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New York State 

Child Labor Law 

 

 

Comparison 

New York State Child Labor Law vs. 

Federal Law 
 

GENERAL INDUSTRY EMPLOYMENT 

 
Federal Child Labor Law 

 

 
16- & 17- Year-Olds 

School Not in Session 

 
Permitted to work up to 

INTRODUCTION 
 

This booklet provides general information on the provisions of the Labor Law and 

other laws governing the employment of minors in New York State. Certain details are 

omitted and the information in this booklet should not be considered as official state- 

ments or interpretations of the law. 

 
For establishments covered by the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act, Federal laws 

may in some cases set higher standards than state requirements.  The requirements of 

state law do not affect an employer’s obligation to comply with any provisions of 

federal law.  You can obtain information on federal laws from the offices listed on 

page 36. 

 
8 hours per day No similar requirements 

48 hours per week  No similar requirements 

between 6 AM and 12 midnight  No similar requirements 
 

 
Posting 

 
 

Employer must post scheduled 

hours of work each week for 

minor. 

 
Changes may be made, by 

employer. 

 
maximum hours may not be 

exceeded. 

No similar requirements 

No similar requirements 

No similar requirements 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Department of Labor web site home page 

www.labor.ny.gov 
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SCHOOL ATTENDANCE 

Full-time school is compulsory for minors under 16 years old.  A community can 

require minors who are not employed to attend school until they reach age 17 or 

graduate. High school graduates, regardless of age, are not required to continue at- 

tending school. However, they must provide an employer with a Full-Time Employment 

Certificate until they reach their 18th birthday. 

 
MINIMUM  AGE FOR EMPLOYMENT 

There are certain exceptions  to these rules and they are subject to the employ- 

ment certificate regulations that follow: 

• Minors not yet 14 may not be employed  at any time, neither after school 

nor during vacation. 

• Minors 14 and 15 years old may work after school hours and during 

vacations, but not in factory work. They may do delivery and clerical work 

in any enclosed office of a factory, and in dry cleaning, tailor, shoe repair, 

and similar service stores. 

 
Comparison 

New York State Child Labor Law vs. 

Federal Law 
 

GENERAL INDUSTRY EMPLOYMENT 

 
New York State Federal Child Labor Law 

Child Labor Law 

 
16- & 17-Year-Olds 

School in Session 

 
Permitted to work up to 

• Minors 16 and 17 years of age, if not attending school, may work full time 

throughout the year. Factory work is permitted for minors l6 years of age or 

older. (See “Prohibited Occupations,” on page 14.) 

 
EXCEPTIONS 
1. Minors 12 years of age or older may be employed in the hand harvest of berries, 

fruits, and vegetables. 

 
2. Minors 11 years of age or older may work outside school hours  as newspaper 

carriers to deliver, or sell and deliver, newspapers, shopping papers, or periodicals to 

homes or business places. * (Minors 14 years of age and older may be engaged in 

street trades work, i.e. selling newspapers or periodicals on streets or public places.) 

 
3. Minors 12 years of age or older may work outside school hours for their parents or 

guardians either on the home farm or at other outdoor work not connected with a 

business. 

 
4. Minors 12 years of age or older may work  as bridge caddies at bridge tournaments 

when school attendance is not required. 

 
5. The minimum age to be employed as a child performer or model is 15 days 

old. 

 
* Under Federal law a 14-year age minimum  is required for delivery of periodicals and similar items. 

•  4 hours on a day preceding  a 

school day (M-T-W-Th) 

•  up to 6 hours on a day preceding  a school 

day in an approved cooperative program 

if these hours are in conjunction 

with the program 

 
•  may work up to 8 hours on Friday, 

Saturday, Sunday or holiday; 

 
•  may work up to 28 hours per week. 

 
•  may work between 6:00 AM and 

10:00 PM on a day preceding  a 

school day or until midnight with 

written parental consent and a certificate 

of satisfactory academic standing 

from their school; 

 
•  may work between 6:00 AM and 10:00 PM 

on a day preceding  a non-school day or until 

midnight with written parental consent. 

• No similar requirements 

 
• No similar requirements 
 
 
 
 
 
• No similar requirements 
 

 
• No similar requirements 

 
• No similar requirements 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
• No similar requirements 
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Comparison 

New York State Child Labor Law vs. 

Federal Law 
 

GENERAL INDUSTRY EMPLOYMENT 

 
New York State Federal Child Labor Law 

Child Labor Law 

 
14- & 15-Year-Olds 

School in Session 

 
Hours permitted to work - outside school hours 

 
• between 7:00 AM and 7:00 PM; • Same requirements 

• 3 hours on a school day; • Same requirements 

• 8 hours on a non-school  day; • Same requirements 

• maximum of 18 hours per week. • Same requirements 

 
Work Study Programs 

 
• 3 hours on a school day; • Same requirements 

• 8 hours on a non-school  day; • Same requirements 

• maximum of 23 hours per week. • Same requirements 

 
14- & 15-Year-Olds 

School Not in Session 

 
(June 21st to Labor Day) (June 1st to Labor Day) 

May be employed between- May be employed between- 

• 7:00 AM and 9:00 PM; • 7:00 AM and 9:00 PM; 

• 8 hours per day; • 8 hours per day; 

• 40 hours per week. • 40 hours per week. 
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EMPLOYMENT CERTIFICATES AND  PERMITS 
Generally, an employment  certificate or permit is required for employees under 

18 years of age. High school graduates, minors who work for their parents, and minors 

who do industrial homework are included in this group. 

 
EXCEPTIONS 
1. An employment certificate or permit is not required for work  as a caddie on a golf 

course. However, the caddie must be at least 14 years old. 

 
2. An employment certificate is not required for a baby sitter. However, the baby 

sitter must be at least 14 years old. 

 
3. An employment certificate is not required for work  as a bridge caddie. However, 

the caddie must be at least 12 years old. 

 
4. A permit is not required for a minor 16 or 17 years of age who performs work on a 

farm. However, a farm work permit is required for a minor 14 or 15 years of age who 

performs such work. A permit  also is required for a minor,  who also must be at least 12 

years of age, employed  in the hand harvest of berries, fruits and vegetables. 

 
5. A permit is not required for a minor who assists a parent,  aunt, uncle, grandparent, 

or guardian in the sale of produce of a farm that is owned or leased by the minor’s 

parent, aunt, uncle, grandparent or guardian at a farm stand or farmer’s market stand 

that is owned or leased by the minor’s parent, aunt, uncle, grandparent or guardian. 

However, the minor must be at least 12 years old. 

 
6. An employment certificate or permit is not required for minors 12 years of age or 

older working for their parents either on the home farm or at other outdoor work not 

connected with a business. 

 
7. An employment certificate is not required for a college student 16 or 17 years of 

age employed by a nonprofit college or university or fraternity, sorority, student asso- 

ciation, or faculty association. 

 
8. An employment certificate is not required for a minor 14 or 15 years of age to 

engage in casual employment  consisting of yard work and household chores in and 

about a residence  or the premises of a nonprofit,  noncommercial  organization, if it 

does not involve the use of power-driven  machinery.  Minors 16 or 17 do not need 

employment certificates for casual work even if it involves power-driven  machinery 

ordinarily used in connection with yard work or household chores. 
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For lawn and garden work, therefore, the requirement  for an employment  certificate 

depends on a minor’s age, whether power-driven machinery is used, and whether the 

employment is casual (without regularity, occasional, without foresight, plan, or 

method). The table below clarifies when a certificate is needed: 

 
Minors 14 and Minors 16 and 

15 years old  17 years old 
 

No power- 

driven 

machinery 

used 

No certificate if work is 

casual. 

