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Important Notice

You are required to read this handbook. It explains how Unemployment
Insurance works and tells you your rights and responsibilities. Many of the
questions you may have are answered in this handbook. If your question is
not answered here, please check our website at www.labor.ny.gov, especially
the Frequently Asked Questions.

This handbook is also available in the following languages:
. Albanian . ltalian
. Arabic . Korean
. Bengali . Polish
Chinese Russian
French Spanish
Haitian Creole

If you have a specific question and your language is not listed above, call
(888) 209-8124. Press nine and we will arrange for an interpreter.

About NY.gov ID:

In order to file a claim online, send us a secure message, sign up for direct deposit
and more, you must set up an NY.gov account at www.labor.ny.gov/signin. For
more information about NY.gov, please see page 3 of this handbook: “Setting up
your Personal Identification Number (PIN) and your NY.gov ID.”

PERSONAL PRIVACY PROTECTION LAW NOTICE

New York State law (Section 94(1) (d) of the New York Public Officers Law) requires us to tell you that we must collect
personal information from you in order for you to participate in the Unemployment Insurance program. If you do not
give us the information we ask for, we may have to deny you Unemployment Insurance benefits.

Under certain conditions and if authorized by law, the information we collect may be sent to your employer(s) and
various state and federal agencies to verify your employment and eligibility for benefits. This may include the use
of computer systems that match the information we obtain with that in other databases; for example, lists of people
recently hired that are maintained by the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance.

You have the right to review information about you which is maintained by the New York State Department of Labor,
unless you are exempted by law. We routinely verify alien registration numbers with United States Citizenship and
Immigration Services of the United States Department of Homeland Security in order to determine if a person is eligible
for Unemployment Insurance benefits. This is required by the Federal Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986.

Our authority to request personal information when you file a claim is found in Article 18 of the New York State Labor Law for Regular
State and Extended Unemployment Benefits, Chapter 85 of Title 5 of the United States Code for Federal Civilian and Military
Unemployment Compensation and Chapter 68 of Title 42 of the United States Code for Disaster Unemployment Assistance.




New York State Department of Labor

Contact Us

To claim weekly Unemployment Insurance benefits (certify for benefits) or check the
status of benefit payments:

* Online: Go to www.labor.ny.gov/signin.

* Telephone: Call (888) 581-5812, our Tel-Service automated phone system, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

* TTY/TDD users (hearing impaired): (877) 205-3119

* Video Relay Users: If you use a Video Relay System or another type of relay service, contact your
relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.

To apply for benefits (file a claim) or ask specific questions about your claim:

* Online: Go to www.labor.ny.gov/signin.

* Telephone: Call our Telephone Claims Center Monday through Friday, 8 a.m.to 5 p.m. at
(888) 209-8124. Interpreters are available for most languages; press nine.

e TTY/TDD users: Call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator to call (888) 783-1370.

* Video Relay Service users: If you use a Video Relay System or another type of relay service,
contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.

* Secure message: Sign in at www.labor.ny.gov/signin and click on the envelope icon at the upper
right of the My Online Services page.

To create or use an NY.gov ID:

* Go to www.labor.ny.gov/signin.
* Need help? Call (800) 833-3000 from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.
Press option 2 to speak to a representative at the Department of Labor Contact Center.

Debit card assistance — KeyBank Customer Service:

* Call (866) 295-2955

To obtain your 1099-G form:

* Online: Sign in to your account at www.labor.ny.gov/signin. On the My Online Services page, click on
“Unemployment Services” and then “Payment and Tax withholding Options and View/Print 1099G” button.
* Telephone: Call our Telephone Claims Center* and select the option to obtain your 1099-G form.

Unemployment Insurance Fraud Hotline

* Call (888) 598-2077

More Resources:

* Audio version of this handbook: http://labor.ny.gov/ui/claimantinfo/Claimant-Handbook-Audio.shtm

* Frequently Asked Questions about Unemployment Insurance: http://labor.ny.gov/ui/faq.shtm

e Short videos (15 seconds to 2 minutes) on how to apply for Unemployment Insurance:
www.labor.ny.gov

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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Top 15 Most Frequently Asked Questions about Unemployment Insurance

Q. When will | receive my first payment? | applied for Unemployment
Insurance benefits more than a week ago and haven’t heard anything. What
should | do?

A. It takes three to six weeks from the time you file your claim to when you
receive your first payment, because we have to review and process your
application for benefits. You will not receive benefits during this time period. If
you are found eligible, you will receive any back weeks of benefits owed with
your first payment.

During this time there are two things you should do:

e Complete and return any questionnaires and return any phone calls
you receive from the Department of Labor right away; and

¢ Continue to claim weekly benefits as long as you are unemployed and
meet the eligibility requirements. If you are found to be eligible for
benefits, any back weeks owed will be paid to you.

Q. Is “claiming weekly benefits” or “certifying for benefits” the same as
“filing for benefits” or “filing a claim?”

A. No. “Filing for benefits” or “filing a claim” means to apply for Unemployment
Insurance benefits: you are filing a claim for Unemployment Insurance, similar

to filing a claim with an insurance company. You provide us information about
yourself, your employer and how you came to lose your job and we decide if you
meet the requirements to receive Unemployment Insurance benefits. You can
apply for Unemployment Insurance either on our website at www.labor.ny.gov
or toll-free by phone at (888) 209-8124. Most people file online.

Please see question 3 (next) for a definition of “claim weekly benefits” or
“certify for benefits.”

Q. What does “claim weekly benefits” mean? Also, what does “certify for
benefits” mean?

A. Both “claim weekly benefits” and “certify for benefits” refer to the way you
tell the Department of Labor that you are still unemployed, ready and able to
work, looking for a job, and in need of Unemployment Insurance benefits. You
do this each week either online at www.labor.ny.gov/signin or by calling our
Tel-Service toll-free phone line at (888) 581-5812.

When you claim weekly benefits, you will be asked a series of questions. It is
important to answer truthfully, as you are certifying to the Department of Labor
that your answers are true and correct. That is why the process is also called
“certifying for benefits.”

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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Q. I received a notice to attend a meeting at my local New York State
Career Center, but | was not able to/did not go. Now my benefits have
stopped. How do | get my benefits started again?

A. The first thing you need to do is go to your local New York State Career
Center as soon as possible, in person. You do not need an appointment. Do
not call the Telephone Claims Center,* as they cannot help until after you have
visited the Career Center.

After you have visited your local Career Center, you will be contacted by the
Department of Labor either by secure message through your online account or
a questionnaire mailed to you. Please complete and return the questionnaire
right away so we can promptly review your claim.

This visit to the Career Center is intended to help you find a job more quickly.
For example, we may help you develop a written work search plan that
addresses your specific needs.

Q. | was receiving benefits, but they stopped. | haven’t missed any
meetings. What’s going on? Should I call the Telephone Claims Center?*

A. Most likely the Department of Labor received information that may affect your
eligibility for benefits. That information may have come from a former employer,
a questionnaire you returned, or you may have tried to certify for benefits from
outside the United States (please see question 8, below). When this happens, we
are required to investigate. Your benefits will be held while we do that.

This investigation can take several weeks. There is nothing you can do except
respond to any questionnaires, messages, or phone calls from us as quickly as
possible. The Telephone Claims Center* cannot authorize the payment of benefits
while an investigation is going on. When the investigation is complete, you will either
receive all benefits due or receive a Notice of Determination' from us in the mail.

If your benefits have been held for less than five weeks and you have heard
nothing, do not call the Telephone Claims Center.* The investigation is still
underway. However, if it has been five weeks or more and you have not heard
anything, you can send us a secure message from your online account. Sign
in at www.labor.ny.gov/signin and click on the envelope icon at the upper
right of your My Online Services page. You can also call the Telephone Claims
Center* if it has been five weeks or more.

Important: While the investigation continues, please continue to claim
weekly benefits as long as you are unemployed.

'For the purposes of the Unemployment Insurance program, a determination

is the formal name for a decision the Department of Labor makes concerning
your claim. It is important to read, understand and keep any notice you receive
from us that has “determination” in its title.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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Q. | tried to claim weekly benefits, but the online/phone system will not
allow me to certify. | get a message that | have to call a certain phone
number. What is going on?

A. The Department of Labor has received information that shows you might have
been working while you certified that you were not working. This information may
have come from an employer or a national database that we cross-check weekly
certifications against. Sometimes the database shows that you were working even
if you recently became unemployed. When this happens, the Department of Labor
must confirm that you are indeed unemployed.

To resolve this, you must call (855) 822-6536. This number is for the Department
of Labor’s New Hire Call Center -- not the Telephone Claims Center.* The
Telephone Claims Center* cannot help you with this issue; they will only ask you
to call the New Hire Call Center. Also, the New Hire Call Center cannot answer
questions about your Unemployment Insurance claim. They can only take
information that may result in the block on your certifications being lifted.

Q. I received a questionnaire from the Department of Labor that doesn’t
seem to pertain to my situation. | think | made a mistake when I certified for
benefits. What do | do?

A. Return the questionnaire anyway. Write on the top or end of the questionnaire
that you think a mistake was made and provide appropriate details. Then return it
by secure message: go to www.labor.ny.gov/signin and click on the envelope icon
located in the upper right of the My Online Services page. Or, fax or mail to the fax
number or address shown on the questionnaire. We will review and correct the
mistake if appropriate. If we need more information, we will contact you by phone
or secure message through your online account with us. You do not need to call the
Telephone Claims Center;* they will not be able to address this type of concern.

Q. | need to travel out of the country. How do | claim benefits?

A. If you will be traveling for vacation or personal reasons, you cannot claim and
receive benefits for the time you are gone. If you try to claim weekly benefits

from outside the United States, Canada, Puerto Rico or the Virgin Islands your
certification will be blocked and your benefits will be held. Important: Do not give
someone else your PIN and have them certify for benefits for you. This can lead
to severe penalties, including loss of benefits, criminal prosecution and prison.

Please contact us before you travel, even if you are traveling to look for work or for a job
interview. You can send us a secure message or call the Telephone Claims Center.* To
send a secure message, sign in to your account at www.labor.ny.gov/signin. Then, click
on the envelope icon at the upper right of the My Online Services page. Be sure to tell
us your travel dates and reason for traveling. By giving us this information before your
trip, your benefits may be held while you are away, but will resume when you return.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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New York State Department of Labor

Q: How do | check my payment history and/or payment status?

A. For a complete record of your Unemployment Insurance benefit payments,
sign in to your online account at www.labor.ny.gov/signin. On the My Online
Services page, click on “Unemployment Services,” then “View Payment History.”

You can also call our Tel-Service line at (888) 581-5812. Follow the prompts to
check your payment history and payment status.

Q: | misplaced the questionnaire/form/letter the Department of Labor sent me.
What should | do?

A. You can request another copy of the questionnaire/form/letter via secure
message through your online account at www.labor.ny.gov/signin. Sign in to
your account, then click on the envelope icon at the upper right of the My Online
Services page. Or, you can call the Telephone Claims Center.* Important: Please
request a replacement promptly. Many items have due dates. These due dates
are not adjusted, even if a replacement is issued.

Q. What if | have a question about my benefits and | can’t get through to
the Telephone Claims Center?*

A. First, check this claimant handbook. Many questions received by our Telephone
Claims Center* are answered in this booklet. You can also check the FAQs --
Frequently Asked Questions -- on our website at http://labor.ny.gov/ui/fag.shtm.

You can also send us a secure message. Sign into your online account at
www.labor.ny.gov/signin and click on the envelope icon at the upper right on
the My Online Services page.

If you must call the Telephone Claims Center,* please be patient and keep
trying. Monday and the day after a public holiday are the busiest days for
phone calls. Thursday and Friday are less busy.

Q. I received a decision (“determination”) in the mail from the Department
of Labor that | disagree with. What can | do?

A. If you disagree with any determination that denies you benefits or affects the
amount of benefits you can receive, you have the right to request a hearing. The
hearing will be held before an impartial Administrative Law Judge.

You can request a hearing through your online account at www.labor.ny.gov/signin.
Sign in to your account and click on the envelope icon at the upper right of the My
Online Services page. Then, from the drop-down choices:

e Select “Hearings and Appeals” as the first subject line. Then:
e Select “I want to request a hearing” as the second subject line.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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If you do not have an online account with us, please see Chapter 3 of this
claimant handbook: “Receiving your benefits: your PIN, NY.gov ID, direct
deposit and the debit card” for instructions on how to set one up.

You may also make your request in writing, sign it and mail it to:

New York State Department of Labor
PO Box 15131
Albany, NY 12212-5131

Important: Your online or mail request must be made or postmarked no later
than 30 days from the date of the determination notice that you disagree
with. If your request is after 30 days have passed, you must state why

your request is late. Include your full name, the last four digits of your Social
Security number, the mailing date of the determination, and the reason(s) you
disagree with our decision in your request.

For more information about the hearing and appeal process, please see
Chapter 10 of this claimant handbook: “Hearing and Appeal Process.” The
video “Preparing for your Ul Hearing” may also be helpful. To view it, go to
http://labor.ny.gov/ui-appeal/ and click on the link under the heading “Learn
About” on that page. Also, check our Frequently Asked Questions about
hearings at http://labor.ny.gov/ui/claimantinfo/HearingProcess.shtm.

