – the Finger Lakes, Southern Tier, and Western regions. 

Applications must be completed in person at Local Union #6, 196 Orchard Park Road, West Seneca, NY, from 8:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. on the first Monday of each month, excluding legal holidays, during the recruitment period. 

The Committee requires that applicants:

  • Must be at least 18 years old.
  • Must have a high school diploma or a high school equivalency diploma (such as TASC or GED).
  • Must pass a drug and alcohol screening, at the expense of the sponsor, after selection and prior to indenture.
  • Must live within the jurisdiction of Local Union #6, which includes:
    • Erie County - All of Erie County, except the northern half of Grand Island.  The boundary line is Whitehaven Road from East River to West River. 
    • Cattaraugus County - All of Cattaraugus County.
    • Genesee County - Townships of Alabama, Pembroke, Darien, Oakfield, Alexander, and Batavia (western half, excluding the City of Batavia).
    • Chautauqua County - Townships of Sheridan, Pomfret, Charlotte, Arkwright, Hanover, Villenova, Cherry Creek, Ellington, and Brocton.
    • Allegany County - Townships of Alfred, Allen, Almond, Andover, Centerville, Rushford, New Hudson, Cuba, Clarksville, Genesee, Hume, Caneadea, Belfast, Wirt, Friendship, Bolivar, Angelica, Amity, Scio, Wellsville, West Almond, Alma, Granger, Willing, and Independence.
    • Wyoming County - Townships of Bennington, Sheldon, Java, Arcade, Attica, Orangeville, Wethersfield, Eagle, Warsaw, Gainesville, Pike, and Genesee Falls.
    • Steuben County - Townships of Canisteo, Freemont, Greenwood, Hartsville, Hornell, Hornellsville, Howard, Jasper, Troupsburg, and West Union.
  • Must possess a valid NYS driver’s license in order to drive company vehicles.
  • Must have reliable transportation to and from various job sites and related instruction classes.
  • Must appear for an interview when scheduled.
  • Must provide DD-214, Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty, if applicable, after selection and prior to indenture.

For further information, applicants should contact their nearest New York State Department of Labor office or Local Union #6 at (716) 875-4744.

Apprentice programs registered with the Department of Labor must meet standards established by the Commissioner. Under state law, sponsors of programs cannot discriminate against applicants because of race, creed, color, national origin, age, sex, disability, or marital status. Women and minorities are encouraged to submit applications for apprenticeship programs. Sponsors of programs are required to adopt affirmative action plans for the recruitment of women and minorities.


Get Adobe Reader