Certificate required if 

work is regular. 

No certificate if work 

is casual. 

Certificate required if 

work is regular. 

Power- 

driven 

machinery 

is used 

Certificate required 

whether or not work 

is casual.* 

No certificate if work 

is casual. 

Certificate required if 

work is regular. 

 

* Federal law requires a 16-year age minimum  for the operation of power-driven machinery, 

including power-driven lawn mowers. 

 

TYPES OF EMPLOYMENT CERTIFICATES AND  PERMITS 
 

CERTIFICATES 
A Student Non-factory Employment Certificate (AT-1 8, blue paper) is issued to a 

minor 14 or 15 years old for permitted work in any trade, business, or service, but not 

for work in a factory workroom  or for work involving use of dangerous materials or 

chemical processes. 

 
A Student General Employment Certificate (AT-19, green paper) is issued to a 

minor 16 or 17 years old who is attending school. It is valid for work in a factory or any 

other trade, business, or service, but not valid for hazardous employment  such as 

operating certain power-driven  machines, construction work, or for work  as a helper 

on a motor vehicle. 

 
A Full-Time Employment Certificate (AT-20, salmon paper) is issued to a minor 

16 or 17 years old who is not attending school, or is leaving school for full-time 

employment.  It is valid for work in a factory  or any other trade, business, or service but 

not valid for hazardous employment such as operating  certain power-driven ma- 

chines, construction work, or for work as a helper  on a motor  vehicle.  (See “Prohibited 

Occupations” on page 14.) 
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Comparison 
New York State 

vs. 

Federal Child 

Labor Laws 
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NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION: 

Albany 

(518) 474-3852, State Education Bldg., 12224 

 
CITY BOARDS OF EDUCATION: 

See the Blue Pages in your local phone book. 

 
NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR,  APPRENTICE TRAINING SECTION: 

Albany 

Bldg. 12, Rm. 459, State Campus, 12240 

(518) 457-6820 

 
New York City 

75 Varick Street, 7
th
 Floor 10013  

(212) 775-3347 

 
STATE DIVISION OF HUMAN RIGHTS: 

Albany 

Alfred E. Smith Bldg., 12225 

(518) 474-2705 

 
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

EMPLOYMENT STANDARDS  ADMINISTRATION 

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION: 

Albany 

Leo W O’Brien Building, 12207 

(518) 431-4278 

 
Buffalo 

Federal Bldg., Room 1512, 

111 West Huron Street, 14202 

1-866-487-9243 

 
Long Island 

1400 Old Country Rd., Suite 410, Westbury, 11590-5119 

 
New York City 

26 Federal Plz., Rm. 3700,10278 

 
Syracuse 

Federal Bldg., Room 1373, 100 S. Clinton St., 13260 
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PERMITS 
Farm Work Permits (AT- 24, yellow paper) are issued to minors 14 and 15 years 

of age for farm work during vacation, before or after school hours, and on days when 

attendance at school is not required. Such a permit must be signed by each em- 

ployer, and is not valid for work in or in connection  with a factory or cannery. A minor 

may change his/her farm job without obtaining  a new permit. 

 
Permits (AT-25, white paper) are also issued to minors 12 and 13 years of age 

employed in the hand harvest of berries, fruits, and vegetables.  Such minors must be 

accompanied by a parent  or must provide the employer with the parent’s written 

consent to work. 

 
Newspaper Carrier Permits (AT-23, buff paper)  are issued to boys and girls 11 to 

18 years of age for work in the delivery, or sale and delivery of newspapers, shopping 

papers, or periodicals to homes or places of business.   The minors must carry the 

permit while working. (See page 9 under Special Occupations.  Also, see footnote  on 

page 2.) 

 
Street Trade Permits (AT-26, ivory paper)  are issued to self-employed boys and 

girls 14 to 18 years old who sell newspapers or periodicals on streets or in public 

places or who work as shoeshiners. (See page 9 under Special Occupations.) 

 
Child Model Permits (AT-12, green booklet)  are issued for the employment of 

child models  under 18 years old. (See page 10 under Special Occupations.) 

 
OTHER TYPES OF CERTIFICATES 

Certificates of Age. For his/her protection,  an employer may request a person 

who is over 18 to provide a certificate  of age. This document may be obtained from 

school authorities.  The employer  may then keep it on file as conclusive  proof of the 

worker’s age. 

 
OBTAINING  EMPLOYMENT CERTIFICATES AND PERMITS 

Minors can obtain employment certificates or permits from the school they at- 

tend or from the superintendent of schools in that area. The paperwork  required 

includes: 

 
1. Written permission from a parent to work (there are exceptions  for minors consid- 

ered to be emancipated by school authorities). 

 
2. Proof of age, either a birth certificate or some other document at least two years old 

that satisfies the officer issuing the certificate. 
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3. A certificate of physical fitness to assure that the young person is in sound health 

and that the work will not impair his/her physical condition. School medical doctors 

or physicians designated by the Department of Health give physical examinations. 

Otherwise minors may obtain a certificate of physical fitness from their own doctor. 

Minors from neighboring  states who seek work in New York can use a certificate 

issued by a physician  in their home state.  Physicians who find that a youth age l4 to l8 

is not physically fit for some occupations but may engage safely in other types of 

work, can issue a certificate of limited physical fitness. 

 
For youths to obtain a full-time employment certificate, their parent or guardian 

must appear in person before the school authorities to give consent. (High school 

graduates can use written consent.) In addition, youths must provide proof of age, a 

certificate of physical fitness, and a schooling record. In New York City and Buffalo, 

a l6-year-old  minor who is leaving school must have a pledge of employment signed 

by the prospective employer that shows the number of work-hours per day, days per 

week, and the nature of work to be done. 

 
For a farm work permit, the minor must submit parental permission, proof of age, 

and a certificate of physical  fitness.  The hiring party does not have to submit  a pledge 

of employment. 

 
For a newspaper carrier permit or a street trades permit, the minor must present 

parental permission, proof of age, and a statement  of physical fitness from either a 

school, department of health, or private doctor. The medical statement is not re- 

quired for the newspaper carrier permit if the applicant participates in the school’s 

physical education  programs. Students must fill out Part III of the Application for 

Employment  Permit (AT-22). 

 
 
 
 

VALIDITY  OF CERTIFICATES AND PERMITS 
Minors may use a newspaper carrier permit to work for any publisher or distribu- 

tor who supplies papers or periodicals. A minor may use the farm work permit and the 

chiId model permit to work for any employer, but each employer must sign the per- 

mit. 

