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In 2007, New York State enacted a set of reforms, with the cooperation of labor and business, 
to improve critical aspects of the workers’ compensation system. Initially, the 2007 reforms 
increased the maximum weekly benefit rate from $400 to $500 per week to begin addressing 
concerns over inadequate maximum benefits due to years of inflation. Each year thereafter, 
the maximum benefit rate was to be reevaluated and adjusted based on New York State’s 
average weekly wage. Today, the maximum benefit level has reached $864 per week.   

 

The 2007 reforms also changed the method for determining an injured worker’s weekly wage 
replacement benefit (benefit). Prior to the reforms, injured workers with permanent partial 
disabilities could be paid a prorated benefit over their lifetime. The reforms set a cap on the 
number of weeks of benefits that these injured workers are eligible to be paid. Therefore, 
depending on the level of disability, their benefits are now capped at a maximum of ten years.  
Only those workers deemed 100% disabled are automatically granted lifetime benefits.    

 
Pursuant to Section 35 of the Workers’ Compensation Law, the Department of Labor 
(Department) is required to issue a report that examines injured workers who have been 
classified with a Permanent Partial Disability (PPD)1 Non Scheduled Loss (NSL)2 since the 
2007 workers’ compensation reforms. The report shows how many of these injured workers: 
returned to gainful employment; had their claim re-categorized as Totally Industrially Disabled 
(TID)3; remain subject to statutory duration limitations on PPD benefits (benefit cap); or remain 
out of work despite the expiration of their indemnity benefits. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
1 Permanent Partial Disability (PPD) is when part of the employee's wage-earning capacity has been permanently 
lost. There are two types of PPD benefits, depending on the body part affected and the nature of the permanent 
disability: schedule loss of use (SLU) and non-schedule loss (NSL). The severity of the disability is measured when 
the employee has reached maximum medical improvement (MMI). 

 
2 Non-Schedule Loss (NSL) is a permanent disability involving a part of the body or condition that is not covered by 
an SLU award (e.g. spine, pelvis, lungs, heart, brain, etc.). Non-schedule benefits are based on the employee's 
permanent loss of earning capacity. If the work-related accident or date of disablement occurred before March 13, 
2007, benefits are payable as long as the partial disability exists and results in wage loss. If the work-related 
accident or date of disablement occurred on or after March 13, 2007, benefits are payable for a maximum number 
of weeks as determined by the injured worker's loss of wage-earning capacity. 
 

3 Totally Industrially Disabled (TID) is when an injured worker is classified with a permanent disability and is 
adjudged to be totally unemployable. 
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As of October 4, 2016, there are 22,416 Permanent Partial Disability (PPD) injuries that 
occurred since the 2007 reforms that could be subject to the statutory benefit caps. Of 
those, 5,089 injured workers’ cases are not subject to the benefit caps due to resolution 
through alternate paths, such as lump sum settlements pursuant to Workers’ Compensation 
Law Section 32. 

 
Of the remaining 17,327 injured workers subject to the benefit caps, less than three percent 
have exhausted, or are about to exhaust, their weekly benefits. Specifically, 163 injured 
workers, or 0.9%,4 have exhausted their benefits and 327, or 1.9%, are within a year of 
exhausting their benefits (see Appendix II). 

 

I. Returned to gainful employment 
As part of the 2007 reforms, it was expected that injured workers subject to a PPD cap would 
eventually return to work. Overall, the statistics seem to indicate that very few injured workers 
that were classified with a permanent partial disability have had their benefits cut off. Of the 163 
workers who have exhausted their benefits, approximately 30 have returned to gainful 
employment. (See Appendix I.) 

 

II. Re-categorized as Totally Industrially Disabled (TID) 5 

Section 35(3) of the Workers’ Compensation Law allows an injured worker whose loss of wage-
earning capacity has been set at greater than 80% to apply to the Workers’ Compensation 
Board (Board) for a determination of permanent total disability or a total industrial disability due 
to extreme hardship. Workers can apply within one year of when their lost wage benefits will 
end. 

