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 Re:   Request for Opinion 
          Overtime - FLSA Exempt Workers 
    File No.:  RO-07-0059 
 
 
Dear : 
 
 I have been asked to respond to your letter of June 13, 2007 in which you allege that 
there are grounds for a finding that your client's employees are exempt from the provisions of the 
Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) pursuant to the Motor Carrier Exemption (MCE).  From this, 
you state that you disagree with this Department's position that your client's employees are 
entitled to overtime pay after the first 40 hours worked.  Based upon this statement, you question 
why the Department "would want to question (these employees) or audit their time sheets."  You 
therefore request that the Department refrain from an audit at this time as "unnecessary." 
 
 Please be advised that your reasoning is based upon the incorrect assumption that 
exemption from FLSA overtime requirements is synonymous with exemption from all New York 
State overtime requirements.  Actually, New York State regulations provide that an FLSA 
exemption merely requires payment of overtime wages at a different rate, not a negation of all 
obligation to pay overtime. 
 
 FLSA §18 (29 USCA §218) provides that a state may interpret its own laws and 
regulations to provide greater protections and benefits to workers than does the FLSA.   
New York State regulation 12 NYCRR §142-2.2 provides that an employer shall pay an 
employee overtime at a rate of one and one-half times his/her regular pay subject to the 
exemptions of the FLSA.  Such regulation goes on to state that "an employer shall pay 
employees subject to (the FLSA exemptions) overtime at a wage rate of one and one-half times 
the minimum hourly rate."  In other words, employees in New York State who work more than 
40 hours per week must be paid for such hours at one and one-half times their regular rate of pay 
unless they fall into one of the exemptions listed in the FLSA, in which case they must be paid 
overtime at a rate of one and one-half times the minimum wage.



 
 

 
 
 Accordingly, it is not accurate to argue, as you do, that there is no need to pay overtime 
wages to FLSA-exempted employees.  Therefore, even if the employees at issue are subject to 
the claimed FLSA exemption (and nothing in this letter should be interpreted as an admission or 
agreement that the MCE is applicable to these employees) the Department is still empowered to 
investigate conditions at this site, including but not limited to whether payment of overtime 
wages due is being, and has been, made (see Labor Law §21(2)). 
 
 For the above stated reasons, it is the opinion of the Department of Labor Counsel's 
Office that your request that the Department "refrain from an audit at this time" should be 
denied.  Please advise your client to cooperate with the Division of Labor Standards' 
investigation of this matter to the full extent required by law and regulation, including but not 
limited to Labor Law §§25, 26, 31, 32, and 12 NYCRR §142-2.6(d). 

 This opinion is based upon the information provided in your letter of June 13, 2007.  A 
different opinion might result if any facts provided have been inaccurately stated, or if there are 
other relevant facts which have not been disclosed.  If you have any further questions, please feel 
free to contact me. 
                    
       Very truly yours, 
     
    Maria L. Colavito, Counsel 
 
 
 
    By:  Jeffrey G. Shapiro 

                                     Senior Attorney 
 
cc: Carmine Ruberto 
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