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Tips and Gratuities Frequently Asked Questions 
 
Section 196-d of the Labor Law and the New York State Minimum Wage Orders govern the 
handling of tips. 

 
Labor Law Section 196-d applies to all private sector employees in all industries, 
and prohibits an employer or their agent from demanding or accepting, directly 
or indirectly, any tip left for an employee, or retaining any part of a charge 
purported 
to be a tip. 
The vast majority of issues regarding tips arise out of the Hospitality Industry 
Wage Order, which applies to restaurants and hotels. 

 
The Miscellaneous Industries Wage Order also addresses allowances and 
recordkeeping requirements for tips for employees who do not work in the 
hospitality industry. Some examples of tipped employees in Miscellaneous 
Industries include: 

 
Car wash attendants 
Hairdressers or aestheticians not employed by hotels 
Golf or tennis instructors Valet parking attendants 
Doorpersons 

 
Who do the provisions governing tips cover? 

 
All private sector employers and employees are subject to the provisions governing tips. 

 
What is a tip? 

 
A tip, or “gratuity,” is money given by a customer to an employee for service provided to the 
customer. A customer can give a tip in the form of: 

 
Cash 
Check 
Credit 
card 
Any other form of payment 

 
A charge made to the customer in addition to charges for food, drink, lodging, and other 
specified materials or services, is presumed to be a tip, and must be given to the employee 
who provides customer service. 
 
What is a tip credit or tip allowance? 

 
A tip credit/tip allowance is the amount of tips earned by an employee that the law allows 
his or her employer to take as a credit against the minimum wage requirements for that 
industry.Tip credits/allowances differ from industry to industry. They also differ from 
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occupation to occupation within the Hospitality Industry. Therefore, employers must give 
careful attention to review of the applicable wage order to ensure that they take the 
appropriate credit/allowance. 

 
Under the Hospitality Wage Order: 

 
Food Service Workers have a  minimum hourly wage with a  maximum hourly tip 
credit as follows: 
(1) New York City for 
 (i) Large Employers of eleven or more employees 
 $7.50 Cash Wage, $3.50 Credit, $11.00 Total on and after December 31, 2016;  
$8.65 Cash Wage, $4.35 Credit, $13.00 Total on and after December 31, 2017; 
 $10.00 Cash Wage, $5.00 Credit, $15.00 Total on and after December 31, 2018;  
 
(ii) Small Employers of ten or fewer employees 
$7.50 Cash Wage, $3.00 Credit, $10.50 Total on and after December 31, 2016; 
 $8.00 Cash Wage, $4.00 Credit, $12.00 Total on and after December 31, 2017;  
$9.00 Cash Wage, $4.50 Credit, $13.50 Total on and after December 31, 2018;  
$10.00 Cash Wage, $5.00 Credit, $15.00 Total on and after December 31, 2019;  
 
(2) Remainder of downstate (Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 
 $7.50 Cash Wage, $2.50 Credit, $10.00 Total on and after December 31, 2016; 
 $7.50 Cash Wage, $3.50 Credit, $11.00 Total on and after December 31, 2017; 
 $8.00 Cash Wage, $4.00 Credit, $12.00 Total on and after December 31, 2018; 
 $8.65 Cash Wage, $4.35 Credit, $13.00 Total on and after December 31, 2019;  
$9.35 Cash Wage, $4.65 Credit, $14.00 Total on and after December 31, 2020; 
 $10.00 Cash Wage, $5.00 Credit, $15.00 Total on and after December 31, 2021; 
 
 (3) Remainder of state (outside of New York City and Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester 
counties) 
 $7.50 Cash Wage, $2.20 Credit, $9.70 Total on and after December 31, 2016; 
 $7.50 Cash Wage, $2.90 Credit, $10.40 Total on and after December 31, 2017; 
 $7.50 Cash Wage, $3.60 Credit, $11.10 Total on and after December 31, 2018; 
 $7.85 Cash Wage, $3.95 Credit, $11.80 Total on and after December 31, 2019; 
 $8.35 Cash Wage, $4.15 Credit, $12.50 Total on and after December 31, 2020. 
 