 
None of the 163 injured workers who have exhausted their benefits, nor the 327 injured 
workers who are within one year of exhausting their benefits, are eligible for this extreme 
hardship redetermination as shown in Appendix II, Table 3. 
 
Additionally, of the remaining 16,837 injured workers, less than 11% (1,788) may be eligible 
for a redetermination in the future. (See Appendix II, Table 4.) 

 
III. Remain subject to Statutory Benefit Caps 
The 2007 reforms set benefit caps on PPD cases where the injured worker was greater than 
80% disabled. The maximum benefit period is ten years, or 520 weeks, from the date of 
classification. Up to 16,837, or approximately 97%, of the injured workers still have more than 
50 weeks of statutory benefits available to them. (See Appendix II.) 

 
4 According to the Workers’ Compensation Board’s Claims Information System, these injured workers 

were classified as PPD, have received continuing payments from the carrier, and appear to have 

exhausted their total PPD benefit weeks. 

 
5 As shown in Table 1 in Appendix I, only 14 injured workers (less than 0.1% of all PPD injured 

workers through October 4, 2016) have been re-categorized as TID. Return-to-work outcomes for 

these injured workers were included in Table 1 for the first four quarters after the accident quarter. As 

shown in Table 1, TID injured workers were one of the least likely of any of the PPD injured worker 

categories to be working in the quarters after the accident. Since there were fewer than ten TID 

injured workers who had been classified as of July 1, 2015, these injured workers were not reflected in 

Table 2 due to confidentiality. 
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IV. Remain out of work despite the expiration of their indemnity benefits 
Records indicate that of the 163 injured workers whose benefits were subject to the statutory 
benefit cap, 133 did not receive wages in New York State in the second quarter of 2016. This 
does not necessarily indicate that they were not working since we are simply matching the 
injured worker against the wage data. The wage data does not take into consideration injured 
workers who have moved out of state, are self-employed, have independent contractor status 
or qualify for Social Security Disability benefits, or other situations where their income is not 
reported as “wages.” 

 
 
Finally, the law also requires the Commissioner of Labor to report additional steps the 
Commissioner thinks are necessary to reduce the number of workers who have neither 
returned to work nor been re-categorized from permanent partial disability. 

 

The Department has been working with the Board to make information about return-to-work 
and career services more accessible to both injured workers and employers. Links to the 
Department’s career services have been posted on the Board’s website, as well as links to 
vocational rehabilitation resources and other career centers. 

 
The Board is also reaching out to injured workers who have either exhausted their benefits or 
are coming up on their benefit cap to provide information and assistance in returning to the 
workforce, including referral to the Department’s Career Centers for job search assistance and 
services.  
 
There are 96 of these Career Centers throughout the state. They offer injured workers 
receiving workers’ compensation benefits the same services offered to all customers, including 
job search assistance, job referrals, job search and resume development workshops, referrals 
to training programs, and other specialized services to work with any disability or limitation the 
injured worker chooses to disclose. No customer is required to report a disability or that they 
are receiving workers’ compensation. 
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Appendix I 
 

Returned to gainful employment 
 
Methodology: Return-to-Work Rates of PPD Injured Workers 

 

To estimate return-to-work rates, this report matches post-reform PPD NSL injured worker 
data provided by the Board with employer-reported Unemployment Insurance wage data from 
the Department of Taxation and Finance (DTF) through June 30, 2016. This match was done 
for four quarters after the date of accident and for four quarters after the date of PPD 
classification. Data subjected to the match includes PPD claims with accidents prior to July 1, 
2015, (Table 1) and PPD claims with classifications prior to July 1, 2015, (Table 2) so that a full 
four quarters of matching results could be reported for each table. 

 
 Count of PPD claims - 

accidents 
Count of PPD claims - 

classifications 

Prior to July 1, 2015 20,795 14,385 

New: July 1, 2015 to October 
4, 2016 

21 6,188 

Unable to match with wage records 1,600 1,025 

Moved out of New York State - 818 

Total as of October 4, 2016 22,416 22,416 

 

Workers’ compensation records were matched by social security number against the DTF 
wage data. Injured workers were included in the match if they received any payments defined 
as wages from any employer doing business in New York State; those with payments defined 
as pension were excluded. Note that the DTF wage data does not include information (and 
possible matches) for injured workers who may be self-employed or who have moved out of 
New York State. The population of injured workers who moved out of state (based on the 
Board’s case records) was removed from Table 2 below. 