Q. How do | change my benefit payment method?

A. Changes from debit card to direct deposit or direct deposit to debit card
can only be done online, for security reasons. Sign in to your online account
at www.labor.ny.gov/signin and click on “Unemployment Services” on the
My Online Services page. This brings you to the Unemployment Insurance
Benefits Online page. Click on the “Payment and Tax Withholding Options
and View/Print 1099G” button. Follow the directions to change to direct
deposit or cancel direct deposit and receive your benefits via debit card. If
you are changing to direct deposit, be sure you have a check handy, since
you will need important numbers from the check. Be sure to enter your
checking account information accurately and print a copy of the Direct Deposit
Information Review page for your records. Allow five business days for
changes to take effect.

For more information, please see Chapter 3 of this claimant handbook: “Receiving
your benefits: your PIN, NY.gov ID, direct deposit and the debit card.”

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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Q. How do | change my address or phone number with the Department of Labor?

A. The easiest way to update your address and/or telephone number

is online. Sign in to your online account at www.labor.ny.gov/signin and

click on “Unemployment Services.” This brings you to the Unemployment
Insurance Benefits Online page. Click the “Claim Weekly Benefits” button,
which brings you to the Benefit Payments page. Click the “Continue” button
at the bottom of that page, which will bring you to the Claim Weekly Benefits
page. Click the “Change Address/Telephone Number” button to change your
address and/or phone number.

You can also call the Telephone Claims Center* and select the menu option
for “PIN or Address Changes” to change your address or phone number.

Also, be sure to update your contact information with KeyBank Customer
Service at (866) 295-2955 (if you receive benefits via a debit card) or your
bank (if you use direct deposit).

Q. What should I do if my name changes?

A. You must send us a letter with legal documentation (such as a copy of a
marriage certificate, certified record of divorce, certified court order or a valid,
unexpired United States passport issued in your current name) that verifies the
name change and mail it to:

New York State Department of Labor
P.O. BOX 15130
Albany, NY 12212-5130

You can also send a name change request via secure message through your
online account. Sign in at www.labor.ny.gov/signin. On the My Online Services
page, click on the envelope icon at the upper right to send us a secure
message. Attach a pdf of your legal documentation to your request.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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About personal integrity and Unemployment Insurance

Integrity means
exactly that: doing
the right thing. As
a participant in the
Unemployment
Insurance system,
you are expected
to act ethically,
honestly and in
good faith.

Most people who apply for Unemployment Insurance benefits do the right
thing. They have become unemployed through no fault of their own, need
temporary help while they look for a new job, are actively seeking work and
are ready, willing and able to get back to work.

Integrity means exactly that: doing the right thing. As a participant in the
Unemployment Insurance system, you are expected to act ethically, honestly
and in good faith. Employers, state staff and the public are also expected to
act with integrity. When we all act with integrity, it helps ensure that money is
available to pay benefits to people who depend on Unemployment Insurance
while they are without work.

The Department of Labor's Unemployment Insurance Division is working with
claimants, employers, the public and other federal and state agencies to ensure
the integrity of the Unemployment Insurance system. We are working to detect

and eliminate improper payments (called “overpayments”) and prevent fraud by
using new technology, computer matching against various databases and changing
policies and procedures to stop those who choose to do the wrong thing.

If you made a mistake — for example, you received benefits that you should
not have — we can help. Please call our Telephone Claims Center* or send us
a secure message, even if you are not sure there is a problem. Talking to us
now will help preserve your rights to past, present and future benefits.

About Unemployment Insurance fraud

If you knowingly give false information or withhold information while applying for
benefits or claiming weekly benefits, you are committing fraud. If you commit fraud,
you will be charged a 15 percent cash penalty or $100 (whichever is greater) on
the overpayment of benefits. In addition, you will have to pay back the money and
forfeit future days of Unemployment Insurance benefits. Also, the Department of
Labor can obtain a judgment against you in order to collect fraudulently-obtained
overpayments. Once entered, a judgment is good and can be used against you for
twenty years, and your money, including a portion of your paycheck and/or bank
account, may be taken. Also a judgment may hurt your credit score and may affect
your ability to rent a home, find a job, or take out a loan.

If we determine that you are not eligible for benefits and you disagree, you
have a right to a hearing before an Administrative Law Judge at no cost to
you. If it is found at a hearing that you fraudulently collected payments, you will
be required to repay the money. You will also be charged a penalty and forfeit
future days of benefits. If you don’t repay the money, we can file a judgment
against you as described above.

Fraudulently applying for or claiming Unemployment Insurance benefits can also lead
to civil penalties and fines, criminal prosecution and even prison. For example, if you
are convicted of a misdemeanor, the penalties are a fine of up to $500, up to a year in
jail or both. A felony conviction carries an even longer prison sentence.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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The ten most common issues that will negatively affect your benefits

Here are the ten most common things claimants do that negatively affect
their benefits:

1. Claim benefits after returning to work. You must stop claiming benefits
the first day you start work at a new job, not when you receive your first
paycheck.

2. Work while collecting, even if you worked for less than an hour and even
if you were not paid. Note: Volunteer work is allowed. Please see page 21:
“What if | do volunteer work?” for more information.

3. Work “off the books” or “under the table” while claiming benefits.

4. Make a false statement to or withhold information from the Department of
Labor.

5. Try to apply for Unemployment Insurance or claim weekly benefits (also
called certifying for benefits) while out of the United States, Puerto Rico, the
Virgin Islands or Canada.

6. Give your PIN or NY.gov identification and password to someone else
so they can claim benefits for you. Do not give anyone — including family
members -- your PIN or NY.gov identification or password. This is considered
fraud. You may face civil or criminal penalties if you allow anyone else to use
your uniqgue NY.gov ID, passwords, or Unemployment Insurance debit card.
If you think your PIN, NY.gov ID, passwords or debit card may have been
compromised, contact the Telephone Claims Center* immediately.
The only exception is if you cannot enter your own PIN, you may have a
helper enter it for you. However, you must be with your helper when they
enter your password or PIN .

7. Don't attend required appointments at the local Career Center.

8. Falsely report that you looked for work, when you did not. Please see pages
23 — 28: “What are the work search requirements?” for specific information
about how you must look for work.

9. Falsely report that you are available for work when you cannot work,
whether due to illness, vacation, child care arrangements or any other
reason. You are not eligible for benefits on any day that you are not able or
available to accept work immediately.

10. Don’t tell us the real reason you left your job.

If you suspect that someone may be committing Unemployment Insurance
fraud, report it at (888) 598-2077. You can remain anonymous.

Under federal law, it is a felony to alter, buy, sell or counterfeit a Social Security
card. This offense can result in fine or imprisonment.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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Quick Start Guide to Unemployment Insurance

Now that you’ve filed a claim for Unemployment Insurance benefits, this
Quick Start Guide is a brief overview of important things you should know.
Important: Reading this Quick Start Guide is not a substitute for reading
the rest of this handbook. You are responsible for reading this handbook
and understanding the information in it.

CLAIMING WEEKLY BENEFITS
(ALSO REFERRED TO AS “CERTIFYING FOR BENEFITS”)

You must claim benefits each week that you are unemployed and looking for work, including
while you are waiting for your benefits to begin. The process of claiming weekly Unemployment
Insurance benefits is also called certifying for benefits. Most people do this on Sunday for the
week ending that day. A week, for the purposes of Unemployment Insurance, runs from Monday
through Sunday.

You will be asked a series of questions when you claim weekly benefits. To avoid committing
fraud, you must answer all of these questions truthfully.

Important: You cannot claim benefits when you are out of the country. If you do, your
certification will be blocked and your benefits will be held. If you try to bypass this block, you may
lose benefits and/or forfeit future benefits, and you may be subject to civil or criminal penalties.
Before you leave, please call the Telephone Claims Center at (888) 209-8124 or send us a

secure message to explain why you are traveling and tell us your travel dates. To send a secure
message, sign in to your online account at www.labor.ny.gov/signin. On the My Online Services
page, click on the envelope icon at the upper right.

Important: Do not give anyone your PIN or NY.gov identification or password and do not let
anyone claim benefits for you. This includes your spouse, partner, significant other and any family
members. This is considered fraud and you may be subject to severe penalties, including prison.

The only exception is if you cannot enter your own PIN or NY.gov credentials, you may have a
helper enter that information for you. However, you must be with your helper when they enter
your password or PIN.

You can claim weekly benefits:

* Online at www.labor.ny.gov/signin. Most people find this the most convenient way to claim
weekly benefits.

* By phone call (888) 581-5812 to use our Tel-Service system. TTY/TDD users call (877) 205-3119.
If you use a Video Relay System or another type of relay service, contact your relay operator
and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.




RECEIVING BENEFITS

The first full week of your Unemployment Insurance claim is an unpaid waiting week. You
cannot be paid any benefits for this waiting period by law. If you work at all during this week, or
do not serve a full waiting week for any other reason, the unpaid waiting period extends into
the next week(s). Important: You must still claim credit for your waiting week and fulfill all
other eligibility requirements for Unemployment Insurance.

It usually takes three to six weeks for your benefits to begin because we have to review
and process your application. However, it may take longer if issues arise. You will not receive
benefits during this review period. If we find that you are eligible for benefits, you will be paid
for any weeks you are owed when you receive your first payment. Important: Continue to
claim benefits each week you are out of work while we are processing your application.

You can receive benefits by direct deposit into your bank account or by debit card. We no
longer issue checks for Unemployment Insurance benefits.

If you want to use direct deposit, you must sign up for it on our website. This means you must

file your claim online and tell us you want to use direct deposit when you file, or change to direct
deposit through your online account if you are already using a debit card. Please enter your bank
information accurately to avoid delays in your benefits. If your bank account changes, please
update your direct deposit information with us to avoid delays in receiving your benefits. Please note:
If you had a claim with us previously, any direct deposit information you entered for that claim

will not carry over to a new claim. You must register for the direct deposit option and enter current
checking account information each time you file a new claim.

If you want to receive benefits by debit card, you can file your claim either online or by phone, and
tell us you want to use a debit card at that time. If you want to change to receiving benefits via debit
card from direct deposit, however, you must make the change online. Important: If you received
benefits in the past and had a debit card, your benefits will be released to that same card if the
card has not expired.

OTHER IMPORTANT THINGS TO KNOW

In order to file a claim online, send us a secure message, sign up for direct deposit and more,
you must set up a NY.gov account at www.labor.ny.gov/signin.

If your benefits stop without explanation, please see #4, #5, #6, and/or #8 of the Top 15
Frequently Asked Questions at the beginning of this booklet.

If your debit card is lost, stolen or damaged, you must call KeyBank Customer Service at
(866) 295-2955 and they will mail you a new card. Please do not call the Telephone Claims
Center; they cannot replace your card.

You may lose benefits if you do not keep your address and phone number up-to-date.
Unemployment Insurance mail is not forwarded by the Post Office. See page 21 of this booklet
for how to change your address and/or phone number.

Return all questionnaires right away so any benefits that may be due are not delayed or denied.
If you have questions after reading this handbook, check the Frequently Asked Questions on
our web site at http://labor.ny.gov/ui/faq.shtm. You can also send us a secure message (sign in
to your online account at www.labor.ny.gov/signin and click on the envelope icon at the upper
right of the My Online Services page) or call our Telephone Claims Center at (888) 209-8124.
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Important recent changes in Unemployment Insurance

PLEASE READ: Important Information for Claimants who Collect
Unemployment Insurance Benefits via a Debit Card

The New York State Department of Labor’s Unemployment Insurance program is changing
from Chase to KeyBank for debit card services.

If you are using a Chase Direct Payment Card, keep using it until any funds are gone. The funds
on your Chase Direct Payment Card will not be transferred to your new Key2Benefits debit card.

If you have questions about a Chase Direct Payment Card, call Chase customer service at (877)
221-1634. This number is only for questions about your Chase card; do not call it with questions
about the transition to the Key2Benefits card. For more information about the Key2Benefits card,
please see the Frequently Asked Questions on our website at www.labor.ny.gov.

Important: Please note that this handbook is written with KeyBank listed as the debit card provider.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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1. What is Unemployment Insurance?

Unemployment Insurance is temporary income for eligible workers who
become unemployed through no fault of their own. Unemployed workers
who are receiving Unemployment Insurance benefits are sometimes referred
to as “claimants.” You will see that term used throughout this handbook and
on our website.

You can receive Unemployment Insurance benefits for a maximum of 26 full
weeks during a one-year period called a “benefit year.”

In New York State, employers pay for benefits, not workers. No deductions are
taken from workers’ paychecks for Unemployment Insurance.

2. How do | know if | am eligible to receive Unemployment
Insurance benefits?

What are the requirements to receive benefits?

You can apply for Unemployment Insurance benefits (file a claim for benefits)
if you have worked in New York or another state. In order to receive benefits,
you must:

* Have lost employment through no fault of your own;

* Have enough prior earnings from employment to establish a claim;

* Be ready, willing and able to work immediately; and

* Be actively seeking work and keep a record (online or written) of your
efforts for each week you claim benefits.