 
No tip credit is permitted for fast food employees. 
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 Service Employees in Restaurants and All-Year Hotels have a  minimum hourly wage 
with maximum hourly tip credit as follows: 

  
 (1) New York City by  
  
 (i) Large Employers of eleven or more employees  
 $9.15 Cash Wage, $1.85 Credit, $2.40 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2016;  
 $10.85 Cash Wage, $2.15 Credit, $2.80 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2017; 
  $12.50 Cash Wage, $2.50 Credit, $3.25 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2018; 
  
  (ii) Small Employer of ten or fewer employees  
 $8.75 Cash Wage, $1.75 Credit, $2.30 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2016;  
 $10.00 Cash Wage, $2.00 Credit, $2.60 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2017;  
 $11.25 Cash Wage, $2.25 Credit, $2.95 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2018;  
 $12.50 Cash Wage, $2.50 Credit, $3.25 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2019;  
  
 (2) Remainder of downstate (Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties)  
 $8.35 Cash Wage, $1.65 Credit, $2.15 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2016;  
 $9.15 Cash Wage, $1.85 Credit, $2.40 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2017;  
 $10.00 Cash Wage, $2.00 Credit, $2.60 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2018;  
 $10.85 Cash Wage, $2.15 Credit, $2.80 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2019;  
 $11.65 Cash Wage, $2.35 Credit, $3.05 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2020;  
 $12.50 Cash Wage, $2.50 Credit, $3.25 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2021; 146-
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 (3) Remainder of state (outside of New York City and Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester 

counties) $8.10 Cash Wage, $1.60 Credit, $2.10 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 
2016;  

 $8.65 Cash Wage, $1.75 Credit, $2.25 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2017;  
 $9.25 Cash Wage, $1.85 Credit, $2.40 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2018;  
 $9.85 Cash Wage, $1.95 Credit, $2.55 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2019;  
 $10.40 Cash Wage, $2.10 Credit, $2.70 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2020. 

 
 

 Service Employees in Resort Hotels have a  minimum hourly wage with a  hourly tip 
credit, and a tip threshold as follows: 

  
 (1) New York City by  
  
 (i) Large employers of eleven or more employees 
  $9.15 Cash Wage, $1.85 Credit, $6.15 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2016;  
 $10.85 Cash Wage, $2.15 Credit, $7.30 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2017; 
  $12.50 Cash Wage, $2.50 Credit, $8.40 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2018;  
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 (ii) Small Employer of ten or fewer employees  
 $8.75 Cash Wage, $1.75 Credit, $5.90 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2016; 
  $10.00 Cash Wage, $2.00 Credit, $6.75 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2017; 
  $11.25 Cash Wage, $2.25 Credit, $7.60 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2018;  
 $12.50 Cash Wage, $2.50 Credit, $8.40 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2019;  
  
 (2) Remainder of downstate (Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) ‘$8.35 Cash Wage, 

$1.65 Credit, $5.60 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2016;  
 $9.15 Cash Wage, $1.85 Credit, $6.15 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2017; 
  $10.00 Cash Wage, $2.00 Credit, $6.75 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2018;  
 $10.85 Cash Wage, $2.15 Credit, $7.30 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2019;  
 $11.65 Cash Wage, $2.35 Credit, $7.85 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2020; 
  $12.50 Cash Wage, $2.50 Credit, $8.40 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2021. 
  
 (3) Remainder of state (outside of New York City and Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester 

counties) $8.10 Cash Wage, $1.60 Credit, $5.45 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 
2016;  

 $8.65 Cash Wage, $1.75 Credit, $5.85 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2017; 
  $9.25 Cash Wage, $1.85 Credit, $6.25 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2018;  
 $9.85 Cash Wage, $1.95 Credit, $6.60 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2019;  
 $10.40 Cash Wage, $2.10 Credit, $7.00 Tip Threshold on and after December 31, 2020. 

) 
 
For the employer to claim a tip credit/allowance (and pay a reduced hourly wage in 
conjunction with the tips received by the employee), the employer must prove that the 
employee actually received such tips. Employers must give employees, at or before the time 
of hiring, written notice that the employer will apply a tip credit or allowance toward their 
minimum wage. 

 
What tip credit/allowance does the Labor Law permit for workers covered by more than 
one Wage Order? 