 
A young person may work for an unlimited number of employers using the stu- 

dent non-factory employment certificate, the student general employment  certifi- 

cate, and the full-time employment certificate. When the minor leaves a job, the 
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ADMINISTRATIVE AGENCIES 
The provisions  governing the employment of minors in New York State are en- 

forced by the various government agencies authorized  to administer the particular 

laws involved. The addresses of the main offices in New York State follow: 

 
NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR,  DIVISION  OF LABOR STANDARDS: 

Albany 

Bldg. 12, State Campus, 12240 

(518) 457-2730 

 
Binghamton 

44 Hawley  St., Rm. 909,13901 

(607) 721-8014 

 
Buffalo 

65 Court St., 14202 

(716) 847-7141 

 
Garden City 

400 Oak St., Suite 101 

(516) 794-8195 

 
New York City 

75 Varick Street, 7
th
 Floor  

New York, NY 10013  

(212) 775-3880 

 
Rochester 

109 So. Union St., Rm. 318, 14607 

(585) 258-4550 

 
Syracuse 

333 East Washington St., 13202 

(315) 428-4057 

 
White Plains 

120 Bloomingdale Rd. 10605 

(914) 997-9521 
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Q. If an employer complies with the State Law does that guarantee compli- 

ance with the Federal Law or if the employer complies with Federal Law 

does that guarantee compliance  with State Law? 

 
A. Not in all cases. The rule to follow is that the law that is most restrictive and 

protects the employee the most is the one that applies. For more informa- 

tion, see chart on page 38. 

 
Q. If a 16- or 17-year-old changes jobs, do they need a new Parent/Guardian 

Consent form and/or a new Certificate of Satisfactory Academic  Standing 

for the new employer? 

 
A. A new Parent/Guardian form must be obtained for each job, because the 

forms are only valid for the employer listed. The School Satisfactory 

Academic Standing Certificate is valid for the entire marking period, 

regardless of the employer. 

 
Q.  Where are forms available? 

 
A. Employers can obtain parental consent forms from a Labor Standards 

Office. Academic  Standing certificates are provided by the local school. 
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employer  must return the certificate to the minor. Students with several jobs may 

request multiple copies of certificates or permits. The total hours worked for multiple 

employers by a minor may not exceed the daily and weekly hours maximums. 

 
LOCATION OF CERTIFICATE 

The employer  must keep Student Non-Factory, Student General, and Full-Time 

Employment Certificates on file, at the location where the minor is employed, as long 

as the minor remains employed. The minor must keep Farm Work Permits, 

Newspaper Carrier Permits and Street Trades Permits in his/her possession at all 

times. 

 
A temporary placement agency that assigns employees for short-term service at 

other establishments must keep on file the original copy of the Student Non-Factory, 

Student General, or Full-Time Employment  Certificate in its office and provide copies 

at the establishment where the minor works. 

 
DUTIES OF EMPLOYMENT AGENCIES 

Employment agencies have certain obligations  under the law with regard to 

placement of minors on jobs. They may not refer minors to any job if the employment 

violates the provisions of the Labor Law or Education Law pertaining to employment 

of minors. They may not refer minors, or anyone else, to jobs paying less than the 

prescribed Federal or State minimum wage. They may not recruit out-of-state minors 

under 18 years of age for placement in domestic employment. 

 
Employment agencies must be licensed.  State law fixes the maximum fee that an 

employment  agency may charge a job applicant. The law also prohibits agencies 

from misrepresenting jobs. 

 
The Employment  Agency  Law (Article 11, General Business Law), which regu- 

lates the activities of employment agencies, is administered by the Department of 

Labor throughout the state except in New York City, where enforcement is the re- 

sponsibility of the New York City Department  of Consumer Affairs. 

 
The Labor Department  is authorized to enforce the law prohibiting  an employ- 

ment agency from illegally referring a minor to a job or referring  any person to a job 

paying less than the applicable  state minimum wage. 
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SPECIAL OCCUPATIONS 
 

DELIVERY AND  CLERICAL EMPLOYMENT 

IN FACTORY OFFICES AND SERVICE STORES 
Although no minor under 16 may work in a factory workroom, 14- or 15-year- olds 

may work in delivery  and clerical jobs in a factory office that is enclosed and separate 

from the place where manufacturing is carried on. The office  must have a partition  at 

least seven feet high, and must have an entrance that will permit the minors to enter 

or leave the office without passing through the factory workroom. 

 
A minor 14 or 15 also may work in a delivery or clerical job in a dry cleaning store, 

tailor shop, shoe repair shop, laundry store, hat cleaning store, and similar service 

stores, but he or she is not permitted to work in proximity to dangerous machinery, 

equipment, or process.* 

 
NEWSPAPER SALES AND  DELIVERY 

There are two principal occupations related to newspaper sales and delivery: 

 
1. Newspaper Carrier 

The Education  Law defines a newspaper carrier as one who delivers, or sells and 

delivers, newspapers, shopping papers, or periodicals to customers at their homes or 

places of business. 

 
The minimum  age for a newspaper  carrier is 11. (See footnote on page 2.) All 

newspaper  carriers between  ages 11 and 18 must have a permit. 

 
A newspaper carrier may not work before 5 a.m., after 7 p.m. or 30 minutes prior 

to sunset, whichever is later, nor during the time when minors are required to attend 

school. (See chart on pages 20 and 21 for daily hours.) 

 
A newspaper carrier permit is not valid for work as a helper  on a newspaper 

delivery truck delivering papers to stores or distributors. 

 
The newspaper  publisher  or distributor who supplies the papers or periodicals 

to the carrier must provide workers’ compensation  insurance for that employee. 

A newspaper publisher or distributor who knowingly  permits a newspaper  carrier 

to work in violation of the provisions of the Education  Law is liable for a double 
 

*Federal law requires that any delivery work for retail stores that is performed by 14- and 15- year-olds 

be made on foot, by bicycle or via bus. It also forbids them from working in a place where processing 

(such  as laundering  or dry cleaning)  takes place. 
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ANSWERS TO SOME COMMON QUESTIONS 
ABOUT  THE EMPLOYMENT OF MINORS 
 

Q. Can a 16- or 17-year-old minor who has quit school work more than 4 

hours per day or 28 hours per week? 

 
A. Yes. If a minor  has left school voluntarily he or she is not required to attend. 

The minor must have a Full-Time Employment  Certificate and may work 8 

hours per day, 48 hours per week between the hours of 6 AM and 

midnight. 

 
Q. Does a 16- or 17-year-old minor who has graduated  from high school  or 

attends college need parental and school consent to work past 10 PM? 

 
A. No. This law pertains to 16- and 17-year-olds who are attending high 

school. Minors who are high school graduates must have a Full-Time 

Employment certificate. 

 
Q. If a 16- or 17-year-old minor is obtaining a High School Equivalency 

Diploma, does that restrict their working hours when school is in session? 

 
A. No. Their attendance  Is not mandated by the Education Law. However, 

they must have a Full-Time Employment  Certificate. 

 
Q.  Should all injuries at work be reported? 

 
A. Yes. All injuries should be reported to the employer and the physician or 

hospital so they can file a report with the Workers’ Compensation Board to 

protect the young person and cover the medical expenses. 

 
Q.  Do minors who model and do not yet attend school need a Modeling 
Permit? 

 
A. Yes.  All minors under 18 years old must have a Model  Permit to be 

employed, used, exhibited, or caused to be exhibited as a model.  
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SCHOOL-TO-WORK APPRENTICESHIP PROGRAM (SWAP) 
This multi-year program combines  supervised on-the-job training and spe- 

cific related instruction in an academic  setting. Through the coordinated  efforts 

of local school districts, sponsors and the State Education Department, students 

are enrolled in apprenticeship  programs that are registered  and monitored by 

the State Department  of Labor 

 
SWAP is designed to lead youth directly into either a related post-secondary 

education program, entry-level job or registered apprenticeship  program. Once 

registered, apprentices will receive financial compensation. 