If you are not sure if you are qualified to receive Unemployment Insurance
benefits, you should still apply as soon as possible. We will determine if
you are eligible.

What are some of the reasons I could be denied benefits?

You must meet the requirements set by law to receive Unemployment
Insurance benefits. You cannot get benefits if you have less than the required
work history and wages to establish a claim as discussed on pages 7 — 13:
“How much will | receive in benefits each week?” Other reasons your claim
could be denied include:

1. Voluntary quit and discharge: You will be disqualified from receiving
Unemployment Insurance benefits if we determine that:

* You quit a job without good cause; or
* You were discharged (fired) for misconduct.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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|f you lost a job with
any employerin
the last 18 months
due to misconduct,
the wages you
earned in that job
cannot be used to
establish a claim

or to calculate your
benefit rate.

A disqualification for these reasons lasts until you work again and earn at least
ten times your benefit rate. Earnings from self-employment will not count.
Once you have earned enough from employment to end the disqualification,
you must also be out of work again through no fault of your own.

If you lost a job with any employer in the last 18 months due to misconduct,
the wages you earned in that job cannot be used to establish a claim or to
calculate your benefit rate.

2. Job refusal: You can also be disqualified from receiving Unemployment
Insurance benefits if, after applying, you refuse to take a job that meets the
qualifications described under “What kind of work do I have to look for? Can |
refuse a job because the wages are too low?” on page 26.

You may not refuse employment that you are qualified for without good cause.

A disqualification for job refusal lasts until you work again and earn at least ten
times your benefit rate. Earnings from self-employment will not count. Once
you have earned enough from employment to end the disqualification, you
must also be out of work again through no fault of your own.

3. Strike and other industrial controversy, except lockouts: If you lose

your job because of a strike in your workplace, you may not be eligible for
Unemployment Insurance benefits for 49 days. This waiting period does not
apply if you are locked out of your workplace due to a labor dispute. You may
be eligible sooner if:

¢ The labor dispute ends and you are still unemployed; or
* Your employer hires permanent replacement workers.

4. Availability, capability and work search: You will be denied benefits if you are:

* Not ready, willing and able to work;

* Not prepared to take a job immediately;

¢ Not physically or mentally capable of employment; or

¢ Not actively seeking work and keeping a record of your work search
activities (online or written) for each week that you claim benefits.

If you are not eligible for benefits because you are not available for or capable
of work, you can become eligible when you show the Department of Labor
that you are again available for employment, capable of working and actively
seeking work, and keeping a record of your work search activities.

5. Criminal acts (felony misconduct): You will be disqualified from receiving
benefits for 12 months after you lose employment, whether you quit or are
fired, and it is determined that:

* You lost your job for committing a felony in connection with your
employment and you admitted guilt in a signed statement; or
* You were convicted of the crime.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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In addition, wages paid to you for employment that ended in felony
misconduct cannot be used to establish a claim.

6. Incarceration: If you are in jail or prison, you are not available to accept work
immediately. Therefore, you are not eligible for Unemployment Insurance benefits.

Also, it is against the law for you to allow or direct anyone else to claim weekly
benefits for you while you are incarcerated.

There may be other, less common circumstances that can prevent you from
being eligible for Unemployment Insurance benefits. These are discussed in
Chapter 11: “Special Situations” beginning on page 35.

3. Receiving your benefits: Your PIN, NY.gov ID, direct
deposit and the debit card

Setting up your Personal Identification Number (PIN) and your NY.gov ID

When you filed your claim, you were prompted to create a Personal
Identification Number, or PIN. It is important to remember your PIN. You will
use it when you:

¢ Call the Telephone Claims Center* to ask a question about your weekly
benefits; or
¢ Claim weekly benefits (certify for benefits) by telephone using Tel-Service.

If you forget your PIN or if you think someone else might know your PIN, you
can reset it by calling the Telephone Claims Center.* Select the menu option
“For PIN or address changes.”

If you choose to claim weekly benefits (certify for benefits) on our website,
you will need to set up and use an NY.gov ID. This is different from the PIN
you set up when you file a claim. With an NY.gov ID, you can claim weekly
benefits and get other information about your benefits on our website. You
can also ask a specific question about your claim via secure message. Your
NY.gov ID can also be used to access services offered by other New York
State agencies. Directions for creating an NY.gov ID are on our website at
www.labor.ny.gov/signin. If you have difficulty creating an NY.gov ID, see the
illustrated instructions listed on the sign in page, check the NY.gov Frequently
Asked Questions, or call (800) 833-3000 Monday - Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30
p.m. Please do not call the Telephone Claims Center* with NY.gov ID issues;
they cannot resolve technology issues.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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Important: When you set up your NY.gov ID, please be sure the email
address you choose is not used by another person with an NY.gov account.
An NY.gov ID can be linked to only one email address. For example, if you and
your spouse share an email address and he or she already has an NY.gov ID
linked to your shared email address, you will need to use a different email
address for your NY.gov ID.

Important: Allowing someone to get benefits or access your claim using your PIN, your
NY.gov ID or your NY.gov password is a serious offense. It can lead to severe penalties,
including criminal prosecution and imprisonment. You can also lose up to 20 weeks of
benefits. Do not tell anyone your PIN, your NY.gov ID or your NY.gov password. Do not
write them down where they may be seen by others. Your PIN, your NY.gov ID and your
NY.gov password are your electronic signatures. They are security measures that ensure
that no one besides you can claim and receive your Unemployment Insurance benefits or
look at your private claim information. You are responsible for safeguarding and using your
PIN, NY.gov ID and NY.gov ID passwords.

The only exception is if you need a helper to file for or certify for benefits; for example,

if you have a disability or language issue. If you cannot enter your own PIN or NY.gov
credentials, you may have a helper enter that information for you. However, you must be
with your helper when they enter your password or PIN.

If you forget your NY.gov ID username or password or if you think someone else
might know them, you can reset them at any time. Follow the directions to reset

your NY.gov ID username and password at www.labor.ny.gov/signin or call (800)
833-3000 between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday - Friday for help.

Setting up your payment method

If you applied for Unemployment Insurance online, you were asked whether you
wished to receive your benefits by direct deposit or debit card. If you applied
over the phone, you will receive your benefits via debit card. We no longer issue
benefits by check. Here is what you need to know about each option.

Direct deposit

Direct deposit means that your benefits will be deposited directly into your
checking account about three to five days after we release a benefit payment.
You can register for direct deposit when you file a claim on our website at
www.labor.ny.gov/signin or you can change to direct deposit when you claim
weekly benefits (certify for benefits) online. Important: You cannot register for
or change to direct deposit by calling the Telephone Claims Center* or when
claiming weekly benefits via phone using our Tel-Service system.

Direct deposit will remain in effect until you stop receiving benefits under your
current claim, or until you change it. Your direct deposit information will not
carry over to future Unemployment Insurance claims.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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If you claim weekly benefits online, you will always see information about
direct deposit on your confirmation page, even if you chose to receive your
payments by debit card when you filed your claim. This is so you will always
have the option to start or cancel direct deposit. It also allows you to update
your direct deposit information if you change banking institutions or if your
banking information otherwise changes.

To register for or change to direct deposit, you will need to have a check
handy. Enter the bank routing number and checking account number as
shown on your check. The diagram below shows where on the check to find
these numbers. Important: Do not use a checking account deposit slip for
your bank’s routing number or your account number. Those slips may
include numbers that do not apply to direct deposit. If your banking institution
has recently merged, your bank routing number and checking account number
may have changed. Contact your bank to get the new routing and account
numbers before you register for direct deposit.

JEFFREY MAPLE 1234
SUZANNE MAPLE AN
123 Pear Lane

Anyplace, NY 20000

15-0000/9000

PAY TO THE
ORDER OF ‘ $

DOLLARS

ANYPLACE BANK
Anyplace, NY 20000

| Routing Number | | Account Number ‘ Do not include
For the check number.

|(250250025)| (2020207 '86".) 1234 PR

Note: The routing and account numbers may be in different places on your check

Important: Please be sure to enter your checking account information
accurately. If you don’t enter accurate information, your benefit payments may
be delayed for 14 to 21 days. Also, please print a copy of the Direct Deposit
Information Review page before clicking the “Submit” link. This is your only
proof of the account information that you entered. You will need this proof if
there are any problems with your checking account information.

After we receive your new or updated account numbers, it takes about five
business days to set up direct deposit and send Unemployment Insurance
benefits electronically to your checking account. This applies whether you are
registering for a new account or changing existing account information. If you
have a debit card, we transfer your weekly benefits to your card during this
time. Once you establish direct deposit, you should verify that your benefits
are in your account before you write checks against those funds.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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A debit card... will
be sent to you
automatically
unless you sign up
for direct deposit.

You cannot use direct deposit if you are participating in the following programs:

¢ Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA);

* Trade Readjustment Allowances (TRA);

¢ Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA); or the
¢ Self-Employment Assistance Program (SEAP).

However, if you registered for direct deposit while you were receiving regular
Unemployment Insurance benefits, it will continue while you collect under one
of these programs.

You can register for or change your direct deposit information online:

* Monday through Friday, 7:30 a.m. until midnight; and
e Saturday and Sunday, all day.

Cancelling direct deposit

You can cancel direct deposit from your online account at
www.labor.ny.gov/signin. Click on “Unemployment Services” on the My Online
Services page. This brings you to the Unemployment Insurance Benefits Online
page. Click on the “Payment and Tax Withholding Options and View/Print 1099G”
button. Follow the directions to cancel direct deposit. We will update our records
and stop the electronic transfer of your weekly benefits to your checking account.

Your weekly benefits will then be deposited to your a Key2Benefits debit card.

¢ |f you have never had a debit card, one will be mailed to you automatically
in a plain white envelope about seven to ten days after you claim your
next week’s benefits.

* |f you previously had a Key2Benefits debit card and it has expired or was lost,
you must contact KeyBank Customer Service at (866) 295-2955.

Debit card

A Key2Benefits debit card is a debit MasterCard. It allows you to withdraw
your benefits from an ATM (Automated Teller Machine) and make purchases
wherever MasterCard is accepted. Only the Department of Labor can deposit
money into the debit card account. This card will be sent to you automatically
unless you sign up for direct deposit.

The debit card will be mailed to you about seven to ten days after you are approved
to receive benefits. For security reasons, your debit card will arrive in a plain white
envelope. Please watch for it in the mail and do not throw it away, even if you
signed up for direct deposit in the meantime. When you receive your card, call
KeyBank Customer Service at (866) 295-2955 promptly to activate it. As part of the
activation process, you will be asked to create a PIN for your card. This PIN is a four-
digit number that you enter on the keypad at ATMs and retail locations. Your debit
card PIN is for a different purpose than the PIN you created when you filed your
Unemployment Insurance claim, which is also a four-digit number.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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Your debit card account balance information is not available to the Department
of Labor. You can check your account balance free of charge at all KeyBank, First
Niagara and Allpoint ATMs; by calling KeyBank Customer Service at (866) 295-
2955; or by going to KeyBank’s website at www.key2benefits.com. You can

also view your monthly statement on KeyBank’s website or sign up to receive
monthly statements in the mail by contacting KeyBank Customer Service.

Your debit card is valid for three years and will be used for current and
potential future claims. Even if you are not currently receiving benefits, keep
the card in a safe place. If you receive Unemployment Insurance benefits at a
later date, the same debit card PIN you originally created will re-activate your
card. If you lose your debit card, call KeyBank Customer Service at (866) 295-
2955 to request a new card. If you have not used your card for three years

or if you file a new claim after three years, call KeyBank Customer Service

at (866) 295-2955 to request a new card. Department of Labor staff cannot
replace or request a new card for you.

4. How much will | receive in benefits each week?

Understanding your “base period”

Your weekly Unemployment Insurance benefit payment amount depends on
how much you were paid during a “base period.” A base period represents

one year of your work and wages (four calendar quarters). Calendar quarters
are the three-month blocks of time shown in the chart below. Wages earned

in your base period are used to calculate your benefit rate. Your benefit

rate is the amount of money you receive if you are eligible for a full week of

Unemployment Insurance benefits.

There are two types of base periods shown in the chart below. The Basic Base
Period is the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters before the
quarter in which you file for benefits. If you have enough wages in your Basic
Base Period, we use it when we calculate your benefit payment.

How Base Periods Work
Example only. Your actual quarters may differ from those shown.

Previous Year Current Year
1st Quarter 2nd Quarter 3rd Quarter 4th Quarter 5th Quarter
January 1- April 1- July 1- October 1- January 1-
March 31 June 30 September 30 December 31 March 31 Quarter you
filed for
Basic Base Period benefits
Wages paid to you during these four quarters make up your April 1-
Basic Base Period. June 30
Alternate Base Period
Wages paid to you during these four quarters make up your
Alternate Base Period.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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If you have enough
wages in your Basic
Base Period, we do
not automatically
check to see if
your benefit rate
would be higher

if your Alternate
Base Period is used
instead.