 

The above PPD claims counts were grouped into seven categories: 
 

 Subject to the statutory benefit cap: 

o Injured worker may have returned to work, no continuing payments 
o Injured worker is receiving continuing payments 
o Injured worker reached statutory duration cap 

 Not subject to the statutory benefit cap (but included for comparative purposes): 

o Injured worker subsequently deceased 
o Injured worker exchanged PPD benefits for binding Section 32 Agreement 
o Injured worker was subsequently classified as TID 

o Injured worker was subsequently classified as PTD 
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Results: 
 

Table 1 shows that 20,795 PPD injured workers (with accident dates prior to July 1, 2015) had 
wages in the accident quarter. As expected, injured workers who are not subject to the 
statutory benefit cap were less likely to be working in the four quarters following their accident 
than those injured workers who have lower degrees of disability/loss of wage-earning capacity 
and are subject to the benefit cap. Please note that while Table 1 shows a relatively high 
percentage of PPD injured workers with wages in the first and second quarters after injury, 
these wages may not indicate that the injured worker actually returned to work. The 
Department cannot specify if the reported wages are for work performed, sick pay, or vacation 
pay. 

Table 1. PPD Injured Workers with Wages in the Accident Quarter and Percent Working in the 
Following 4 Quarters by PPD Outcome Accident Dates March 13, 2007 – June 30, 2015 

 

 
 

PPD Outcome 

Injured Workers with 
Wage Records in 
Accident Quarter 

Percent Working in Quarters Following 
Accident Quarter 

Number Percent of 
Total* 

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 

Subject to Benefit Cap       

Return to work / No CCP1 2,237 10.8% 81.1% 72.0% 69.3% 68.6% 

Still have CCP / Remain 
Subject to the Cap 

13,722 66.0% 67.8% 51.2% 43.4% 39.0% 

Reached Cap 151 0.7% 76.2% 55.0% 51.0% 40.4% 

Weighted Average - Cap   69.7% 54.1% 47.1% 43.1% 

Not Subject to Benefit Cap       

Injured Worker Deceased 150 0.7% 68.7% 46.7% 42.7% 34.0% 

Section 32 Agreement 4,505 21.7% 59.8% 43.5% 36.0% 31.1% 

TID Classification 14 0.1% 71.4% 35.7% 35.7% 35.7% 

PTD Classification 16 0.1% 75.0% 68.8% 50.0% 50.0% 

Weighted Average - No Cap   60.2% 43.7% 36.2% 31.3% 

Total 20,795 100.0%  

* Detail does not add up to 100.0% due to rounding. 
Note: Accident date must have occurred prior to July 1, 2015 for inclusion in Table 1. 

 

Table 2 shows that PPD injured workers in all outcome categories were much less likely to be 
working in the quarters following their classification date, compared with the quarters following 
their accident date. 

                                                
1 CCP means the carrier is to continue payment. 
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Table 2. PPD Injured Workers Residing in New York State or Contiguous States with Wages in 
the Accident Quarter and Percent Working in the 4 Quarters Following Classification by PPD 

Outcome* (Accident Dates March 13, 2007 – June 30, 2015) 
 

 
 