 
An employee in the Hospitality Industry who works for the same employer at an occupation 
governed by another New York State Minimum Wage Order for two hours or more during 
any one day or for 12 hours or more in any week shall be paid for all hours of working time 
for that day or week in accordance with the standards contained in the Minimum Wage 
Order for the industry that will produce the higher level of protection/wages to the 
employee. 
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How does the Hospitality Wage Order define a food service worker, a service employee, 
and a non-service employee? 

 
Under the Hospitality Wage Order: 

 
   A food service worker is any employee who is primarily engaged in the 

serving of food or beverages, who also regularly receives tips 
o This includes employees such as: 
 Wait staff 
 Bartenders 
 Captains 
 Bussing personnel 

o This does not include delivery persons 
 
A service employee is an employee, other than a food service worker, who 
customarily receives tips. 

   A non-service employee is any employee other than a service employee or a 
food service worker 

 
If a customer leaves a tip for an employee on a credit card slip, how can an employer give 
the tip to the employee? 

 
When tips are given by customers via credit card, the employer must pay the employee the 
amount due no later than the next regularly scheduled pay day. The employer may subtract 
from the employee's tips the pro-rated share of the charge levied by the credit card 
company. An employer remitting tips to an employee must include a breakdown between 
the tips and the wages on the employee's wage statement, which must meet all other 
requirements for wage statements. 

 
This position reflects a change in DOL policy as set forth in DOL opinion RO-08-0032 
related to this issue. That opinion is hereby rescinded. 

 
Additionally, tipped employees may provide their employer with a written 
authorization/assignment to use portions of their tips for wage deductions permitted 
under Section 193 of the Labor Law (e.g. health insurance, 401k contributions, union 
dues, etc.). 

 
Can an employer withhold cash tips left for an employee, and provide them to 
employees when they receive their regular pay? 

 
When customers pay tips in cash, employers may, as a service to their employees, allow 
employees to leave cash tips earned over the course of a pay period with the employer. The 
employer must issue a tip payment for the total amount of those cash tips along with any 
wage payment for the same pay period. A request by an employee for the employer to 
provide this service must be voluntary. The agreement cannot be a pre-condition of 
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employment or a condition of continued employment. The employer must still keep a daily 
record of the tips earned by each employee provided this service. The employer must have 
those records available for inspection by the employee and/or the Department of Labor. 
The wage statement provided with the tip payment must contain a breakdown of tips and 
wages. It must also meet all other requirements for wage statements. 

 
Does the Labor Law consider service charges “tips?” 

 
There is a rebuttable legal presumption that any charge which is not for food and drink is a 
tip. The Hospitality Wage Order includes provisions for notifying customers about service 
charges relating to: 

 
 Banquets 
 Special functions 

Package deals 
 
To prove that a charge is not a tip, the employer must give the customer notice that 
matches the requirements of the Wage Order. The Wage Order requires that a charge for 
the administration of a banquet, special function, or package deal must be clearly identified 
as such and customers shall be notified that the charge is not a gratuity or tip. 

 
The employer has the burden of demonstrating, by clear and convincing evidence, that 
the notification was sufficient to ensure that a reasonable customer would understand 
that such charge was not purported to be a gratuity. 

 
Adequate notification includes a statement in the contract or agreement with the 
customer, and on any menu and bill listing prices, that the charge is for: 

 
Administration of the banquet, special function, or package deal 
Is not purported to be a gratuity 
Will not be distributed as gratuities to the employees who provided service to 
the guests 

 
The statements shall use ordinary language readily understood and shall appear in a font 
size similar to surrounding text, but no smaller than a 12-point font. 

 
A combination charge, part of which is for the administration of a banquet, special function 
or package deal and part of which is to be distributed as gratuities to the employees who 
provided service to the guests, must be broken down into specific percentages or portions, 
in writing to the customer. 

 
Do employers have to notify delivery customers that a “delivery fee” is not a tip? 

 
Yes. Employers must tell their customers who receive deliveries that the delivery fee 
identified on their bill, statement, receipt, or other document detailing the delivery is not a 
tip/gratuity. This applies only if the employer does not plan to give the entire delivery fee 
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to the employee making the delivery. A reasonable customer must be able to understand 
that the charge: 

 
Is kept by the employer as a delivery charge 
Is not a tip for the employee 

 
Is tip pooling and tip sharing permissible? 