 

 
 

tion that combines  high-level academic achievement with a graduated  under- 

standing of the world of work. Students are encouraged  to participate in work- 

based learning activities that may include: internships, job shadowing, mentoring, 

youth apprenticeship. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

SALE OF GOODS PRODUCED WITH EMPLOYMENT OF MINORS 
The General Business Law prohibits anyone from knowingly selling goods manu- 

factured or mined by minors less than 16 years of age. 

 
VIOLATIONS 

A violation of any provision of the Labor Law, the Industrial Code, or any rule, 

regulation, or lawful order of the Department of Labor is a criminal offense punishable 

by fine, imprisonment, or both.  The illegal employment  of minors also entails civil 

penalties of up to $1,000 for the first violation, $2,000 for the second violation, and 

$3,000 for the third and subsequent violations. However if the violation involves 

illegal employment during which the minor is seriously injured or dies, the penalty is 

triple the maximum which would otherwise be allowable under the law for such a 

violation. 

 
An employer may not penalize or discharge an employee because he or she has 

complained to the Labor Department that the employer has violated any provision of 

the Labor Law. 

 
The Federal  Fair Labor Standards Act authorizes the Secretary of Labor to assess a 

civil money penalty of up to $10,000 for each violation of the labor provisions regard- 

ing minors or any of its regulations.  This penalty is in addition to those provisions for 

fines, imprisonment, or restraint by injunction. 
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indemnity compensation award if the minor is injured. The newspaper supplier can- 

not be insured for the additional award but must pay it out of pocket. 

 
It is unlawful for a person knowingly  to deliver newspapers or periodicals to a 

newspaper carrier who is not in compliance with the regulations.  The Commissioner 

of Labor and the police have concurrent power to enforce the regulations, except 

with respect to the issuance and revocation of the permit, which is under the juris- 

diction of the local educational authorities. (Note: The above newspaper carrier regu- 

lations do not apply to a minor employed to sell newspapers  at a stand owned either 

by a candy store proprietor  or by a newspaper publisher or distributor.  Such a minor 

is covered by the provisions of the Labor Law applying to minors employed in other 

industries or occupations.) 
 

 
The street trades provisions  of the Education Law apply to minors who sell news- 

papers or other periodicals on streets or in other public places. Minors between 14 

and 18 who work on the street must have a street trades permit. 

 
The Commissioner  of Labor and the police  have concurrent power to enforce the 

street trades regulations, except with respect to the issuance and revocation of the 

permits, which is under the jurisdiction  of educational authorities. 

 
SHOESHINERS 

The street trades regulations applying to the selling of newspapers described 

above also apply to work as a shoeshiner on streets or in other public places. 

 
CHILD ACTORS 

The Child Performer Education and Trust Act of 2003 along with Child 
Performer Regulations Part 186 promulgated April 1, 2013 contain new 
requirements regarding: employer certificates and child performer permits; 
accounts; placing child performer earnings in the account; and satisfactory 
academic performance of child performers.  Effective November 20, 2013 child 
models were included under Part 186 Child Performer Regulations. 
Parents/guardians must obtain permits for their child performers or models 
from the State Labor Department. 

 
In addition,  parents/guardian must prove they have established a trust account 

for their child performers. Part of every child performer's earnings must be with- 

held by their employers and placed into a trust account.  The Child Perfomer Permit, 

known as LS 555,  can  be obtained online at  www.labor.ny.gov or by calling 1-800-

HIRE-992. 
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ment, academic remediation, GED preparation, counseling and SCANS skills de- 

velopment. The primary focus group for this program is 18- and 19-year-olds, but 

ages range from 16 to 21 years. 

 
Youth  Work Skills (YWS) — This program  serves economically  disadvantaged 

out-of-school youth ages 16-21,  with reading levels at or below the 5th grade 

level.  Participants include homeless youth, teen parents, youth with legal of- 

fenses and those with a history  of multiproblem life experiences.   The program 

stabilizes the youths’ situation and teaches them to be job ready.  The YWS 

program provides basic academic skills, support  services, work experience and 

placement into unsubsidized employment. This program  includes  GED prepara- 

tion as well as SCANS development. Up to 10% may be non-economically disad- 

vantaged but with other barriers to employment. 
 

COOPERATIVE EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS 
Local educational  agencies throughout the state are engaged in Cooperative 

Occupational Education Programs where students at least 14 years of age and 

older are being trained cooperatively by employers and these agencies. The 

programs employ  various systems of alternating school classroom instruction with 

appropriate related on-the-job experience to help students realize their occu- 

pational goals. 

 
Secondary education  programs of this type must be approved by the State 

Education Department. It is important that each local program include specific 

health and safety instruction as part of a plan and agreement for each job placement. 

A trained, certified cooperative coordinator is responsible for the development of 

this plan as well as for periodic visitations on the job and, in some programs, for 

school-related instruction. 

 
Participants 16 and 17 years of age may not be placed with any employer 

more than 6 hours per day or 28 hours per week. Participants l4 and l5 years old 

may not work more than three hours a day on school days. As in other work- 

experience programs, cooperative occupational education students under the 

age of 18 must obtain working permits and be paid according to the appropriate 

minimum wage orders. Participants 14 and 15 years old may not work during 

school hours without special permission. 
 

SCHOOL-TO-WORK PROGRAM 
School-to-Work  is a new approach to learning that links students, schools and 

workplaces.  Locally driven and community based, it is an effort to reform educa- 
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Empire Development Zone Wage Tax Credits — WOTC eligible employees 

may also earn additional  state wage tax credits for certified businesses that are 

located in one of the state’s 85 Empire Development  Zones (EZ). EZ employers 

can claim up to $3,000 for each WOTC employee  hired for a newly created job. 

that pays 135% or more of NYS minimum  wage. 
 

 
Summer Jobs for Youth — Each year the Employment  Services Division pro- 

motes the hiring of youths for summer jobs and refers young people to summer 

job openings. 

 
Adolescent Vocational Exploration (AVE) — The AVE Program, a career educa- 

tion program for youth, attempts to intervene in the lives of “at-risk” youth before 

they have to face the consequences of inadequate preparation for the job mar- 

ket. Intervention  may begin as early as age 14,while  there is still time for youth to 

identify and shape their own skills and vocational direction.  AVE provides an 

opportunity for minors to learn the skills and attitudes they will need to get a job, 

to understand the importance of the formal preparation that school provides, 

and to obtain first-hand experience in jobs and through interaction with role 

models in their communities.  The program targets economically  disadvantaged 

youth, ages 14 through 17, who need extraordinary support due to environmen- 

tal, economic, or personal circumstances.  This may include  underachievers, tru- 

ants, or potential dropouts. Program activities include  field and classroom career 

exploration, group and individual counseling, and educational activities leading 

to academic credit. 

 
Progressive Adolescent Vocational Exploration (PAVE) — This program  is simi- 

lar to the AVE program in its first year but targets older in-school youth (15- to 18- 

year-olds) while serving 14- to 21-year-olds.  A second year of activities is added 

to provide the skills necessary to successfully transfer to the workplace or further 

higher education. The first year of this two-year program focuses on classroom 

activities and skills development/experiential learning activities.  The second  year 

focuses on apprenticeships,  entrepreneurship, internships, and preparation for 

post-secondary education. The program  provides academic and SCANS skills 

development in the functional context of participant  career choices. Upon the 

completion of each year the participants  are eligible for academic credit. 