If you do not have enough wages in your Basic Base Period, we use your
Alternate Base Period to calculate your benefit payment. The Alternate

Base Period is the last four completed calendar quarters before the quarter

in which you file for benefits. Important: If you have enough wages in your
Basic Base Period, we do not automatically check to see if your benefit rate
would be higher if your Alternate Base Period is used instead. If you think
your benefit payment would be higher using your Alternate Base Period, you
can ask us to use your Alternate Base Period to calculate your benefit amount.
However, if you choose to use the alternate quarter wages for your current
claim, you cannot use these wages again in the future. This may affect your
ability to qualify for a future claim. For more information, please see page 11:
“Requesting a benefit rate recalculation based on Alternate Base Period.”

For all base periods, the quarter in which you file for benefits does not
count as part of your base period. This means that wages earned during the
quarter you filed will not be used to calculate your benefit rate.

Earnings required to qualify for benefits

To qualify for benefits, you must meet all three of the following earnings
requirements during your base period (basic or alternate):

* You must have worked and been paid wages in jobs covered by
Unemployment Insurance in at least two calendar quarters;
* You must have been paid at least $1,900 in one calendar quarter; and
* The total wages paid to you must be at least 1.5 times the amount paid to
you in your high quarter. Your high quarter is the quarter of your base period
in which you were paid the most money. Exception: If your high quarter
wages were $9,350 or more, you must have been paid at least $4,675 (half
of $9,350) total in the other three quarters of your base period.
» Example: Your high quarter wages were $4,000. You must have
been paid at least $6,000 ($4,000 x 1.5 = $6,000) total for all four
quarters of your base period.

Please note: To be eligible for benefits, you must also have lost work through
no fault of your own; be ready, willing and able to work; and be actively
looking for work.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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How we calculate your weekly benefit rate

If you were paid wages in all four quarters of your base period and your high
quarter wages are:

* More than $3,575: Your benefit amount is your high quarter wages
divided by 26. If this calculation is less than $143, your benefit rate is $143.

e Example 1: Your high quarter wages are $4,030. Your weekly benefit
amount is $155 ($4,030 + 26 = $155).

e Example 2: Your high quarter wages are $3,600. This results in a
benefit rate of $138.46 ($3,600 + 26 = $138.46). Since this is less
than $143, your benefit amount is $143.

* $3,575 or less: Your benefit amount is your high quarter wages divided
by 25 or $100, whichever is higher.

» Example 1: Your high quarter wages are $3,000. Your weekly benefit
amount is $120 ($3,000 + 25 = $120).

e Example 2: Your high quarter wages are $2,000. This results in a
benefit rate of $80 ($2,000 + 25 = $80). Since this is less than the
minimum benefit rate of $100, your benefit amount is $100.

If you were paid wages in only two or three quarters of your base period and
your high quarter wages are:

* More than $4,000: Your benefit amount is the average wages of your
two highest quarter wages, divided by 26. If this calculation is less than
$143, your benefit amount is $143.

* Example: Your high quarter wages are $4,500 and your next
highest quarter wages are $4,288, an average of $4,394 ($4,500 +
$4,288 = $8,788; $8,788 + 2 = $4,394). Your benefit amount is $169
($4,394 + 26 = $169).

* $3,576 to $4,000: Your benefit amount is your high quarter wages
divided by 26. If this calculation results in less than $143, your benefit
amount is $143.

e Example: Your high quarter wages are $3,576. This results in a
benefit rate of $137.54 ($3,576 + 26 = $137.54). Since this is less than
$143, your benefit amount is $143.

* $3,575 or less: Your benefit amount is your high quarter wages divided
by 25 or $100, whichever is higher.

» Example: Your high quarter wages are $3,000. Your weekly benefit
amount is $120 ($3,000 + 25 = $120).

Please note: There are maximum and minimum weekly benefit amounts.
For more information, please check our website at
http://labor.ny.gov/formsdocs/ui/P823.pdf.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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The Monetary
Benefit
Determination
notice does not say
you will definitely
receive benefits.

It simply shows
whether or not

you have enough
earnings to qualify.

How will I find out what my benefit rate is?

Once your weekly benefit payment is calculated, you will receive a Monetary
Benefit Determination notice in the mail. It will tell you if you have enough
wages to qualify for benefits, and if so, what your weekly benefit rate will be
if we decide you are eligible. The notice will list all the employers you worked
for during your base period, not just your most recent employer. It will also
show the wages you were paid as reported by those employers.

You should review the Monetary Benefit Determination notice promptly to
make sure it is correct. If you agree with the information shown, do not take

any action. Keep the notice for your records. If any information shown on the

notice is incorrect, please see the next topic “If wages and/or employers are
missing from your Monetary Benefit Determination notice.”

Important: The Monetary Benefit Determination does not say that you will
definitely receive benefits. It simply shows whether or not you have enough
earnings to qualify. There may be other reasons you don’t qualify. After you
receive the Monetary Benefit Determination, if we find you are eligible your
benefits will simply begin. If we find you are not eligible, you will receive another
Notice of Determination in the mail that tells you why you are not eligible

Important note for claimants with limited understanding of English or
Spanish: At the present time, the Department of Labor is only able to

print Monetary Benefit Determinations in English or Spanish. To help you
understand this important notice, we have included a Translation of Your
Monetary Benefit Determination in the back of this handbook. This document
translates the information included in the Monetary Benefit Determination into
the language you requested for your handbook.

Also, if you told us when you applied for benefits that you speak a language
besides English or Spanish, you will receive a notice with your Monetary
Benefit Determination that tells you to call the Telephone Claims Center* for
help understanding the notice. A translator will be provided for free.

If wages and/or employers are missing from your Monetary Benefit
Determination notice

If you see that wages or employers are missing from your Monetary Benefit
Determination notice, complete and return the Request for Reconsideration
form sent with the notice (the Request for Reconsideration form is also found
at the back of this handbook). Important: We must receive your Request
for Reconsideration form within 30 calendar days from the Date Mailed as
shown on the Monetary Benefit Determination.

Please tell us how much in wages you received during all four Basic Base Period
quarters plus the Alternate Base Period quarter. Include proof of employment and
wages, such as copies of pay stubs, for all the wages you listed on the form and
for the entire time period in question. Wages include the monetary value of tips,
bonuses, meals and lodging, as well as commissions and vacation pay. If you have

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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no proof of your wages, include them on the form anyway and tell us why you have
no proof. If you were paid in cash, you should include those wages on the Request
for Reconsideration form, even if you do not have pay stubs or other proof you
were paid. We can investigate why employers did not report your wages to us.

We will review the new wage information you send us on the Request for
Reconsideration. When this review is complete, we will send you a revised
Monetary Benefit Determination notice.

If you worked for an agency of the federal government, a branch of military service
or outside of New York State, or if you were paid as an independent contractor, your
wages may not be listed on the Monetary Benefit Determination notice. If you earned
any of these types of wages, complete and return the Request for Reconsideration
form. Important: The form must be received by us within 30 calendar days of the
Date Mailed on your most recent Monetary Benefit Determination notice. This will
tell us to use these wages when calculating your benefit rate.

If you were paid as an independent contractor, please see page 43: “My employer
paid me as an independent contractor, and/or paid me off the books. What do | do?”

Important: If your Monetary Benefit Determination shows employers you
have not worked for or shows wages you were not paid, you must tell us as
soon as possible by secure message. Go to www.labor.ny.gov/signin. Sign

in to your account and click on the envelope icon at the upper right of the My
Online Services page. Or, call the Telephone Claims Center.*

Requesting a benefit rate recalculation based on Alternate Base Period

If your high quarter wages are in your alternate quarter, your benefit rate may
be higher using your Alternate Base Period. You can ask us to recalculate your
benefit rate using your Alternate Base Period wages.

To do this, complete the Request for Alternate Base Period form found at
www.labor.ny.gov or the end of this handbook. Important: We must receive your
completed form within ten calendar days of the Date Mailed on your most
recent Monetary Benefit Determination. Your Monetary Benefit Determination
notice will show specific dates and wage amounts. If your wages for the alternate
quarter are not shown on the Monetary Benefit Determination, enter the amount
you earned in the alternate quarter on the Request for Alternate Base Period
form. Include proof of your employment and wages, such as copies of pay stubs,
for all the earnings you listed on the form and for the whole period in question.
Wages include the monetary value of tips, bonuses, meals and lodging as well as
commissions and vacation pay. Include amounts you were paid in cash.

If the wages shown on your Monetary Benefit Determination for the alternate
quarter are not your high quarter wages or if your benefit rate was the
maximum, do not request a recalculation. Important: If you choose to use the
alternate quarter wages for your current claim, you cannot use these wages
again in the future. This may affect your ability to qualify for a future claim.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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If you did not work
all the weeks in the
base period quarter
that has your high
quarter wages,
using your average
weekly wage may
increase your
benefit rate.

Workers’ compensation or volunteer firefighters’ benefits and the base period

If you do not qualify for benefits using the Basic or Alternate Base Period, but
you received workers’ compensation or volunteer firefighters’ benefits during
the Basic Base Period, you may still qualify. The Basic Base Period may be
extended backward up to two calendar quarters, depending on the number of
base period quarters in which you received these benefits.

To apply for this Extended Base Period, you must complete the forms listed
below. Important: We must receive them within 30 days of the Date Mailed
on the Monetary Benefit Determination.

¢ Workers’ compensation: Complete the Request for Reconsideration
form (available at www.labor.ny.gov or at the back of this handbook)
and submit it along with a copy of your most recent SROI (Subsequent
Report of Injury) form from Workers’ Compensation.

¢ \olunteer firefighters’ benefits: Complete and submit the Request for
Reconsideration form (available at www.labor.ny.gov or at the back of
this handbook).

Using wages from the current calendar quarter to establish a claim

If you do not qualify using any of the above base periods, but you were
employed in the calendar quarter in which you filed your claim and you are
still unemployed after that quarter ends, you may qualify using this most
recent employment. You should apply for benefits again on or after the first
Monday of the next calendar quarter. Calendar quarters begin January 1,
April 1, July 1 and October 1.

Requesting a benefit rate recalculation based on average weekly wage

If you did not work all the weeks in the base period quarter that has your
high quarter wages, using your average weekly wage may increase your
benefit rate. Before you can request this recalculation, the following
conditions must be met:

* You must have been found eligible for benefits using wages in your
Basic, Alternate or Extended Base Period.

¢ Your base period and benefit rate must be established and finalized.
This information can be found on your most recent Monetary Benefit
Determination notice.

* You must have at least 20 weeks of work in your base period.

¢ All of your Request for Reconsideration forms must have been
received and reviewed.

Your benefit rate will be calculated as one-half of your average weekly wage
(one-half of total base period wages divided by total weeks worked) only if the
benefit rate increase is at least five dollars more than your current benefit rate.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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The minimum
weekly benefit rate

is S100.
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To request this recalculation, fill out and submit the Request for Rate Based on
Weeks of Employment form at www.labor.ny.gov or at the back of this handbook.
Important: We must receive the form within ten calendar days of the Date
Mailed on your Monetary Benefit Determination. You must provide proof of
your employment and wages, such as pay stubs, for each week of employment.
Wages include the monetary value of tips, bonuses, meals and lodging as well as
commissions, vacation pay, and amounts you were paid in cash.

Job loss due to misconduct or a criminal act

If you lose your job because of misconduct or a criminal act, any wages paid to
you for that job cannot be used to establish a claim or to calculate your benefit
rate. Misconduct is any act or omission which you knew was not permitted on
the job and which caused or could have caused harm to the employer.

Maximum and minimum weekly benefit rate

Effective the first Monday of October 2015, the maximum weekly benefit rate
increased to $425. The maximum rate is expected to increase each year
until 2026, when it is expected to be set at 50 percent of the state’s average
weekly wage. Please visit our website at www.labor.ny.gov for the current
maximum weekly benefit rate.

The minimum weekly benefit rate is $100.

5. When will | start receiving benefits?

When will I receive my first payment?

It takes three to six weeks from when you file your claim to receive your first
payment. During this time we review and process your application, determine
your weekly benefit rate and verify your employment information with your
former employer(s). You will not receive benefits during this review period. If
we find you are eligible for benefits after our review, you will receive any back
weeks of benefits owed you with your first payment.

During this time there are two things you should do:

¢ Complete and return any questionnaires and return any phone calls
you receive from the Department of Labor right away; and

¢ Continue to claim weekly benefits as long as you are unemployed and
meet the eligibility requirements, beginning the week immediately after
you file your claim. Please see pages 15 - 22: “How do I claim weekly
benefits?” In addition, you must fulfill all work search and related
record-keeping requirements. Please see pages 23 - 28: “What are
the work search requirements?”

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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The first full week

you are unemployed

is called a waiting
week. You will

not receive
Unemployment
Insurance benefits
for this week, but
you must be ready,
willing and able
towork. You must
also claim weekly
benefits for this
week.

Return all questionnaires promptly

If we need more information while processing your claim we may send you a
form or questionnaire. Please complete and return each questionnaire within
seven days of the date printed on it so any benefits due are not delayed or
denied. If you do not complete a questionnaire or return it promptly, we will
have to make a decision about your claim based on the information we have.
This could hurt your eligibility for benefits.

