
FACT SHEET

Labor Rights and Protections
for Domestic Workers in New York
Information for Domestic Workers
Domestic workers and their employers have rights 
and responsibilities under the Labor Law, including 
the Domestic Workers’ Bill of Rights, which took 
effect on November 29, 2010. For more details, go 
to www.labor.ny.gov.

Who is a Domestic Worker?
A “domestic worker” is someone who works in 
another person’s home. Their jobs include:

•	 Caring for children or a sick or elderly person

•	 Housekeeping chores

•	 Other domestic duties performed in the 
employers’ homes

This law does not cover domestic workers:

•	 �Who work on a casual basis, such as 
part-time baby-sitters in the home of their 
employers

•	 �Who are relatives of their employers or of the 
person(s) for whom they offer care 

Domestic Workers Should Know
Under New York State labor law, including the 
Domestic Workers’ Bill of Rights, you:

•	 Must be paid at least the minimum wage 

•	 Must receive overtime pay at 1 1/2 times your 
basic rate of pay after 40 hours of work in a 
calendar week (If you live in your employer’s 
home, you must be paid overtime after 44 
hours of work in a week.)

•	 Must be given one day (24 hours) of rest per 
week – or, if you agree to work on that day, 
you must be paid at an overtime rate

•	 Are entitled to at least three paid days off 
after one year of work for the same employer 

If you work at least 40 hours per week, you are 
also covered by:

•	 Workers’ Compensation Insurance if you are 
hurt on the job, and

•	 Disability Benefits Insurance if you are injured 
or become ill outside of work and miss more 
than seven days of work as a result.  

•	 If you are employed by an agency to 
provide “companionship services,” such as 
caring for an elderly person, the rules about 
overtime and a required day of rest do not 
apply to you. 

•	 If you complain to your employer or the 
Labor Department about a violation of 
these labor laws, your employer cannot 
retaliate against you. To file a complaint 
with the Labor Department, call 1-888-
469-7365 or go to www.labor.ny.gov/
workerprotection/laborstandards/workprot/
lsdists.shtm for a list of Labor Department 
district offices.

•	 The Domestic Workers’ Bill of Rights pro-
tects you from certain forms of harassment 
by your employer. Your employer cannot 
subject you to unwelcome sexual advances 
or other verbal or physical actions of a 
sexual nature. They cannot harass you 
based on gender, race, religion or national 
origin and they cannot retaliate if you file a 
complaint. You can file an official complaint 
in court or with the New York State Division 
of Human Rights. You can get information 
at www.dhr.ny.gov or by phone at 1-888-
392-3644 (toll-free).

•	 To learn about low-cost health insurance for 
you and your family, visit the New York State 
Department of Health web site at www.
nyhealth.gov. Look for the “Health Insurance 
Programs” button on the “Site Contents” 
area at the right of the home page.
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Labor Rights and Protections
for Domestic Workers in New York
Information for Employers of  
Domestic Workers
If you employ a domestic worker or workers, 
you must:

•	 Provide the minimum benefits listed on the 
reverse

•	 Pay your worker(s) weekly

•	 Not deduct money from your worker’s pay 
without written permission 

�(Deductions must be authorized by law and 
for the worker’s benefit. You may not make 
deductions from your worker’s wages for 
breakage or other such reasons. You must 
give your worker a written notice that lists 
all deductions.)

•	 �Keep detailed payroll and time records of 
the hours your employee(s) work, wages 
paid and any deductions made from wages

•	 Give your employee a written notice about 
your policies on sick leave, vacation, 
personal leave, holidays and hours of work 

•	 Give your employee a written notice that 
includes their regular and overtime rates of 
pay and their regular payday 

(You can find this form at: www.labor.
ny.gov/formsdocs/wp/ellsformsand 
publications.shtm.)

•	 �Not retaliate against a worker(s) for com-
plaining to you or to the Labor Department 
about alleged labor law violations 

•	 �File for and pay Unemployment Insurance 
contributions on behalf of your worker(s)	

�(For more information, see the NYS 
Department of Labor Publication IA 318.D, 
Householder’s Guide for Unemployment 
Insurance. This publication is available at  
www.labor.ny.gov/formsdocs/ui/IA318D.pdf.)

•	 �Provide Workers’ Compensation Insurance 
coverage and Disability Benefit Insurance 
coverage for any employee(s) who work(s) 
at least 40 hours per week 

(You may obtain this insurance through the 
New York State Insurance Fund (NYSIF) 
or another company that sells these types 
of insurance in New York. NYSIF is a full-
service insurance carrier that sells low-cost 
Workers’ Compensation and Disability 
Benefit Insurance to any employer doing 
business in New York State. To find out 
more, visit www.nysif.com.)

There are federal and state tax obligations for 
both employers and workers. For information 
about your tax responsibilities, see the New York 
State Department of Taxation and Finance Tax 
Bulletin MU-350, available at www.tax.ny.gov.

Note to immigrant domestic workers and 
their employers: 

Labor and tax laws, including the Domestic 
Workers’ Bill of Rights, apply to all workers, 
regardless of their immigration status.
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