 
Another Chance Initiative for Education, Vocation, or Employment (ACHIEVE) 

—This youth program focuses on increasing employment readiness and the basic 

skills of schools dropouts through on-the-job  training, work experience, place 
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HOURS OF WORK 

The number  of hours a minor may work per day and per week depends  upon the 

youth’s age, the type of work being performed, and whether school is in session. New 

York State has one of the most stringent chiId labor laws in the country, which limits 

the number of hours that minors under 18 may work when school is in session. It 

requires that l6- and l7-year-olds may not work past l0 p.m. on the night before a 

school day without permission from a parent  and a certificate  of satisfactory aca- 

demic standing from their school. 

 
Minors may not work during the hours when they are required to attend school. 

When school is in session, generally from September to June, minors 14 and 15 

years old may not work for: 

- more than 3 hours on any school day 

- more than 8 hours on a non-school  day 

(Saturday, Sunday, holidays) 

- more than 18 hours in any week 

- more than 6 days in any week 

 
except baby sitters, bridge caddies at bridge tournaments, farm 

laborers, newspaper  carriers, performers and models. 

 
However, 14- or 15-year-old minors who are employed  as part of a supervised 

work study or work experience program that is approved by the Commissioner of 

Education may work 3 hours on a school day and 23 hours a week, instead of 3 hours 

a day and 18 hours a week. (See footnote  1 on the chart on pages 20 and 21.) 

 
When school is in session, minors 16 and 17 years old enrolled in a day school, 

other than a part-time or continuation school, may not work for: 

- more than 4 hours on any day preceding a school day (M, T, W, Th.) 

- more than 8 hours on Friday, Saturday, Sunday, or holiday 

- more than 28 hours in any week 

- more than 6 days in any week 

 
except as baby sitters, bridge caddies at bridge tournaments, farm 

laborers, newspaper  carriers, performers and models. 

 
However, students enrolled in a cooperative work experience program approved 

by the Department of Education may be employed up to a maximum  of 6 hours on a 

day preceding  a school day other than a Sunday or a holiday  if these hours are in 

conjunction with the program.  Any hours worked in such program shall be included 

when calculating the number of hours worked for the 4-hour maximum. 
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dents who plan to work full-time after graduation  to suitable job openings. In 

other parts of the state, DOL staff undertake cooperative  activities based on the 

needs of the schools in their area and the capacities  of the school guidance staff. 

 
Youth Employment — Specially trained interviewers and vocational counselors 

advise out-of-school  youths and refer them to suitable jobs. They make special 

efforts to place disadvantaged and/or inexperienced minors aged 16 to 22. The 

program staff often refer unemployed youths who need training to projects spon- 

sored under the Workforce Investment Act (WIA), local school programs, and 

community-based  agency training programs. For example,  the Department of 

Labor can refer minors to programs developed  through recent WIA youth legisla- 

tion to Youth  Employment and Training  Programs conducted by WIA Service 

Delivery Areas. 

 
Work Opportunity  Tax Credit (WOTC) Program — Special incentives for em- 

ployers to hire minors are provided under the WOTC Program.  The program  is 

aimed at encouraging employers to hire persons with difficulties finding work or 

who are economically  disadvantaged. Businesses may claim a credit for each 

youth over age 18 that they hire who has been certified  by the New York State 

Department of Labor as being  a member  of one of the WOTC target groups. The 

employer can claim one-time Federal tax credit of up to $2,400 (40% of the first 

$6,000 in wages).  The Long-Term Family Assistance Credit provides  Federal cre- 

dits totaling up to $9,000 over a two-year  period for businesses that hire "long 

term public" assistance recipients. 

 
The WOTC Program includes  High Risk Youth,  over  the age of 18 on the day 

hired, whose principal residence is in a federally designated Empowerment Zone 

(EZ) or Renewal Community (RC).  EZ/RC residents  who are employed by a 

federal  EZ/RC business can earn their employer  a multi-year federal EZ/RC credit 

as well. People over the age of 18 whose families receive Food Stamp Assista- 

nce for at least the 6 (consecutive) months before date of hire, or for at least 

three of the five months before date of hire and their food stamp eligibility 

expired. 

 
In addition, the program includes summer hires youth ages 16 or 17 whose 

principal residence is in a federally  designated  Empowerment  Zone or Rene- 

wal Community, employed between May 1 and September 15. Employers can 

earn a federal  credit of $750 (25% of the first $3,000 in wages) paid to each 

eligible Summer Youth. 
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Exclusions - Certain workers are excluded from unemployment protection. These 

include children of sole proprietors who are under the age of 21, students en- 

rolled in study programs and students employed  at certain camps if they work for 

less than 13 weeks in a year. Certain workers are excluded from unemployment 

protection unless they work for non-profit organizations or governmental enti- 

ties. These include daytime students in elementary and high schools who work 

after school, weekends, or during vacation periods, babysitters under the age of 

18, all minors under 14 years of age, and golf caddies. 

 
Unemployment benefits depend upon the employee’s average weekly wage, 

with a stipulated maximum. The cost of providing unemployment insurance 

benefits is met entirely by the employer. Claimants for unemployment benefits 

should file a claim through the Labor Department’s Telephone Claims Centers at 

1-888-209-8124. 

 
An unemployment  insurance claimant may continue to receive unemployment 

payments while participating in an approved course of vocational training or basic 

education. 

 
JOB PLACEMENT SERVICES 

The New York State Department  of Labor provides free placement service for 

people who want a job and for employers who need workers.  There are special 

programs for minors and for the economically disadvantaged. 

 
Employment counselors help minors make the transition from school to a job. 

They help youth to develop job plans that are realistic for the local labor market 

and to implement these plans. These counselors  also provide occupational and 

educational information and help minors to identify their vocational potential. 

You can learn more about these services at the nearest New York State Depart- 

ment of Labor local office or Employment Services Center. 

 

OTHER YOUTH SERVICES 
The Joint High School Program — In New York City, State DOL staff work with 

cooperating high schools to register seniors who plan to work after graduation. 

The seniors discuss their work interests, school performance,  and scores on apti- 

tude tests, and participate in other work-related  activities that help them to 

select appropriate jobs. The program also helps drop-outs  to find jobs as quickly 

as possible after leaving school. Staffers help the students who register in the 

program find part-time jobs. Toward the end of the school year they refer stu- 
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When school is not in session, and during vacations (school must be closed 

for the entire calendar week), minors under 18 generally may not work more than 8 

hours a day, 6 days a week; minors 14 and 15 may not work more than 40 hours a week 

and 16- and 17-year-olds may not work more than 48 hours a week. See the chart on 

pages 20 and 21 for details. 

 
Federal legislation limits the work of 14- and 15-year-olds in firms engaged in 

interstate commerce to a maximum 3-hour day and 18-hour week when school is in 

session and to an 8-hour day and 40-hour week when school is not in session. (School 

must be closed for the entire calendar week.) 

 
In school cafeterias, a minor who has an employment certificate may work during 

the lunch period at the school he or she attends. 

 
On farms, 12- and 13-year-olds who have farm work permits to pick berries, fruits, 

or vegetables, may not work more than 4 hours per day, before 9 a.m. or after 4 p.m. 

when school is in session from the day after Labor Day to June 20th. From June 21st to 

Labor Day they may work 4 hours per day between the hours of 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. There 

are no hour regulations for farm work that apply to minors 14 years of age or older. 