If you receive a questionnaire that doesn’t seem to pertain to you, please return
the questionnaire anyway. Write on the top or end of the questionnaire that you
think a mistake was made and provide appropriate details. Then return it by
secure message. Sign in to your account at www.labor.ny.gov/signin. Then click
on the envelope icon at the upper right of the My Online Services page. Or, fax
to the fax number or mail to the address shown on the questionnaire. We will
review and correct the mistake if appropriate. If we need more information, we
will contact you by phone or secure message through your online account with
us. You do not need to call the Telephone Claims Center.*

What to do if you misplace a questionnaire

You can request another copy of the questionnaire/form/letter via secure
message through your online account with us. Sign in to your account at
www.labor.ny.gov/signin. Then click on the envelope icon at the upper right of
the My Online Services page. Or, you can call the Telephone Claims Center.*
Important: Please request a replacement promptly. Many items have due
dates. These due dates are not adjusted, even if a replacement is issued.

Waiting week for benefits

The first full week you are unemployed is called a waiting week. You will not
receive Unemployment Insurance benefits for this week, but you must be ready,
willing and able to work. You must also claim weekly benefits for this week. In
addition, you must fulfill all work search and related record-keeping requirements.
Please see pages 23 - 28: “What are the work search requirements?”

If you work at all during the first week of your claim or do not serve a full
waiting week for other reasons, the waiting period will extend into the next
week(s). After this waiting week, you will receive Unemployment Insurance
benefits for each week that you remain unemployed, up to 26 weeks. You
must claim benefits each week; be ready, willing and able to work; and fulfill
the work search requirements as discussed in pages 23 - 28: “What are the
work search requirements?”

How do I know when I will start receiving benefits?

After we review your claim information (and revised Monetary Benefit
Determination, if applicable), we will decide if you are eligible to receive
benefits. This review process usually takes three to six weeks. If you are
eligible, you will simply begin receiving benefits via direct deposit or debit

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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you will simply
begin receiving
benefits via direct
deposit or debit
card. You will not
receive a letter
stating that you are
eligible before your
benefits begin.

New York State Department of Labor

card. You will not receive a letter stating that you are eligible before your
benefits begin.

If we find that you are not eligible for benefits, you will be mailed a Notice of
Determination that tells you the reason(s) why. This notice will also tell you for
what period of time benefits are being denied, how to re-qualify in the future
and how to ask for a hearing if you disagree with the decision.

6. How do I claim weekly benefits?

How do I get my benefits (claim weekly benefits/certify for benefits)?

For each week you are unemployed and looking for work, you must claim
weekly benefits by requesting payment using our website or Tel-Service
automated phone system. This is also called certifying for benefits, because you
are certifying that you were unemployed for all or part of the past week and that
you met all other conditions of receiving Unemployment Insurance benefits.

Whether you choose our website or Tel-Service, the system will ask you

a series of questions. Your eligibility for weekly benefits is based on your
answers to the questions. Read or listen carefully to the questions and the
instructions before responding. If you do not understand a question, call the
Telephone Claims Center* for clarification. Important: It is against the law to
make false statements during the weekly certification process in order to
receive benefits. You may be subject to interest and penalties, including the
loss of benefits or even criminal prosecution.

You must claim weekly benefits yourself

Important: Do not give out your PIN or your NY.gov username and password.
If you allow someone else to claim weekly benefits (certify for benefits) for you
or access your claim online or over the Tel-Service phone system, you can

be subject to severe penalties. These may include criminal prosecution and
imprisonment. You may also lose up to 20 weeks of benefits. If you need help
claiming weekly benefits, please see page 17: “What if | need help claiming
weekly benefits?”

What if I travel outside my area or outside the country?

If you will be traveling for vacation or personal reasons, you cannot claim
and receive benefits for the time you are gone. If you try to claim weekly
benefits from outside the United States, Canada, Puerto Rico or the Virgin
Islands your certification will be blocked and your benefits will be held.
Important: Do not give someone else your PIN and have them certify for
benefits for you. This can lead to severe penalties, including loss of benefits,
criminal prosecution and prison.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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Please contact us
hefore you travel,
even if you are
traveling to look
for work or for a job
interview. Be sure
to tell us your travel
dates and reason
for traveling.

Please contact us before you travel, even if you are traveling to look for

work or for a job interview. You can send us a secure message or call the
Telephone Claims Center.* To send a secure message, sign in to your account
at www.labor.ny.gov/signin. Then, click on the envelope icon at the upper right
of the My Online Services page. Be sure to tell us your travel dates and reason
for traveling. By giving us this information before your trip, your benefits may
be held while you are away, but will resume when you return.

Claiming weekly benefits online

You can claim weekly benefits (certify for benefits) on our website at
www.labor.ny.gov/signin. Note: If you have a service that makes your internet
address anonymous, please turn it off when claiming weekly benefits.
Otherwise, your certification may be blocked.

You will need an NY.gov ID to sign up for an online account. If you already

have an NY.gov ID username and password, you can use it for our system.

If you do not have an NY.gov ID, follow the instructions on our website at
www.labor.ny.gov/signin to create one. With an online account, you can claim
weekly benefits, check the status of your benefit payments, print out your
payment history and 1099 form, access our JobZone resource site and more. You
can also use your NY.gov ID to access online services from other New York State
government agencies. Important: Do not give anyone your NY.gov ID username
or password or write them down where others may see them. For help creating
or using a NY.gov ID, please see the lists of illustrated directions and Frequently
Asked Questions at www.labor.ny.gov/signin. If you have difficulties with NY.gov
ID, call (800) 833-3000 from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday - Friday.

Claiming weekly benefits by phone

You can also claim weekly benefits by calling our Tel-Service toll-free,
automated phone system at (888) 581-5812. TTY/TDD users call (877) 205-
3119; Video Relay Service Users - contact your relay operator and ask him or
her to call (888) 783-1370. You will be asked to answer a series of questions,
and then you will be asked to confirm that all of your answers are true and
correct. When you say yes or press 1to answer this question, it is the same as
signing a document. This is because only you know the PIN you created when
filing your claim. Important: Do not give anyone your PIN, not even a family
member. Only you can claim weekly benefits. The only exception is if you
cannot enter your own PIN (for example, if you have a disability or language
issue), you may have a helper enter it for you. However, you must be with
your helper when they enter your password or PIN.

If your call is disconnected or if you hang up the telephone before you hear “Your
claim has been entered for processing,” you have not completed the process of
claiming weekly benefits. You will have to call again to claim your benefits.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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When to claim weekly benefits

For the purposes of Unemployment Insurance, a week runs from Monday to
Sunday. You should claim weekly benefits for the previous week on the last
day of that week (Sunday) through the following Saturday. Any certification
made on a Sunday is for the week ending that day. For example, suppose
you are unemployed from Monday, January 1through Sunday, January 7. You
can claim weekly benefits for that week beginning Sunday, January 7 through
Saturday, January 13.

You cannot claim for a given week more than a week later either online or
using Tel-Service. The system will not accept certifications for any back weeks
or other periods of time. If you miss claiming benefits for a week during

which you were unemployed, you can request credit for this week by secure
message, fax or regular mail. Do not call the Telephone Claims Center* to
request back credit for a week.

To submit a request by secure message, sign in to your account at
www.labor.ny.gov/signin and click on the envelope icon at the upper right corner of the
My Online Services page. To fax your request, send to (518) 457-9378. By mail send to:

New York State Department of Labor
PO Box 15130
Albany, NY 12212-5130

Be sure to include the beginning and ending dates of the time period for
which you did not claim benefits and the reason you did not claim benefits
promptly in your request. Also, include the last four digits of your Social
Security number on the upper right corner.

We will review your request and decide if you are eligible to receive benefits
for that time period. This review can take up to six weeks. During this time,
be sure to continue claiming benefits for all weeks you are unemployed and
eligible for benefits. If we write or call you to request more information, please
respond promptly so the review is not delayed.

Using the example above, if you fail to claim weekly benefits by Saturday,
January 13, you would have to send us a secure message or write us a letter
explaining why you are late in order to get benefits for the week ending
Sunday, January 7.

What if I need help claiming weekly benefits?

If you have a disability or have difficulty speaking or understanding English,
you may have someone help you with our online services or Tel-Service. If
you do not have or do not know how to use a computer, it is not considered a
disability since you can still use the telephone to claim weekly benefits.

If you cannot enter your own PIN, you may have a helper enter it for you.
However, you must be with your helper when they enter your password
or PIN. If you cannot find a helper who can be physically present with you,

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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please contact the Telephone Claims Center* for help. You are responsible for
the actions of your helper. If you are not present when your helper uses our
services, it is considered fraud and you may be subject to penalties. These
penalties can include forfeit days. Forfeit days are days in the future when you
are eligible to receive benefits, but cannot because you have forfeited your
right to receive benefits for those days as a penalty. You also may have to pay
back any benefits you should not have received, and you may be subject to
monetary penalties.

What if | work part time?

You must report all part-time or temporary work. If you do not report all part-
time or temporary work when you claim weekly benefits, you may be subject
to severe penalties including the loss of benefits, civil and criminal penalties

and fines. If you work fewer than four days in a week and earn less than the

maximum benefit rate, you may receive partial benefits as follows:

* 1 day of work = 3/4 of your full weekly benefit rate;

* 2 days of work =1/2 of your full weekly benefit rate;

* 3 days of work = 1/4 of your full weekly benefit rate; or
¢ 4 days of work = No benefits due.

Important: If you did any work on a day, even if it was an hour or less and
even if you did not receive pay, it counts as a day of work and you must
report it that way. Also, you are not eligible to receive benefits for any week
in which you earn more than the maximum benefit rate (in gross wages, before
any deductions), regardless of the number of days worked. You will be asked
if you worked during the past week and if you earned more than the maximum
benefit when you claim weekly benefits.

If you get partial benefits, you will be able to collect for a longer period of time.
You can collect until you receive your maximum benefit amount (26 times your
weekly benefit rate) or until your benefit year ends, whichever comes first.

What is considered work?

Any activity that brings in or may bring in income at any time must be reported
as work, even if it is only an hour or less. This includes training, as well as
full-time, part-time, seasonal, per diem, probationary, occasional, temporary or
permanent work. Even if you were not paid, you must report as work:

* All activity related to self-employment or freelance work, including but
not limited to: writing checks, taking phone calls, writing or responding
to business correspondence, or any other tasks associated with
starting or continuing a business;

e On-call or as-needed work;

¢ On-the-job training;

¢ Job orientation;

* Working for someone else;

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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e Performing duties or favors for a friend or relative’s business;

¢ Temporary employment;

¢ Part-time employment;

e Active duty for training with a branch of the military;

e Activities involved in managing a multi-family (two or more rental
apartments) rental unit;

¢ Working as a building superintendent;

* An internship and/or externship;

¢ A college work-study job;

e Activities as a public/elected official;

* Annual field training for the National Guard or Reserves;

* Work done on a straight commission basis (considered work even if
you do not get the commission until later, no sales were made, or you
receive no payment);

¢ A working interview, where a prospective employer asks you to work --
with or without pay -- in order to demonstrate that you can do the job; and

e Activities connected with starting a business (unless you are approved
for and participating in the Department of Labor’s Self-Employment
Assistance Program).

You do not have to report as work:

e Jury duty;

* Inactive duty for training with a branch of the military;

* Weekly or monthly drill sessions for the National Guard or Reserves; or

* Any activities involved in managing a single family rental unit (for
example: a two family home where you live upstairs and rent out the
downstairs apartment, or you rent out your house).

If you work on a shift continuing through midnight, you should claim that day of
work on the day prior to midnight (when you started that shift). The exception:
if you work on a shift starting at 7 p.m. or later on Sunday and continue past
midnight, you should claim that the day you worked is Monday.

You must report any and all work. All employers are required to report the fact that a person
has been hired or rehired to the National Directory of New Hires. That information is shared
with the federal government and the Department of Labor in order to ensure that child support
obligations are paid and also to make sure that people are not working while collecting

Unemployment Insurance benefits. Every time you try to claim weekly benefits, your name
is cross-checked against the National Directory of New Hires. If your name appears on that
Directory, you will be given instructions on how to resolve the issue. You will not be able to
claim weekly benefits until you discuss the issue with our Integrity Unit and your information is
verified with the employer who reported you as being hired or rehired.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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If you are not sure whether or not what you are doing is considered work, or
if you make an incorrect certification for benefits, please call the Telephone
Claims Center* immediately and speak to a representative. You can also send
us a secure message. Sign in to your account at www.labor.ny.gov/signin and
click on the envelope icon at the upper right corner of the My Online Services
page. If you don’t contact us, you may have to repay benefits and be subject
to civil penalties and the loss of future benefits.

Important: Do not claim benefits for any week in which you work more than
three days or earn more than the maximum benefit rate.

I tried to claim weekly benefits, but the online/phone system will not allow
me to certify. | get a message that | have to call a certain phone number.
What is going on?

The Department of Labor has received information that shows you might have
been working while you certified that you were not working. This information
may have come from an employer or a national database that we cross-check
weekly certifications against. Sometimes the database shows that you were
working even if you recently became unemployed. When this happens, the
Department of Labor must confirm that you are indeed unemployed.