PPD Outcome 

Injured workers with 
Wage Records in 
Accident Quarter 

Percent Working in Quarters 
Following Classification Quarter 

Number Percent of 
Total** 

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 

Subject to Benefit Cap       

Return to work? / No CCP 1,398 9.7% 60.9% 61.4% 60.9% 60.5% 

Still have CCP / Remain Subject 
to the Cap 

8,822 61.3% 10.7% 10.0% 9.8% 9.6% 

Reached Cap? 143 1.0% 21.7% 21.7% 18.9% 19.6% 

Weighted Average - Cap   17.6% 17.1% 16.8% 16.6% 

Not Subject to Benefit Cap       

Injured Worker Deceased 135 0.9% 5.9% 3.7% 3.0% 2.2% 

Section 32 Agreement 3,876 26.9% 15.1% 15.3% 16.1% 17.7% 

PTD Classification 11 0.1% 9.1% 9.1% 9.1% 9.1% 

Weighted Average - No Cap   14.8% 14.9% 15.6% 17.2% 

Total 14,385 100.0%  

* Injured workers with TID classification are not included on this table since wage data cannot be 
reported for fewer than ten injured workers due to confidentiality restrictions. 
** Detail does not add up to 100.0% due to rounding. 
Note: Classification Date must have occurred prior to July 1, 2015, for inclusion in Table 2. 
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Appendix II 
 

An analysis of the Board’s claims data was conducted to estimate the number of weeks 
remaining for post-reform PPD claims that are subject to the statutory benefit cap. Of the 
17,327 claims (as of October 4, 2016) that have been subject to the benefit cap, 163 claims, 
or 0.9%, have exhausted their benefits, 327 claims, or 1.9%, are within a year of exhausting 
their benefits, and the remaining 16,837 have more than 50 weeks of statutory benefits 
available. In fact, 77% of injured workers (13,328) have over 200 weeks (approximately 3.8 
years) of benefits remaining. See Table 3. 

 
Table 3. Estimated Benefits Weeks Remaining in Post-Reform PPD Claims 

 

Estimated Benefits 
Remaining 

Benefit 
Cap 
Expired 

Actively 
using 
PPD 

benefits 

Possibly 
Returned to 
Work / Used 
some PPD 
benefits 

Possibly 
Returned to 
Work / No 

PPD 
benefits 

Total Percent* 

0 Weeks 163 - - - 163 0.9% 

1 to 50 Weeks - 319 8 - 327 1.9% 

51 to 100 Weeks - 603 9 - 612 3.5% 

101 to 200 Weeks - 2,536 58 - 2,594 15.0% 

201 to 300 Weeks - 5,397 199 1,355 6,951 40.1% 

301 to 400 Weeks - 5,002 134 415 5,551 32.0% 

Greater than 400 Weeks - 708 11 107 826 4.8% 

Unknown - 219 - 84 303 1.7% 

Total 163 14,784 419 1,961 17,327 100.0% 

Source: As of October 4, 2016. NYS Workers’ Compensation Board Claims Information System. 

* Detail does not add up to 100.0% due to rounding. 

 
Of the 17,327 injured workers who are subject to the statutory duration cap, 1,788, or 10%, 
have a degree of disability that makes them eligible to apply for lifetime benefits through an 
extreme hardship redetermination6 (see Table 4). None of the 163 injured workers whose 
benefits have expired nor the 327 injured workers whose benefits will be exhausted in the 
coming year (as shown in Table 3, above) are eligible for such lifetime benefits. Records 
indicate that none of these injured workers had a loss of wage-earning capacity greater than 
80%. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

6Workers’ Compensation Law Section 35(3) states that if an injured worker has a loss of wage-earning capacity 
greater than 80%, the injured worker can request that the Board reclassify him or her, within one year of the 
exhaustion of indemnity benefits under Workers’ Compensation Law Section 15(3)(w), with either a total disability 
or a total industrial disability due to factors reflecting extreme hardship. 
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Table 4. Estimated Benefits Remaining in Post-Reform PPD Claims with Degree of 
Disability Greater Than 80% 

 
PPD Outcome Estimated Benefits 

Remaining 
Actively 

using 
PPD 

benefits 

Possibly 
Returned to 
Work / Used 
some PPD 
benefits 

Possibly 
Returned to 
Work / No 

PPD benefits 

Total 

Return to work? / 
No CCP 

301 to 400 Weeks - 4 - 4 

Greater than 400 - 7 63 70 

 
Still have CCP / 
Remain Subject 

101 to 200 Weeks 52 - - 52 

201 to 300 Weeks 270 - - 270 

301 to 400 Weeks 899 - - 899 

Greater than 400 493 - - 493 
Total 1,714 11 63 1,788 

 