 
When a minor is employed in two or more establishments in the same day or 

week, the total time of employment may not exceed the daily or weekly allowance for 

a single establishment. 

 
NIGHTWORK  RESTRICTIONS 

In addition to the limitations on the number of hours minors may work in a day or 

a week, the law prohibits  them from working before or after certain hours, depending 

on their age and occupation. 

 
Minors under 16 may not work between 7 p.m. and 7 a.m. in most jobs, after Labor 

Day to June 20th and between  9 p.m. and 7 a.m. from June 21st to Labor Day. News- 

paper carriers  may not work between 7 p.m. (or 30 minutes prior to 

sunset, whichever is later) and 5 a.m. Minors engaged in street trades may not work 

between 7 p.m. and 6 a.m. 

 
During vacation, when school  is not in session, minors 16 and 17 years old may not 

work between midnight and 6 a.m. During the school year, on an evening preceding 

a school day they may work after 10 p.m. (up to midnight) only with the written 

consent of a parent  and a Certificate  of Satisfactory Academic Standing from their 

school. During the school year on an evening preceding a non-school  day, minors 16 

and 17 years old may work after 10 p.m. (up to midnight) only with the written consent 
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of a parent. Parental Consent Forms may be obtained by an employer from the Divi- 

sion of Labor Standards offices listed on page 35.  The Certificate  of Satisfactory 

Academic  Standing is issued by the school the minor attends. 

 
POSTING PROVISIONS 

The employer  must make a schedule  for all minors and post it in a conspicuous 

place. The schedule  sets forth the hours minors start and end work and time allotted 

for meals.  The hours of work can be changed,  as long as the changes are posted on 

the schedule. Minors may work only on the days and at the times posted on the 

schedule. If minors are present at other times or if no schedule is posted, it is a 

violation of the Child Labor Law. 
 

STATE PROHIBITED OCCUPATIONS 
UNDER 18 YEARS OF AGE 

No one under the age of 18 may be employed in or assist in: 

• any occupation  at construction work, including wrecking, demolition, 

roofing, or excavating operations and the painting or exterior cleaning of a 

building structure from an elevated surface. 

 
• any occupation involved in the operation of circular saws, bandsaws, and 

guillotine  shears. 

 
• any occupation  in or about a slaughtering and meat-packing establish- 

ment, or rendering plant. 

 
• any occupation  involved in the operation of power-driven woodworking, 

metal-forming, metal-punching, metal-shearing, bakery and paper prod- 

ucts machines. 

 
• any occupation involved in the operation of power-driven hoisting 

apparatus. 

 
• any occupation involved in the manufacture of brick, tile, and kindred 

products. 

 
• any occupation  involving exposure to radioactive substances or ionizing 

radiation, or exposure to silica or other harmful dust. 

 
• logging occupations and occupations in the operation of any sawmill, lath 

mill, shingle mill, or cooperage-stock mill. 
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If a minor less than 18 years of age is injured while working in violation of the 

provisions of the Labor Law or of an Industrial  Code Rule prohibiting or regulating 

the employment of minors under 18, his or her compensation is double the 

regular award. The employer  cannot insure himself for the additional payment 

but must pay it himself. The double indemnity provision also applies to a news- 

paper publisher or distributor who knowingly permits a newspaper  carrier to 

work in violation of the provisions of the Education Law. 

 
The cost of providing workers’compensation  insurance must be met entirely 

by the employer. Deductions may not be made from the employee’s wages for 

such costs. 

 
Farm laborers  are covered by the Workers’Compensation Law if the employer 

paid farm workers cash wages of $1,200 or more in the preceding calendar year. 

An employer that is not covered may provide insurance voluntarily. Domestic 

workers, other than those employed  on farms, employed  by the same employer 

for a minimum  of 40 hours per week, are covered by Workers’ Compensation. 
 

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE 
 

The Unemployment  Insurance Law provides for payment of benefits to quali- 

fied workers during periods of unemployment.   In general, all employees in firms 

in which the employer had a payroll including the value of tips, meals, and 

lodging, commissions, and non-cash compensation of $300 or more during any 

calendar  quarter are covered by unemployment insurance. Domestic workers 

are covered  if their employer paid domestic employees cash wages of $500 or 

more in a calendar  quarter. 

 
Employees of non-profit religious, charitable, scientific,  literary, or educa- 

tional organizations are covered if their employers paid cash wages of $1,000 or 

more in a calendar quarter, or employed four or more persons on one day in each 

of 20 different weeks during a calendar  year or the preceding calendar year. 

Farm workers  are covered if their employer had a payroll  of $20,000 or more in 

any calendar quarter or employed 10 or more persons on at least one day in each 

of 20 different  weeks during a calendar year or the preceding  calendar year, or 

is liable under the Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA) with respect to agricul- 

tural labor.  Local government employees  are covered without any qualifying 

conditions. 
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or where the failure to pay wages is found to be willful or egregious, the civil 

penalty imposed by an Order issued by the Commissioner is equal to double the 

total amount found due. 

 

COST OF MEDICAL EXAMINATIONS 
If an employee is required by his or her employer to undergo  a medical 

examination to obtain or retain  a job, the cost must be met by the employer. 

However,  a collective bargaining agreement may require the job applicant to 

pay for the medical examination, provided he or she is reimbursed by the em- 

ployer  after a reasonable period of employment. 

 

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION 
Workers’ Compensation is payable when a minor  is injured in an on-the-job 

accident. If he or she is injured in any way in the course of his or her employ- 

ment, injuries are covered by Workers’ Compensation.   The fund also covers oc- 

cupational diseases. 

 
Minors 14 years of age and older who are engaged  as baby sitters or in casual 

employment consisting of yard work and household chores in and about  a one- 

family owner-occupied  residence or the premises of a nonprofit,  non-commer- 

cial organization, not involving the use of power-driven  machinery, are not cov- 

ered by the Workers’ Compensation  law. The term “casual” in this reference means 

occasional, without regularity, without foresight, plan, or method. 

 
An injured youngster should report the accident immediately and in writing 

to his or her employer or foreman.  The youth has the right to be treated by his or 

her own doctor, if the doctor is authorized  by the Workers’ Compensation Board 

to treat such injuries. The employer  must report the accident to the  Workers’ 

Compensation Board. 

 
Benefits include weekly cash benefits for time lost from the job and necessary 

medical care. The injured youth is entitled to compensation if the injury prevents 

him or her from working more than one week, compels him or her to work at lower 

wages, or leaves him or her with any permanent injury. Compensation generally is 

limited to two-thirds of the minor’s weekly wage, but not exceeding  a stipulated 

maximum.  Medical benefits are payable regardless of whether the employee has 

lost time from the job. 
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• any occupation in or in connection with a mine or quarry. 

 
• as a helper  on a motor vehicle. 

 
• the care or operation of a freight or passenger elevator, except that minors 

over 16 may operate automatic, push-button control elevators. 

 
• work in manufacturing, packing, or storing of explosives, or in the use or 

delivery of explosives. 

 
• operating or using any emery, tripoli, rouge, corundum, stone, silicon 

carbide, or any abrasive, or emery polishing or buffing wheel, where 

articles of the baser metals or iridium are manufactured. 