To resolve this, you must call (855) 822-6536. This number is for the New York
State Department of Labor New Hire Call Center -- not the Telephone Claims
Center.* The Telephone Claims Center* cannot help you with this issue. Also,
the New Hire Call Center cannot answer questions about your Unemployment
Insurance claim. They can only take information that may result in the block on
your certifications being lifted.

What if | want to start my own business?

Call the Telephone Claims Center* before you take any steps to start a business,

join an existing business, reactivate a dormant business, or become any type of
officer with any business. You are considered to be employed if you are operating

or starting a business by yourself, with a partner or in a corporate arrangement.

This includes time spent during the day, evenings or on weekends, even if no

sales are made or no money is earned. Unless you are enrolled in the Self-
Employment Assistance Program, business start-up activities may cause you to lose
Unemployment Insurance benefits. For more information about the Self-Employment
Assistance Program please see our web site at www.labor.ny.gov/seap/ and page
40: “Starting a business: the Self-Employment Assistance Program (SEAP).”

What if | am an elected official?

If you perform work, services or activities as an elected official, you are considered to
be working the day you perform these duties. It does not matter what the work is, the
amount of time you spent working each day, or whether or not you earned any money
or any other payment. All work, even an hour or less, performed in connection with
your elected office must be declared as work when you claim weekly benefits.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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What if I do volunteer work?

You may be eligible for Unemployment Insurance benefits while volunteering.
However, you must report the following volunteer activities as work when
claiming weekly benefits:

¢ Volunteer work that interferes with your ability to search for a job or that
affects the number of days or hours you are available to work at a job;

¢ Volunteer work that is a favor for a friend or relative’s business;

* Volunteer work you perform at a school in exchange for tuition
abatement or a scholarship;

¢ Volunteer work you perform for a not-for-profit corporation of which
you are a founder, officer or board member;

¢ Volunteer work for which you receive a stipend that is greater than the
minimum wage;

¢ Volunteer work which you perform as a precondition to being hired or
rehired into a paid position;

¢ Volunteer work which you perform as part of an internship or other on-
the-job training program; and

* Volunteer work for professional licensing exams or to obtain other credentials.

You do not have to report volunteer activities other than those listed above
as work when claiming weekly benefits. This includes volunteer work for a
charitable, religious or cultural organization. However, you must be:

¢ Ready, willing and able to work;

* Making systematic and sustained efforts to find work;

¢ Keeping an online or written Work Search Record for each week you
claim benefits; and

* Prepared to give a copy of your Work Search Record to the
Department of Labor (please see pages 23 - 28: “What are the work
search requirements?”).

If you are not sure if your volunteer work allows you to meet all of these
criteria, you should call the Telephone Claims Center* to give all details of your
volunteer work before claiming benefits for that week.

Keep your address and phone number up to date

Unemployment Insurance mail is not forwarded by the Post Office. Your
benefits may be delayed if you do not respond to requests for information or
an appointment notice that was mailed to your address on record.

You can update your mailing address or telephone number with the Department
of Labor when you claim your weekly benefits online. Sign in to your online
account at www.labor.ny.gov/signin and click on “Unemployment Services,”
which brings you to the Unemployment Insurance Benefits Online page. Click
the “Claim Weekly Benefits” button, which brings you to the Benefit Payments

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE: A GLAIMANT HANDBOOK 21



New York State Department of Labor

You can also
update your
mailing address
by sending us

SECUre messSage.

page. Click the “Continue” button at the bottom of that page, which will bring
you to the Claim Weekly Benefits page. Click the “Change Address/Telephone
Number” button to change your address and/or phone number.

You can also update your mailing address by sending us a secure message.
Sign in to your account at www.labor.ny.gov/signin. Then, click on the
envelope icon in the upper right corner of the My Online Services page.
Select “Compose New,” then “Address or Phone Number Changes” as the first
subject line, and then “Other — Address or Phone Number Changes” for the
second subject line.

If you no longer claim benefits, call the Telephone Claims Center* and select
the menu option “For PIN or address changes” to change your address or
phone number.

You must also update your address and phone number for your
Unemployment Insurance benefits payment method. For direct deposit users,
contact your bank. For debit card users, contact KeyBank Customer Service at
(866) 295-2955.

What should I do if my name changes?

You must send us a letter with legal documentation (such as a copy of a
marriage certificate; certified record of divorce; certified court order; or a valid,
unexpired United States passport issued in your current name) that verifies the
name change and mail it to:

New York State Department of Labor
P.O. Box 15130
Albany, NY 12212-5130

You can also send a name change request via secure message through your
online account. Sign in at www.labor.ny.gov/signin. On the My Online Services
page, click on the envelope icon at the upper right to send us a secure
message. Attach a pdf of your legal documentation to your request.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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7. What are the work search requirements?

Do I have to look for work?

Yes, you must actively look for work while you are claiming benefits. According
to New York State Labor Law, you must make “systematic and sustained efforts
to find work” as explained below. You must also provide proof of your work
search efforts to the Department of Labor upon request. Important: You may
be denied benefits if you do not make systematic and sustained efforts to
find work, as defined in the next topic: “What is considered systematic and
sustained efforts to find work?”

What is considered systematic and sustained efforts to find work?

Systematic and sustained efforts to find work include all of the following

You must actively requirements:
look for work while * You must do at least three work search activities each week unless you
you are Claiming have a Work Search Plan approved by the Department of Labor or you

have been designated as exempt from this work search requirement by

henefits. the Department of Labor. Please see page 25: “What is a Work Search

Plan?” and “Who is exempt from work search?” on that same page.

* These three activities must be done on different days of the week
and must include at least one activity from work search activities 1-5
(below) and two more activities from the nine activities listed.

* Your work search must begin the week following the week in which
your claim was filed.

Work search activities may include, but are not limited to:

1 Using employment resources available at the local New York State Career
Center, such as:

* Meeting with Career Center advisors;

* Getting information from Career Center staff about jobs that may
be available in a particular industry or region (obtaining job market
information);

* Working with Career Center staff to assess your skills and match
them to possible occupations and jobs (skills assessments for
occupation matching);

¢ Participating in instructional workshops; and

¢ Getting job referrals and job matches from the Career Center and
following up with employers.

2  Visiting a job site and completing a job application in person with employers
who may be reasonably expected to have openings.

3 Submitting a job application and/or resume in response to a public notice or
want ad or to employers who may reasonably be expected to have openings.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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4 Attending job search seminars, scheduled career networking meetings,
job fairs or workshops that offer instruction in improving skills for
obtaining employment.

Interviewing with possible employers.
Applying for employment with former employer(s).

Registering with and checking in with private employment agencies,
placement services, unions and placement offices of schools, colleges or
universities and/or professional organizations.

8 Using the telephone, business directories, internet or online job-
matching systems to search for jobs, get leads, request referrals or make
appointments for job interviews.

9 Applying and/or registering for and taking Civil Service examination(s) for
government job openings.

What is considered acceptable proof of my work search activities?

You must keep an online or written Work Search Record for each week

you claim benefits and be prepared to give a copy of that record to the
Department of Labor if we ask for it. The record must include dates, names,
addresses (mail, email, or web address) and telephone numbers of employers
contacted, names and/or job titles of specific people contacted, contact
methods used, position or job title applied for or a description of other work
search efforts (attending job fairs or workshops, etc.). We will check the
information on the form with the contacts listed. If you knowingly give us false
statements about your work search activities it is considered fraud, and we
can deny you Unemployment Insurance benefits.

If you choose to keep your record online, we recommend you use our
JobZone website. It provides one place where you can safely update and
store all of your work search records in a secure electronic file: safe from
fire, theft or accidental loss. To access your JobZone account, simply click
on the JobZone work search record link provided when you claim weekly
benefits online, or go to www.labor.ny.gov/signin. If you already have an
online Unemployment Insurance account, you have a JobZone account. If
you have questions about establishing your account, please contact your
local New York State Career Center.

If you do not use the online Work Search Record in JobZone, we recommend
you keep a record of your work search activities each week using the Work
Search Record form included in this handbook. You can also keep a similar
written record instead of the Work Search Record form if it includes the
required information. Whatever written format you choose, include supporting
documentation. For example, if you apply for a job online, print a copy of

the application or the employer’s acknowledgement of the application.

If you send a resume or application by email, save a printed copy of all

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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correspondence. You should also keep a copy of your sent mail log or the
employer’s acknowledgement of the resume or application. Other examples of
documentation include printouts from online search efforts, a job fair employer
list, a prospective employer’s business card, etc.

You can get more Work Search Record forms at your local New York State
Career Center, online at www.labor.ny.gov or in the back of this handbook.

How long must | keep my work search records?

If you did not keep your Work Search Record in JobZone, keep copies of your
written Work Search Records for one year. If we ask to see your records, you
must give us copies. Do not send your Work Search Record to the Department
of Labor unless we ask you to. We do conduct random audits of work search
records. If our audit finds you are not meeting the work search requirement,
benefits will be denied and repayment may be required.

What is a Work Search Plan?

A Work Search Plan is a formal agreement that is developed and signed by
you and your Workforce Advisor at your local New York State Career Center.
Not everyone will be required to develop a formal work search agreement.
This agreement spells out in writing exactly what type(s) of work you are
looking for, what work search activities you will do and how often you will do
them, and the wages you must seek and accept if offered a job. The plan will
also address any limitations or restrictions that may affect your job search. You
may be required to develop a Work Search Plan if we find that your current
work search activities are not adequate, if federal programs require you to
have one or if you request one.

Who is exempt from work search?

The Department of Labor will tell you if you are exempt from the work search
requirements as you file your claim. A Career Center staff member may also
tell you if you are exempt. You may be exempt if you are:

¢ Temporarily laid off or seasonally-employed and have a definite return-
to-work date of four weeks or less.

* A union member who must obtain work through the union hiring hall.
You must be in compliance with your union’s membership and work
search requirements.

* Participating in a training program approved by the Department of
Labor, such as those approved under New York State Labor Law §599.

* Serving on ajury.

¢ Participating in a Department of Labor-approved Shared Work Program.

* Participating in a Department of Labor-approved Self-Employment
Assistance Program.

* Covered by any exemption required by state or federal law.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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What kind of work do I have to look for? Can I refuse a job because the
wages are too low?

You must look for and be ready to accept “suitable work” while you collect
Unemployment Insurance benefits. Suitable work is work that you can
reasonably do through past training and experience.

For the first 10 full weeks you receive Unemployment Insurance benefits, suitable
work means that you must look for work in all of your most recent occupations.

It is important to understand the concept of what is called the Unemployment
Insurance cutoff wage. The Unemployment Insurance cutoff wage is a

wage that is 10% below the Unemployment Insurance prevailing wage for

a given occupation. You can find out what the Unemployment Insurance
prevailing wage and cutoff wage is for a given occupation on our website at
http://www.labor.ny.gov/stats/uiwages.shtm or by checking with staff at your local
New York State Career Center.

If you are offered a job that pays at least the Unemployment Insurance cutoff
wage for jobs in your most recent occupation, you must accept it or risk

losing your benefits. If you are offered a job that does not pay at least the
Unemployment Insurance cutoff wage, you can refuse it for prevailing wage
reasons. However, if you refuse a job, even if it does not meet the prevailing
wage requirements, you must still tell the Department of Labor in your weekly
certification. This should be reported in the week you actually make the
decision to refuse work, not the week the work would have started in.

After you have claimed 10 full weeks of Unemployment Insurance benefits,
the definition of what is considered suitable work expands to include any work
that you are capable of doing, even if you have no experience or training in
that type of work. If you are offered a job after receiving benefits for 10 weeks,
you must accept it if:

* You are capable of doing the job;
* |t pays at least 80% of your high-quarter base-period wages; and
* |t pays at least the Unemployment Insurance cutoff wage for such work.

If you refuse to accept a job that meets these three conditions after
receiving 10 weeks of benefits, you could lose your eligibility to receive
Unemployment Insurance benefits.

What if I refuse a job that meets the wage requirements as explained in
the question above, but offers fringe benefits inferior to those offered for
similar jobs?

Any time you refuse a job offer, the Department of Labor must review the
circumstances. In some cases, you may continue to receive Unemployment
Insurance benefits, unless the job offers higher wages to compensate for the
lack of or lower value of fringe benefits. If you refuse a job because of no or
inferior fringe benefits, be prepared to provide additional information.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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How far away do I have to look for work?

You must be willing to travel a reasonable distance to get to work. Generally,
reasonable distance is travel of one hour by private transportation or one-and-
one-half hours by public transportation.

New York State Career Centers

Our New York State Career Centers offer services that will help you find a

job more quickly. To find your closest New York State Career Center, go to
www.labor.ny.gov or call our Contact Center at (888) 4 NYSDOL ((888) 469-7365)
between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday - Friday. Services offered include:

¢ Resume writing and interviewing skills;

e Career advice and guidance;

e Skills assessments to help determine jobs you might be suited for;

¢ Job-hunting workshops;

e Information about jobs available in a particular area or industry
(labor market information);

e Job referrals; and

¢ Information about training opportunities and referrals to training
when appropriate.

