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Information About Filing a Claim

Read this carefully to learn if you should file a claim with Labor Standards. Complete the LS 223 to
claim unpaid wages, illegal deductions, wage supplements, minimum wage, overtime, no meal period,
etc.

Return your completed formto the address above.

The LS 223 is available in languages other than English. Any person working in New York State may
send a complaint to the New York State Department of Labor. If the information provided here doesn’t
answer your question, call (888) 469-7365.

Labor Standards accepts many types of claims and complaints related to wages owed and other
employmentissues. For example, you may:
e Claimunpaid wagesif:
- Your employer did not pay you for all hours worked (including on the job training)
- Your paycheck bounced due to “not sufficient funds” (NSF)
- You did not receive all your tips
- Your rate of pay was lowered without prior notice
e Claimillegal deductionsif your employer:
- Deducted wages from your pay
- Charged you for damages
- Overchargedyou for your portion of the Paid Family Leave contribution

e Claimunpaid wage supplements if your employer promised you (verbally or in writing), but did
not provide earned:

- Vacation pay
- Holiday pay
- Bonuses

If the employer never promised to pay wage supplements, they are not required by lawto pay
them.

e Claim-minimum wage/overtime pay if your employer:

- Paid you less than the current minimum wage, the fast food minimum wage, or the tipped
worker minimum wage

- Did not pay an overtime rate for hours worked over 40 in one week (Most employees must
be paid time and % their rate of pay for more than 40 hours worked, but there are some
exceptions)

e Claim minimum wage extras if:
- Your employer owes you extra pay for cleaning your own uniform
- You are owed call-in pay

- You are owed additional pay because your workday spans more than 10 hours from start to
finish
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e Make anon-wage complaint if your employer failed to provide the required meal period, day of
rest, pay stub, notice of pay, timely payment of wages, or took a negative action against you for
making a complaint related to the Labor Law

e Send informationto support your claim (if available), such as copies of a benefit policy, pay
stubs, cancelled checks, checks not honored, time records, etc. (Do not send original
documents.)

You must complete Parts 1 through 3 and 8 through 10. Also complete:

e Unpaid Wages and/or lllegal Deductions claim, Part 4

e Wage Supplement claim, Part 5

e Minimum Wage or Overtime claim, Part 6

e Non-wage complaint, Part 7

After you file a claim, expect a letter from us within 25-30 business days listing your case number and
other important information. Keep the letter that has your case number on it. Tell us right away if the
employer pays you what you are owed, or if you change your address or phone number.

Labor Standards cannot accept every claim. Labor Standards will notaccept claims if you:

e Worked outside of New York State

e Have filed an action to recover your wages in small claims or civil court

e Are claiming commissions from sales.

e Were in business for yourself, or were truly an independent contractor

e Are owed wages from a government agency, town, county, or city

o Are owed wages from more than three years since the date you earned the wages or
supplements due to you

e Are making a claim for wages or benefits that are subject to a Union’s grievance and arbitration
procedure

e Have an employer benefit policy that excludes you from collecting accrued benefits for a specific
reason (e.g., quit without notice)

e Are owed awage supplement, but 30 days have not passed since it became due

e Worked as an executive, administrative, or professional employee and earned over $900 per
week

e Performed public work (use the PW4 to make a complaint)

Labor Standards does notinvestigate claims of discrimination, failure to provide family leave
benefits, work-related safety concerns, or disability claims. Please call (888) 469-7365 for further
information on other state agencies that may be able to assistyou.
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