 
• adjusting belts to machinery or cleaning, oiling, or wiping machinery. 

 
• packing paints, dry colors, or red or white leads. 

 
• preparing any composition in which dangerous or poisonous acids are used. 

 
• operating steam boilers subject to Section 204 of the Labor Law. 

 
• in penal or correctional institutions, if such employment relates to the 

custody or care of prisoners or inmates. 

 
(These prohibitions  do not apply to minors younger than 18 who are apprentices 

individually registered in apprenticeship programs duly registered with the Commis- 

sioner of Labor or to student-learners enrolled in recognized cooperative vocational 

training programs,  or to trainees  in approved on-the-job training programs. 

They do not apply to minors 16 to 18 years old who have completed training  as a 

student learner or trainee in an on-the-job training program, or has completed a 

training program given by a public school or a non-profit  institution, which includes 

safety instruction  approved by the Commissioner of Labor. There are regulations 

governing the approval of these safety instructions.) 
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UNDER 16 YEARS OF AGE 

State regulations forbid minors under 16 being employed in or assisting in: 

 
• any occupation  in or in connection with a factory, except  in delivery and 

clerical employments in an enclosed office of a factory  or in dry cleaning 

stores, shoe repair shops, and similar service stores. (See footnote  on page 8.) 

 
• painting or exterior cleaning in connection with the maintenance of a 

building or structure. 

 
• the operation of washing, grinding, cutting, slicing, pressing, or mixing 

machinery. 

 
• any employment in institutions in the Department of Mental Health. 

(However, participation in recreation and leisure activities, social skills 

development, companionship  and/or entertainment as part of an orga- 

nized volunteer program approved by the Commissioner of Mental Health 

does not constitute employment or assistance in employment and may be 

performed by youthful volunteers at least 14 years of age.) 

 
• industrial homework. 

 
• places of entertainment  as a rope or wirewalker or gymnast unless the 

minor is protected by the use of safety devices or protective equipment, 

which comply with the provisions of the Federal Occupational Safety and 

Health Act. 
 

 
In 1992, New York State adopted regulations which prohibit the employment of 

minors under the age of 16 in various hazardous occupations in agriculture. 

Contact the Division of Labor Standards for further information. (See page 35.) 

 
A FEMALE OF ANY  AGE MAY NOT  BE EMPLOYED: 

In factory or mercantile establishments within four weeks after childbirth unless 

she presents to her employer  a written statement expressing her desire for earlier 

employment and a written opinion by a qualified  physician that she is physically and 

mentally capable of discharging the duties of her employment. 
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The wage order permits specified allowances to be deducted from the minimum 

wage for meals and lodging supplied by an employer. However, an allowance for 

lodging is not permitted in the case of seasonal migrant workers. Payments in kind may 

be permitted  at not more than the farm market value. 

 
Employers must post a summary of the wage order  in a conspicuous place in their 

establishment. A copy of the general work agreement must also be posted. 

 
ENFORCEMENT OF MINIMUM  WAGE LAWS 

The Department  of Labor helps collect underpayments for workers who have 

not received the minimum wage. A violator of the Minimum Wage Law is subject 

to criminal prosecution and penalties or to civil court action and damages. How- 

ever the Department  generally recovers the funds without resorting to court 

action. Through an Order to Comply, the Commissioner of Labor may require an 

employer to pay interest and civil penalties in addition to the minimum wage 

underpayments.  Where the employer has previously been found in violation, or 

where the failure to pay the minimum wage is found to be willful or egregious, 

the civil penalty imposed by an Order issued by the Commissioner is equal to 

double the total amount found due. 

 
MINIMUM WAGE FOR EMPLOYEES COVERED BY FEDERAL LAW 

Employees covered by the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act are also under the 

full protection of all provisions of the applicable New York State minimum  wage 

orders including  their supplemental  wage provisions.  The requirements of the State 

law do not affect an employer’s obligation to comply with any provision of the Federal 

law which may result in a higher minimum  wage. In any event, the higher standards 

apply, whether it be federal or state law. 

 

COLLECTION OF WAGES 
The Department  of Labor assists minors and others in the collection of their 

unpaid wages. The Department’s Division of Labor Standards investigates claims 

for unpaid wages and attempts to adjust equitably the differences between the 

employer and employee. 

 
The Commissioner  of Labor may authorize criminal prosecution  or institute  a 

civil suit for failure to pay wages. However the Department generally recovers the 

funds without resorting to court action. Through an Order to Comply, the Commis- 

sioner may require an employer to pay interest and civil penalties in addition to the 

wages owed.   Where the employer has previously  been found in violation, 
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MINIMUM WAGE 
NEW YORK STATE MINIMUM  WAGE LAWS 

There are two state minimum wage laws. 

 
•  Minimum  Wage Act - applies to all occupations except farm work. 

 
•  Minimum  Wage Standards for Farm Workers - applies to farm workers only 

 
MINIMUM WAGE ACT (APPLICABLE TO EMPLOYMENT GENERALLY) 

The General Industry Minimum Wage Act provides that all employees in the 
state, including domestic workers with certain specified exceptions, must be paid 
at least $9.00 per hour as of December 31, 2015. The fast food minimum hourly 
rate  is $10.50 in the City of New York, and $9.75 outside of the City of New York. 

 
Certain jobs in the restaurant, hotel, and building service industry, and miscella- 

neous industries and occupations are covered by provisions calling for the payment 

of the hourly rate plus overtime and allowances contained in four GeneraI Industry 

Wage Orders. 

 
The wage orders permit specified allowances from the minimum wage for meals 

and lodging supplied by an employer.  In certain industries, allowances for tips are 

permitted. If uniforms are required, certain allowances apply. 

 
Employers must post a Minimum  Wage Information poster in their establishment. 

 
MINIMUM WAGE STANDARDS FOR FARM WORKERS 

These standards apply only to farm workers employed on farms where the total 

cash remuneration paid alI persons employed on the farm exceeded $3,000 in the 

previous calendar year. 

 
The Minimum Wage Order for Farm Workers provides that all workers, with 

certain exceptions, must be paid at least $9.00 per hour. This wage becomes 

effective on December 31, 2015. This does not include members of the employer’s 

immediate family and minors under 17 years of age employed as hand harvest workers on 

the same farm as their parents or guardians and who are paid on a piece-rate basis at the 

same rate as employees over 17. 
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FEDERAL PROHIBITED OCCUPATIONS 
 
UNDER 18 YEARS OF AGE 

In addition to the State regulations concerning prohibited occupations, there 

are 17 Federal Hazardous Orders in Non-Agricultural Occupations that prohibit the 

employment of minors under 18 engaged in interstate commerce. 

These orders apply to occupations: 

 
1. in or about plants manufacturing or storing explosives or articles containing explo- 

sive components. 

 
2. motor vehicle driver and outside helper. 

 
3. coal-mining occupations. 

 
4. logging and/or in the operation of any sawmill, lath mill, shingle mill, or cooperage- 

stock mill. 

 
5. involved  in the operation of power-driven wood-working machines. 

 
6. involving exposure to radioactive substances and to ionizing radiation. 

 
7. involved in the operation of elevators and other power-driven hoisting apparatus. 

(However, minors 16 and 17 years old are permitted to operate and ride on automatic 

enclosed elevators.) 

 
8. involved in the operation of power-driven metal-forming, punching and shearing 

machines. 

 
9. in connection with mining, other than coal. 