Mandatory work search meetings

You may be required to report to your local New York State Career Center in
person. If so, you will be sent a letter with the appointment date, time and location.
If you cannot attend the appointment, call the New York State Career Center as
soon as possible to reschedule. If you cannot reach a person when you call and
must leave a message requesting a call back, someone should call you back
within 24 hours. If you do not receive a call back within 24 hours of leaving a
message, please send us a secure message through your online account. Sign in
to your account at www.labor.ny.gov/signin. Then, click on the envelope icon at
the upper right of the My Online Services page to send us a message.

This appointment is intended to help you find a job more quickly. For example,
we may help you develop a written work search plan that addresses your
specific needs. If you are likely to exhaust your benefits, you may be required
to participate in other programs. We will tell you where and when these
meetings or programs will be held.

What happens if | miss my work search meeting?

If you do not go to your work search appointment or respond to the letter,
your benefits will be stopped immediately. If you miss your appointment, go
to the New York State Career Center in person as soon as possible. You do
not need an appointment. Do not call the Telephone Claims Center,* as they
cannot help until after you have visited the Career Center.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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What if I am physically unable to seek or accept work?

You must be physically able to work to be eligible for Unemployment
Insurance benefits.

If you become ill or disabled while receiving Unemployment Insurance benefits
or are temporarily unable to search for or accept work for other reasons, you
must contact the Telephone Claims Center* immediately. You may be able

to continue to collect benefits once you are able to work again. Do not claim
benefits for any week that you were not able to work. If you were unable to
work for less than a full week, you may be able to collect partial benefits.
Please see page 18: “What if | work part time?”

What if | am unable to seek or accept work because | was called for jury duty?

If you are called to jury duty, you will not be denied benefits. This is true if you
are called to a grand or petit jury of any state or of the United States. You will
be considered ready, willing and able to work while serving on jury duty.

Does pregnancy affect my benefits?

Under federal and state law, you cannot be denied Unemployment Insurance
benefits simply because you are pregnant. The Department of Labor cannot
discriminate based on pregnancy. However, the same eligibility rules that
apply to all other claimants also apply to pregnant claimants: they must be
available for work, they must be physically able to work and they must be
looking for work.

You do not have to tell us about your pregnancy unless it affects your ability
to work. If you are unable to work because of health reasons related to
pregnancy or childbirth, you are not eligible to claim Unemployment Insurance
benefits for those days or weeks. For example, being hospitalized to give

birth affects your ability to work. You cannot claim benefits for the period of
time you are in the hospital and are unable to work. Before you can resume
receiving benefits, we may request medical clearance that states you are

able to work after being hospitalized (this would also be the case if you were
hospitalized for any other reason).

Sometimes an employer tells the Telephone Claims Center* that a claimant quit,
took a leave of absence or was fired because of pregnancy. We must verify that
information with you. However, if you left your last job voluntarily, even though you
were physically able to continue working, you may not be eligible for benefits.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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8. Overpayments and fraud

What is an overpayment?

An overpayment occurs when you receive Unemployment Insurance benefits
that you were not entitled to. This could occur for a number of reasons; for
example: you made a mistake when claiming weekly benefits; you were not
ready, willing and able to work; you did not complete the required work search
activities for a week or weeks; or you knowingly gave us false or misleading
information when filing a claim or claiming weekly benefits.

What should I do if I receive an overpayment determination?

If you have been overpaid, you will receive a written Notice of Determination
in the mail. This Notice will show the amount of the overpayment and tell
you how to pay it back. The Notice will also explain how the overpayment
happened and why it has to be repaid.

If you receive an overpayment determination, you should follow the repayment
instructions on the notice. If you disagree with the overpayment determination,
you have the right to request a hearing. Please see pages 31— 35: “Hearing
and Appeal Process” for more information.

What is willful misrepresentation?

Willful misrepresentation occurs when you knowingly and purposely make
a false statement in order to get Unemployment Insurance benefits. This
includes knowingly and purposely withholding information. Important:
Willful misrepresentation is fraud. If you willfully make a false statement or
representation to get benefits, you may:

* Be required to pay back the overpayment;

* Be assessed “forfeit days,” or days in the future for which you cannot
receive Unemployment Insurance benefits; and

* Be charged $100 or a 15 percent (whichever is higher) monetary
penalty on the full amount of the overpaid benefits,

What happens if | do not pay back an overpayment or monetary penalty?

If you do not pay back an overpayment of benefits that you received
fraudulently, the Department of Labor may obtain a judgment against you to
collect the overpayment(s).

Failure to repay any benefits that you received because you withheld
information or gave false information to the Department of Labor may result

in the Department of Labor taking legal action to file a judgment against you.
Once entered, a judgment is good and can be used against you for 20 years,
and your money, including a portion of your paycheck and/or bank account,
may be taken. Also, a judgment may hurt your credit score and may affect your
ability to rent a home, find a job or take out a loan.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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New York State also has what is called a “right of offset.” If you do not pay
back benefits that were overpaid to you, we can seize any payments New York
State may owe you. These include future Unemployment Insurance benefits,
contract payments, tax refunds and other payments. We can also seize federal
(IRS) tax refunds and payments to collect any debt you owe us.

Overpayments made by other state or federal programs

If you received benefits that you should not have received from another state
or federal program, the Department of Labor must deduct repayment from
your Unemployment Insurance benefits.

9. What should | do when | return to work?

What should | do when I return to work full time?

When you get a job, you should claim credit for the last days you were out of
work. Then, simply stop claiming benefits.

How do I get benefits again after a break?

If all three of the following conditions apply to you:

* Your benefit year has not ended;

* You have not received 104 days of benefits (this equals 26 full weeks
of benefits); and

* |t has been at least one week since the last week you claimed benefits;

You may simply start claiming benefits again. If you need help claiming
benefits, please see pages 15-22: “How do I claim weekly benefits?”

Important: After you begin claiming benefits again, you may receive a form in
the mail requesting information about the period of time you were not claiming
benefits. It is very important that you complete this form in its entirety and mail it
back to the address shown on the form as soon as possible. If you don’t fill out the
form completely or if you don’t send it back promptly, your benefits may be held
until the Department of Labor receives the information requested.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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10. Hearing and Appeal Process

Can I appeal a determination about my claim?

If you disagree with any determination that denies you benefits or affects the
amount of benefits you can receive, you have the right to request a hearing.
The hearing will be held before an impartial Administrative Law Judge.

For the purposes of the Unemployment Insurance program, a determination

is the formal name for a decision the Department of Labor makes concerning
your claim. It is important to read, understand and keep any notice you receive
from us that has “determination” in its title.

You can request a hearing online at www.labor.ny.gov/signin. Sign in to your
account and click on the envelope icon at the upper right of the My Online
Services page. Then, from the drop-down choices:

* Select “Hearings and Appeals” as the first subject line. Then:
* Select “l want to request a hearing” as the second subject line.

If you do not have an online account with us, please see page 3, Chapter 3 of
this handbook: “Receiving your benefits: your PIN, NY.gov ID, direct deposit
and the debit card” for instructions on how to set one up.

You may also make your request in writing, sign it and mail it to:

New York State Department of Labor
PO Box 15131
Albany, NY 12212-5131

Important: Your online or mail request must be made or postmarked no later
than 30 days from the date of the determination notice that you disagree with.
Include your full name, the last four digits of your Social Security number, the
mailing date of the determination and why you disagree with our decision.

If you request a hearing after the 30-day deadline, you should explain the
reason your request is late and it will be discussed at your hearing. A hearing
request that is made more than 30 days after you receive your determination
can affect the outcome of your hearing.

Benefits may be withheld while you wait for the hearing. If the Administrative
Law Judge decides in your favor, any benefits due you will be paid
retroactively as long as you have continued to claim weekly benefits (certify
for benefits) each week that you are still unemployed or working less than four
days and earning less than the maximum benefit amount. If the Administrative
Law Judge decides against you, you may have to pay back benefits that you
received but were not eligible for.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE: A GLAIMANT HANDBOOK 31



New York State Department of Labor

Please note that
hearings may

be conducted

in person or by
telephone... you
must ensure that
the phone number
listed on your
hearing notice is
correct.

If you ask for a hearing or are waiting for a hearing or a decision, protect
your right to benefits. Continue to follow any instructions you have received
from the Telephone Claims Center.* Important: You must still claim weekly
benefits (certify for benefits) for each week that you are unemployed, or
working less than four days and/or earning less than the maximum benefit
amount, even if you are not receiving benefits. This will allow you to receive
retroactive benefits if the hearing decision is in your favor.

The Administrative Law Judge Section will notify you of the time and place of
your hearing by sending you a Notice of Hearing. Please note that hearings
may be conducted in person or by telephone. If your hearing is scheduled to
be done over the telephone, you must ensure that the phone number listed on
your hearing notice is correct. If you find an error, you should contact the hearing
office listed on your notice immediately to make the necessary corrections

or your hearing may not go forward. If you need to reschedule your hearing,
contact the Administrative Law Judge Section shown on the hearing notice.

May I have representation at hearings?

You have the right to bring an attorney or other representative of your choice

with you to the hearing, though it is not required. Under the law, any attorney

or a representative registered with the Unemployment Insurance Appeal Board
may charge a fee for representing you. Important: This fee can only be charged
if you win your case, including any appeal. You cannot be charged a fee for
services until the amount of the fee has been approved by the Unemployment
Insurance Appeal Board. Both you and your attorney or registered representative
will receive a letter from the Appeal Board notifying you of any fee approval. If you
have won your hearing and receive a bill for services that has not been approved
by the Appeal Board, you should contact the Appeal Board at (518) 402-0205.

If you cannot afford to pay an attorney or a registered representative, you may
be able to get free representation from a pro bono attorney or your local Legal
Aid Society or legal services program.

For a list of legal resources, including attorneys, registered representatives,
legal services programs and pro bono attorneys’ organizations, go to the
Unemployment Insurance Appeal Board website at www.uiab.ny.gov. Click on
the “Resources” tab and then click on “List of Attorneys & Authorized Agents.”
You may also request this list by calling (518) 402-0205.

How can I prepare for a hearing?

You have the right to see your case file before the hearing at the hearing site.
Contact the Hearing Section office shown on the hearing notice to schedule
an appointment to view your file.

At the hearing, you may testify and present witnesses and documents. If you
cannot get necessary evidence, you may ask the Administrative Law Judge to
issue a subpoena to direct the person who has the evidence to bring it in. You
will be allowed to question opposing parties and witnesses at the hearing.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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Before the hearing, you will get a detailed informational pamphlet that

more fully describes the hearing procedure and your rights. If you have any
questions that are not covered in the notice, contact the Hearing Section
office (contact information appears on the Notice of Hearing) or the Claimant
Advocate Office.

The Claimant Advocate Office can be reached by phone at (855) 528-5618 or
email at uiclaimantadvocateoffice@labor.ny.gov. Please do not include personal
or confidential information, such as your full Social Security number, in emails.

What happens if | miss the hearing?

It is very important that you appear at all scheduled hearings whether you or
the employer asked for the hearing. If you fail to appear for a good reason
(“good cause”), you may ask to reopen the case. Fax or mail your written
request, the case number and the reason you did not appear within a
reasonable time of the date of the decision to the Administrative Law Judge
Section address on the front of the decision notice. Attach any documentation
that explains why you did not attend the hearing. Please list any dates in the
next 45 days on which you are not available for a hearing. We will do our best
to accommodate your schedule. Do not request a reopening of your case if
you are not ready to proceed with a new hearing.

At the next scheduled hearing, the Judge will first take testimony on whether
you had good cause for not appearing or proceeding at the prior hearing. The
Judge will decide the other issues in the decision only if you had good cause
for missing the prior hearing.

If you fail to appear at the hearing to reopen, and make another request for a
hearing, the case will not be automatically rescheduled. Instead, your request
to reopen will be referred to the Appeal Board. The Board will review the
application based on documents in the file and grant another hearing only if
it determines that your failure to appear at both prior hearings was for good
cause or if, in its discretion, the Board orders another hearing to consider the
question of good cause.

How will I receive the judge’s decision?

The Judge’s decision will be mailed as soon after the hearing as possible.

It will show the facts found based on evidence, the reasons for the findings
and the decision itself. If you cannot understand the decision, call the
Telephone Claims Center* or the Claimant Advocate Office at (855) 528-5618
to have it explained to you.

How do I further appeal if | disagree with the judge’s decision?

You, the employer and the Commissioner of Labor have the right to appeal an
Administrative Law Judge’s decision to the Unemployment Insurance Appeal
Board. The notice telling you the Administrative Law Judge’s decision will also
explain how to file an appeal with the Unemployment Insurance Appeal Board.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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In order to appeal, you must have been present or represented at the hearing
before the Administrative Law Judge. Only the Commissioner of Labor may
appeal without being represented at the hearing.

You may send your appeal to the Unemployment Insurance Appeal Board at
PO Box 15126, Albany, NY 12212-5126, or by fax to (518) 402-6208. Your letter
or fax must include the Administrative Law Judge Case Number (listed on the
decision above the claimant’s name).

