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Harriman State Office Campus
Building 12, Room 185B
Albany, NY 12240

www.labor.ny.gov

Application for a Certificate of Eligibility to Employ Child Performers

A. Submission Instructions

A Certificate of Higibility to Employ Child Performers must be obtained prior to employing any child performer. Certificates are
renew able every three (3) years. To obtain or renew a certificate:

e Complete Parts B, C, D and E of this application.
e Attach proof of New York State Workers’ Compensation and Disability Insurance.

o If you currently have employees in New York, you must provide proof of coverage for those New York State w orkers by
attaching copies of Form C-105.2 and DB-120.1, obtainable from your insurance carrier.

o [f you are currently exempt from this requirement, complete Form CE-200 attesting that you are not required to obtain
New York State Workers’” Compensation and Disability Insurance Coverage. Information on and copies of this formare
available fromany district office of the Workers’ Compensation Board or from their w ebsite at www .wcb.ny.gov, Click on
“WC/DB Exemptions,” then click on “Request for WC/DB Exemptions.”

e Attach a check forthe correctamount from Section D, made payable to the Commissioner of Labor.
Sign and mail this completed application and all required documents to the address listed above.

If you have any questions, call (518) 457-1942, email CPinfo@Ilabor.ny.goV or visit the Department’s w ebsite at w ww.labor.ny.gov

B. Type of Request (check one)

O New [ Renewal Current certificate number
Are you seeking this certificate to employ child models? O Yes [ No
C. Employer and Employment Information

1. Employer name

2. Type of business organization (check one) (] Corporation O Sole Proprietorship O Partnership
O Limited Liability Company O Limited Liability Partnership

3. Corporate Officers, if any (list additional names and titles on back)

Name Title

4. Employer FEN

5. Business address City
State/Province/Region Postal zip code Country Phone
Fax Email

6. Mailing address (if different) City
State/Province/Region Postal zip code Country Phone

7. Location(s) of employment of Child Performers

8. Type of employment (e.g. movie, play, commercial, etc.)
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D. Fees (check one)

[0 Theater Capacity (1 to 499 Seats) O All Others
O Initial Registration Fee-$200 [ Initial Registration Fee-$350
O Renewal Fee -$200 O Renew al Fee-$200

E. Declaration and Acknowledgement

Have you been found to be in violation of any sections of Part 186, of federal or state labor law s, or of other state or federal law s
governing the employment of child performers? No [0 Yes [0 I yes, describe the violations and their dispositions. Use back of
form if necessary.

Date of Violation Nature of the Violation

The employer has read and agrees to abide by all laws, rules and regulations covering the employment of child performers including
the responsibilities listed in Part F, and understands that the failure to do so may result in the suspension or revocation of the certificate
or in the denial of its renew al.

I, the undersigned, am authorized to submit this application on behalf of the employer named in this application. By filing this
application, | authorize the Unemployment Insurance Division to release the records of the employer to the Division of Labor Standards
and affirmthat the information in this application and all attachments is complete and accurate to the best of my know ledge.

Authorized Representative Signature Date

Authorized Representative Name (Please Print) Title
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F. Employer Responsibilities (keep this part for your information)

Among the responsibilities of employers of child performers are:
1) Trust Account (for paid employment only)

New York State law requires that a child performer’s employer transfer fifteen percent (15%) of a child performer’s gross earnings for
placement into a trust for the child performer established by the child performer’s parent/guardian. In order to do this the employer
must:
e Obtain from the child performer’s parent/guardian or custodian the information required to make the transfers into the account for
each child performer employed.
e Transfer the appropriate amounts for placement into the trust account.
o  When the employment contract is for 30 days or less, transfer 15% of gross earnings w ithin thirty (30) days follow ing the
final day of the child performer’s employment.
o  When the employment contract is for longer than 30 days, transfer 15% of gross earnings at the end of each payroll
period.
o By request of the parent/guardian or custodian, the amount transferred can be increased to more than 15%.
o [f the parent/guardian or custodian has not provided the necessary information w ithin 15 days of the start of employment,
or no such account has been established, transfer the money together withthe child performer’'s name, last know n
permanent address, date of birth, social security number, name and address of the child’s parent (s) or guardian(s) and
their home and business phone numbers; and such other identifying information as the Comptroller may require, to the
State Comptroller for placement into the child performer’s holding fund. The State Comptroller may be contacted at (518)
486-1240.
e Provide parent/guardian witha writtenrecord of deductions from w ages and notification of transferred funds within 5 days of
transfer w hichmay be included on the pay stub.