 
10. in or about slaughtering, meatpacking, rendering or involving the operation, set- 

ting up, adjusting, cleaning, oiling, wiping, or repairing of a meat slicer. 

 
11. involved in the operation of certain power-driven bakery machines. 

 
12. involved in the operation of certain power-driven paper products machines. 
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13. involved in the manufacture of brick, tile, and kindred products. 

 
14. involving the operation of power-driven  circular saws, band saws, and guillotine 

shears. 

 
15. involving wrecking, demolition, and shipbreaking operations. 

 
16. involving roofing operations. 

 
17. involving excavation operations. 

 
(NOTE: Orders 5,8,10,12,14,16, and 17 contain exemptions for 16- and 17- year-old 

apprentices and student learners, and high school graduates who have completed 

training as student  learners, when employed under prescribed conditions.) 
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- work in freezers, meat coolers, and in preparation of meats 

for sale, except wrapping,  pricing, sealing, labeling, weighing, and 

stocking, when performed in other areas. 

- loading and unloading goods to and from trucks, railroad cars, 

and conveyors. 

- maintenance or repair of establishment or machines, except 

cleanup work in connection with cars or trucks involving use of pits, 

racks, or lifting apparatus, or involving the inflation of any tire 

mounted on a rim equipped with a movable  retaining ring. 

 
FARM LABOR (UNDER 16) 

In addition, there is a Federal Hazardous Occupations  Order covering minors 

under 16 years of age engaged in farm work. The federal order sets certain occupa- 

tional restrictions for agricultural workers under 16 years of age employed in the 

production of goods for interstate commerce.  The order is applicable  regardless of 

whether or not the minors are covered  by federal minimum wage provisions. The 

order lists 16 prohibited occupations for minors under 16 years of age, including 

working with certain power-driven  farm machinery, operating a tractor with over 20 

PTO horsepower, and working with explosives or certain chemicals. 

 
The prohibitions on child labor on farms do not apply, however, to minors em- 

ployed on a farm owned or operated by their parents, or to students enrolled in a 

recognized vocational education training program.  In addition, exemptions are pro- 

vided for 4-H members who have completed  designated training programs and par- 

ticipants in other approved farm training and education  programs. Details of these 

exemptions may be obtained from the nearest office of the U.S. Department of Labor, 

Wage and Hour Division. 

 
FEDERAL CONTRACTS 

In addition to the above, youth under 16 may not be employed in the manufac- 

ture or furnishing of any article included  in the U.S. Government  contract  in excess of 

$10,000 (Federal Public Contracts Act). 
 

SAFETY AND  HEALTH 
Labor law provisions for the protection of the lives, safety, and health of employ- 

ees apply to places not covered by a federal occupational safety and health standard 

(OSHA). Regulations implementing provisions in the Labor Law are covered  in the 

New York State Industrial Code Rules. 
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Federal Prohibited Occupations 

 
UNDER 16 YEARS OF AGE 

In addition, Federal regulations issued under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act 

prohibit employment of minors under 16 in the following occupations in firms cov- 

ered  under  the Fair Labor Standards  Act: 

 
• operating or tending hoisting apparatus or power-driven  machinery other 

than office machines. 

 
• public messenger service. 

 
• occupations in connection with transportation of persons or property, 

warehousing and storage, communications and public utilities, and 

construction, except office and sales work not involving duties on a means 

of transportation or at a construction  site. 

 
• any form of mining. 

 
• processing food such as filleting  fish,dressing poultry,  or cracking nuts. 

 
• that require performance of any duties in work areas or work places where 

goods are manufactured, mined, or otherwise processed. 

 
• any manufacturing  occupation 

 
• any prohibited occupation for minors under 18 years of age 

 
• the use of power-driven mowers or cutters used in the maintenance of 

grounds 

 
• in the following occupations in a retail, food service, or gasoline  service 

establishment covered by the federal wage and hour laws: 

-  work in boiler or engine rooms. 

-  outside window washing involving work from window sills, 

ladders, or scaffolds. 

-  cooking, except at soda fountains and lunch bars. 

-  baking. 

-  work with power-driven food slicers and grinders, food 

choppers and cutters, and bakery-type mixers. 
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PERMITTED WORKING  HOURS FOR MINORS  UNDER 18 YEARS OF AGE 
The following chart is a summary of the permitted working hours provisions of the 

New York State Labor Law relating to minors under 18 years of age: 

 
AGE OF MINOR 

 
INDUSTRY OR OCCUPATION 

  
MAXIMUM 

MAXIMUM 
WEEKLY 

MAXIMUM 
DAYS 

 
PERMITTED 

(GIRLS AND BOYS)   DAILY HOURS HOURS PER WEEK HOURS 

MINORS ATTENDING SCHOOL All occupations except farm work,  3 hours on school days    
When school is in session 

14 and 15 
newspaper carrier and street trades.  8 hours on other days 181

 6 7 AM to 7 PM 

 
16 and 17 

 

 
 
 
 

When school is not in 

session (Vacation) 

14 and 15 

 

AlI occupations except farm work, 

newspaper carrier and street trades. 
 
 
 
 
All occupations except farm work, 

newspaper carrier and street trades. 

4 hours on days preceding 

school days (i.e., Mon., 

Tues., Weds., Thurs.)2
 

8 hours on Fri., Sat., Sun. 

and Holidays.4
 

 
 
8 hours 

 

 
284 64

 

 
 
 
 
40 6 

 

 
6 AM to 10 PM3

 

 
 
 
7 AM to 9 PM 

June 21 to Labor Day 

 
16 and 17 AlI occupations except farm work, 

newspaper carrier and street trades. 

 

8 hours4 484 64 6 AM to Midnight4
 

 

MINORS NOT IN SCHOOL 

16 and 17 
AlI occupations except farm work, 

newspaper carrier and street trades. 
8 hours4

 484 64
 6 AM to Midnight4

 

 
FARM  WORK 
12 and 13 

 
 
 

14 and 15 

 
NEWSPAPER CARRIERS 

11 to 18 
 

 
STREET TRADES 

14 to 18 

Hand harvest of berries, fruits 

and vegetables. 

 
 
 
Any farm work not prohibited by regulation 
 
Delivers, or sells and delivers news- 

papers, shopping papers or periodi- 

cals to homes or business places. 

 
Self-employed work in public places sell- 

ing newspapers or work as a shoeshiner. 

4 hours 
 
 
 
 
 

 
4 hours on school days 

5 hours on other days 
 
 
4 hours on school days 

5 hours on other days 

7 AM to 7 PM 

June 21 to Labor Day 

9AM to 4PM day after 

Labor Day to June 20 
 
 
 
5 AM to 7 PM or 30 

minutes prior to Sun- 

set, whichever is later. 

 
6 AM to 7 PM 

 
1Students 14 and 15 enrolled in an approved work-study program may work 3 hours on a school day; 
23 hours in any one week when school is in session. 
2Students 16 and 17 enrolled in an approved Cooperative Education Program may work up to 6 hours 
on a day preceding  a school day other than a Sunday or Holiday when school is in session  as long as 
the hours are in conjunction with the program. 

36 AM to 10 PM or until midnight with written parental and educational authorities’ consent on a day 

preceding a school day and until midnight on day preceding a non-school  day with written parental 

consent. 
4This provision  does not apply to minors employed in resort hotels or restaurants in resort  areas. 
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