 
Yes.  The Hospitality Wage Order permits both tip sharing and tip pooling. 

 
Tip sharing is when directly tipped employees share their tips with other workers 
who provided direct customer service. 

   When employers require tip sharing, the employer may set the 
percentages of tips shared among food service workers; employees must 
handle the transactions themselves. 

   When employees form a tip share on their own, the employees may set 
the percentages of the tips shared. 

 
Tip pooling is when directly tipped employees pool their tips and redistribute 
them among directly and indirectly tipped employees. 

 
   When employers require tip pooling, the employer may set the 

percentages of tips shared among food service workers. 
   When employees form a tip pool on their own, the employees may set 

the percentages of the tips shared amongst the pool. 
 
Are employers required to keep records of tips? 

 
Yes.  In workplaces covered by the Minimum Wage Order for the Hospitality 
Industry, employers must keep the following records: 

 
   An accounting of all tips collected and distributed by a tip pool or share 

operated by that employer 
An accounting of any tip credit taken toward the minimum wage 
An accounting of any tip that is processed by the employer and given to 
the employee in a pay check 

   The written notice of pay given to each employee about the employer’s intention 
to take a tip credit 
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In industries not covered by the Hospitality Wage Order, employers seeking a tip 
allowance or credit must also keep records to prove that: 

 
The tips covered by the tip allowance were actually received by the employee 
Tips are customarily and usually given to employees by customers in that industry 

 
Do employers have to keep records of tips that customers leave in a “tip jar”? 

 
Yes.  It does not matter how a tip is given or collected. An employer must still follow 
requirements regarding handling and payment of their employee tips, tip pooling or tip 
sharing, and required recordkeeping. 
 
Do employers have to compensate participants in tip shares or pools for tips wrongfully 
withheld by participants? 

 
No. Tips wrongfully withheld by an employee are tips that employees do not report or do 
not contribute toward a tip share or pool. The Labor Law does not require employers to 
compensate employees for monies wrongfully withheld by a participant. 

 
Example: An employer is not responsible for a waiter concealing a particularly large 
tip received in cash. 

 
May employees agree to waive their rights regarding tips? 

 
No. No agreement between the employer and employee(s) can change or waive 
legal protections about the handling and payment of tips. 

 
Can resort hotel employers take a tip credit for service employees who do not receive 
the required amount per hour in tips? 

 
Employers of tipped service employees at resort hotels may take an hourly tip credit if that 
employee receives at least the required amount per hour in tips. 
 
Employers must still treat service employees in resort hotels who earn less than the required 
amount per hour in average tips like any other service employee and a maximum hourly tip 
credit may be taken. 

 
Can employers take a tip credit for employees who work in both a tipped and non-
tipped capacity? 

 
Employers of service employees and food service workers cannot take a tip credit for any 
day in which that employee works more than 20 percent OR two hours, whichever is less, of 
the workday in a non-tipped occupation. 

 
Any work that is customarily and regularly performed in the industry by tipped employees 
will not be counted as non-tipped work. However, work that is, either in the industry or 
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for that particular employer, customarily and regularly performed by a non-tipped 
employee will be counted as non-tipped work. 

 
Example: If a tipped waiter washes dishes because the non-tip credit eligible 
dishwasher is absent, then that is not work within the waiter’s tipped occupation. 
 

Example: An employee has a daily schedule as follows: 
 

8 AM to 9:45 AM: food preparation 
9:45 AM to 1:30 PM: serving food in the restaurant 
1:30 PM to 2:00 PM meal period 
2:00 PM to 4:30 PM serving food in the restaurant 

 
That employee has worked 8 hours total, consisting of 6 hours, 15 minutes as a food 
service worker and 1 hour, 45 minutes in a non-tipped occupation preparing food. 

 
20 percent of an 8 hour shift is 1 hour, 36 minutes. 

 
Although the employee worked for less than two hours at the non-tipped occupation, 
he/she has worked for more than 20 percent of his/her shift at the non-tipped 
occupation. 

 
Therefore, the employer may not take a tip credit/allowance for that employee on this 
day. 