2) Educational Requirements

New York State law requires that all child performers maintain satisfactory academic performance as determined by their school of
enrollment. Employers must familiarize itself with the requirements of Part 186-5.1 for example, provision of teachers, space, and
record keeping.

3) Certificates, Permits, Notices

New York State law requires that all employers of child performers have a valid Certificate of Higibility to Employ Child Performers
issued by the Department. All child performers employed must have a valid Child Performer Permit from the Department. Therefore, the
employer must:

e Renew its Certificate of Higibility no later than 30 days prior to expiration.

e Obtain a copy of avalid Child Performer Permit, or valid Temporary Child Performer permit, for each performer employed. A Child
Performer Permit is only valid for paid employment if the parent/guardian has attached documentation of the performer’s trust
account and information necessary to make transfers to the account.

e  Obtain Child Performer’s Emergency Contact Information/Authorization to Provide Emergency Medical Treatment for each child
performer employed. Form LS-563 may be used for this purpose.

e Submit a Notice of Use of Child Performers at least 2 business days prior to the beginning of use of child performers. Use form LS-
556 for this purpose.

e Keep copies of the Certificate of Higibility, Child Performer Permit(s) on file, and make them available forinspection at the location
of employment.

4) Other Employer Responsibilities

a) Responsible Person
e Atleast one responsible person should be designated to supervise and safeguard the performers throughout their
employment. A parent/guardian, an adult (over 18), may be the designated responsible person.
e [f the parent/guardian is not present, the employer must designate a responsible person and either, notify the
parent/guardian of the designee, or agree w ith parent/guardian on the designee.
e Aresponsible person must be designated according to Part 186-2.1(t) of the regulations.
For Infants Only
e Provide one on-set RN and one responsible person for each three or few er infants betw een fifteen days and six w eeks of
age. Provide one on-set RN and one responsible person for each ten or few er infants betw een six w eeks and six months
of age.
e Such RNs must have significant experience in pediatric practice.
b) Provide Safety and Health training to child performers and responsible persons as required by Section 186-6.5 of the
regulations.
c) Maintain appropriate New York State Workers’ Compensation/Disability Insurance and Unemployment Insurance Coverage.
d) Observe Safety, Health, Wage, and Hours laws.
e) Maintain records according to Section 186-7.2.
f) Provide meal and rest breaks according to Section 186-6.3 and 186-6.4.
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Verification of Workers’ Compensation/Disability Insurance Coverage

This form is to be completed by Payroll Senices for applicants that apply for Certificates of Eligibility to Employ Child
Performers. Submit this form with the application and forms C-105.2 and DB-120.1 from the insurance carriers.

The employees of (enter name and address of applicant)

are covered under the [ Workers’ Compensation Policy [ Disability Insurance Policy of

(enter name and address of the Payroll Senice whose policies cover the employees of the applicant listed abowe)

I, the undersigned, affirm that | am authorized to submit this verification on behalf of the applicant and
Payroll Senice shown above and that a written contractual agreement exists between the applicant and
Payroll Service to provide Workers’ Compensation and Disability Insurance to employed performers.

| certify under penalty of perjury that the information in this verification and all attachments is complete
and accurate to the best of my knowledge.

Authorized Representative Signature Date

Authorized Representative Name (Please Print) Title
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