Important: Appeals must be filed with the Appeal Board within 20 days after
the Administrative Law Judge’s decision is mailed to you. You will receive

a Notice of Receipt of Appeal. It will explain your rights and the time limits for
you to inspect the file, request the transcript of your hearing, submit a written
statement and reply to statements submitted by other parties. These time
limits will be strictly enforced. Therefore, you should read the Notice of Receipt
of Appeal promptly and very carefully.

If more than 20 days have passed from the date your decision was mailed,
you must explain why your appeal is late. You will receive a letter confirming
receipt of your appeal; however, your late appeal must be reviewed by the
Appeal Board. If the reason for your late appeal is accepted, you will receive a
Notice of Receipt of Appeal with the instructions listed above. If the reason for
your late appeal is not accepted, you will receive a letter telling you that.

If you plan to appeal or are waiting for an appeal decision, protect your right
to benefits. Continue to follow any instructions received from the Telephone
Claims Center.* Important: You must still claim weekly benefits (certify for
benefits) for each week that you are unemployed or working less than four
days and earning less than the maximum benefit amount, even if you are
not receiving benefits. This will allow you to receive retroactive benefits if the
appeal decision is in your favor.

How do I further appeal if | disagree with the Appeal Board’s decision?

If you disagree with the Unemployment Insurance Appeal Board’s decision,
you may further appeal to the Appellate Division of the New York State
Supreme Court, Third Department. The employer or the Commissioner of
Labor may do the same.

Appeals to the Supreme Court must be filed with the Appeal Board in writing
within 30 days after the Appeal Board’s decision is mailed to you. Mail your
appeal to:

Unemployment Insurance Appeal Board
PO Box 15126
Albany, NY 12212-5126

The Appeal Board will then send you a notice with instructions on how to
proceed with your appeal to the State Supreme Court.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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If you plan to appeal to the State Supreme Court or are waiting for a decision
from the Court, protect your right to benefits. Continue to follow any
instructions received from the Telephone Claims Center.* Important: You must
still claim weekly benefits (certify for benefits) for each week that you are
unemployed or working less than four days and earning less than the
maximum benefit, even if you are not receiving benefits. This will allow you
to receive retroactive benefits if the appeal decision is in your favor.

Phone Numbers — Hearing Section Offices:

Brooklyn (Schermerhorn Street) (718) 613-3500
Buffalo (716) 851-2711
Garden City (516) 228-3908

Hauppauge (631) 952-6504
Rochester (585) 258-4540
Syracuse (315) 479-3380
Troy (518) 402-0210
White Plains (914) 997-9550

11. Special situations

What if | have a question about my benefits and | can’t get through to the
Telephone Claims Center?*

First, check this claimant handbook. You can also check the FAQs (Frequently
Asked Questions) on our website at http://labor.ny.gov/ui/fag.shtm.

You can also send us a secure message from your online account. Sign in to
your account at www.labor.ny.gov/signin. Then click on the envelope icon at
the upper right of the My Online Services page.

If you must call the Telephone Claims Center,* please be patient and keep
trying. Monday and the day after a public holiday are the busiest days for
phone calls. Thursday and Friday are less busy.

What if | think my benefits are late? Also, how do | check my payment
history and/or payment status?

To check the status of your benefits and for a complete record of your
Unemployment Insurance benefit payments, sign in to your online account
at www.labor.ny.gov/signin. On the My Online Services page, click on
“Unemployment Services,” then “View Payment History.”

You can also call our Tel-Service automated telephone service at (888) 581-
5812. Follow the prompts to check your payment history and payment status.
TTY/TDD users call (877) 205-3119. Video Relay Service users, contact your
relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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Important: After we determine that you are eligible, it takes at least three
business days for benefit payments to appear on your debit card or in your
bank account via direct deposit after they are released. If three days have
passed since a payment was released and the funds are not in your account,
you should contact KeyBank Customer Service at (866) 295-2955 if you have
a debit card. If you have direct deposit, contact your bank. If there is a holiday
in a given week, payments may be delayed by one day that week.

If you have a question about your claim or payments, call the Telephone
Claims Center.* If there is a problem with your claim, the Telephone Claims
Center* may contact you. This gives you the chance to respond to information
we have received about your claim. If you do not respond promptly and as
instructed, your benefits could be delayed.

My benefits have stopped. What is going on?

Most likely, either you missed a work search appointment (please see page

27: "What happens if | miss my work search meeting?”) or the Department

of Labor received information that may affect your eligibility for benefits.

That information may have come from a former employer, a questionnaire

you returned, or you may have tried to certify for benefits from outside the
United States (please see page 15 “What if | travel outside my area or outside
the country?”). When this happens, we are required to investigate and your
benefits may be held.

This investigation can take several weeks. You should respond to any
questionnaires, messages, or phone calls from us as quickly as possible. The
Telephone Claims Center* cannot authorize the payment of benefits while an
investigation is going on. When the investigation is complete, you will either
receive all benefits due or receive a Notice of Determination from us in the mail.

If your benefits have been held for five or more weeks and you have heard
nothing, at that point we suggest you call the Telephone Claims Center.*

Important: While the investigation continues, please continue to claim weekly
benefits as long as you are unemployed and meet the eligibility requirements.

If I receive dismissal or severance pay, will it affect my benefits?

You may be eligible for Unemployment Insurance if the weekly payments

of dismissal or severance are less than the maximum benefit rate. You must
notify the Telephone Claims Center* if you receive or will receive dismissal or
severance pay. If you do not, you may receive an overpayment, which you will
need to pay back. You also may be subject to other penalties.

You will not be eligible for benefits if:

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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* You receive weekly dismissal or severance payments that are greater
than the maximum weekly benefit rate; or

* Your employer gave you a lump sum payment and the weekly pro-
rated amount of the payment is greater than the maximum weekly
benefit rate.

You may be eligible to collect benefits if:

* The weekly amount of dismissal or severance pay is less than the
maximum weekly benefit rate; or

* You receive your first dismissal or severance payment more than 30
days after the last day you worked.

If you are still unemployed when your dismissal or severance pay ends, you
should file a claim for benefits. You should do this even if you are not sure if
you have enough earnings, or if you filed a claim when you started receiving
dismissal or severance pay. We will determine if you are eligible for benefits.

If I lose my full-time work and have a part-time job on the side, do | have to
keep the part-time job?

This question can arise for people who work two jobs, such as a full-time job
and a part-time side job that pays less than the main job. If they lose their main
job, their earnings from the part-time job can be less than they would receive
in Unemployment Insurance benefits for the days they work at the side job.
Their income is actually reduced for continuing to work the side job while they
receive Unemployment Insurance benefits.

Under New York’s Unemployment Insurance law, someone in this situation
could lose benefits for quitting the side job, even though it was actually costing
them money. However, the Department of Labor recognizes that this can cause
financial hardship for claimants who are trying to do the right thing. If you find
yourself in this situation, we suggest you try to reschedule your part-time job
hours into one to two days per week. If you do quit your side/part-time job, you
must be prepared to show the Department of Labor your income and expenses.

Can I use military service to establish a claim?
You may be able to use military service to establish a claim if you meet certain
conditions. Call the Telephone Claims Center* for more information.

If you have not done so already, mail a copy of your most recent separation
Form DD214, Member 4 to:

New York State Department of Labor
PO Box 15130
Albany, NY 12212-5130

Wages earned while in the reserves can be used to establish a claim, if a
reservist has 90 consecutive days of active duty service.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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How does military reserve training affect my existing claim?

Members of the state Army National Guard or reserves of the Army, Navy, Air
Force, Marine Corps or Coast Guard are not eligible to receive Unemployment
Insurance benefits while in annual field training. You are considered both
unavailable for work and not totally unemployed. However, your monthly drill
sessions do not affect eligibility for your full weekly benefit amount. Be sure
you have sent in Form DD214, Member 4 to the address on page 37 under
“Can | use military service to establish a claim?”

What if | work for an educational institution?

If you work for an educational institution, you may not be eligible for
Unemployment Insurance benefits. If the educational institution you work

for has told you that you will have employment for the next academic year

or term, you could be denied benefits or have your benefits reduced for the
time period between academic years or terms or for a holiday recess. If this is
the case, the wages you earned while working for that educational institution
cannot be used for a claim between school terms or during recess periods

if you have reasonable assurance of similar employment in the next term or
after the recess period. If you have enough employment and earnings with
employers other than educational institutions, you may be able to establish a
claim based on the other employment.

If you were not offered an opportunity to work for the educational institution
when the new term or year began, you may be able to get retroactive
payments of benefits. This is only if you did not work in an instructional,
research or principal administrative position. You must have continued to

claim weekly benefits (certify for benefits) each week during the period of your
unemployment, even if you were not getting benefit payments.

Does receiving a pension affect my benefits?

If you have retired and are not looking for work, you are not eligible for
Unemployment Insurance benefits. If you retired from a job and are actively
looking for other work, you may be eligible for Unemployment Insurance
benefits. You must meet the same conditions as all other claimants.

Your benefits will be reduced by 100 percent of the amount of the pension if
your base period employer contributed to it, regardless of whether or not you
contributed to the pension. If you were the sole contributor to the pension,
your benefits will not be reduced.

The Department of Labor will determine if your benefits must be reduced. You
may request a hearing if you disagree. Please see pages 31- 35: “Hearing and
Appeal Process.”

If you become eligible for a pension while receiving Unemployment Insurance
benefits, you must notify the Telephone Claims Center.* Important: If you don’t
notify us, you may receive an overpayment which you will need to pay back. If

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.

38

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE: A GLAIMANT HANDBOOK



You may be able
to participate in
an education or
training program
while collecting
benefits if you
enroll in the 599
Program.

New York State Department of Labor

we find that you acted fraudulently, you may also forfeit future days of benefits
and be subject to monetary penalties.

Does receiving Social Security affect my benefits?

Collecting Social Security will not affect your Unemployment Insurance
benefits. However, you must be available for and looking for work with no
restrictions while collecting benefits, just like all other claimants.

Does receiving workers’ compensation affect my benefits?

If you are receiving workers’ compensation but you are available and physically
able to perform work, you may be eligible for Unemployment Insurance benefits.
However, receiving workers’ compensation benefits may cause your weekly
Unemployment Insurance benefit rate to be reduced. The total weekly amount
of your workers’ compensation and Unemployment Insurance benefits cannot
be more than the average weekly wage you earned during your base period.

If you are able to return to work, be prepared to send us a copy of your most
recent SROI (Subsequent Report of Injury) filing. A paper copy should have
been mailed to you. Or, you can print it out from your workers’ compensation
electronic case folder. Please also be prepared to send us a note signed by
your doctor that says you are able to return to work.

You must notify the Telephone Claims Center* about any workers’ compensation
benefits you receive during the same weeks you collect Unemployment
Insurance benefits. Important: If you do not notify us, you may receive an
overpayment which you will need to pay back. The Department of Labor will
determine if your benefits must be reduced. You may request a hearing if you
disagree. Please see pages 31— 35: “Hearing and Appeal Process.”

Can I go to school or training while receiving benefits?

You may be able to participate in an education or training program while
collecting benefits if you enroll in the 599 Program. Important: Notify the
Department of Labor as soon as you are enrolled in training. If you are
approved for training under this program, you are not required to look for work.
The 599 Program does not pay for tuition or other school-related expenses.

Training programs must meet certain requirements to be approved for the 599
Program. Please call the 599 Training Program Central Review Unit at (518) 402-
0189 to request an application or get general information. Important: You must
apply for the 599 Program within the first 13 weeks of your claim to receive
maximum benefits. Your local New York State Career Center can help you find
training programs in your area. To find your closest New York State Career Center,
go to www.labor.ny.gov or call the Department of Labor Contact Center at (888)
4-NYSDOL ((888) 469-7365) between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday - Friday.

If you indicated that you are attending or will attend a training program when
you filed your claim, we will contact you to review your course or program. If

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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If you do not have

a high school
diploma, you may
be eligible to get

a high school
equivalency degree
while receiving
Unemployment
Insurance.

you delay telling us about training acceptance or attendance, you may lose
some benefits. If you fail to tell us that you are in training while receiving
benefits, you may be subject to penalties. You could lose future benefits.

If your training is approved under the 599 Program, you may be eligible for

up to an extra 26 weeks of benefits -- in addition to the usual 26 weeks.
However, funding for these extra benefits is not always available. If funds are
not available, it is possible that you could be approved for extra benefits, but
not receive them. Or, if you do begin receiving benefits, they could stop before
you finish your training.

If you do not have a high school diploma, you may be eligible to get a high
school equivalency degree while receiving Unemployment Insurance. If you
have limited English skills you may also be approved to attend English as a
Second Language class training. Contact your local New York State Career
Center for more information.

What if | am in the New York State Registered Apprenticeship Program?

If you are in a New York State Registered Apprenticeship Program and
are attending Apprenticeship training while claiming Unemployment
Insurance benefits, you must tell the Telephone Claims Center* that your
training is a requirement of your agreement (AT401) for the Registered
Apprenticeship Program.

If you are interested in participating in a Registered Apprenticeship Program,
contact your local Apprenticeship office for more information. For a listing of
Apprenticeship offices, go to www.labor.ny.gov/apprenticeship/contactus.shtm.

Starting a business: the Self~Employment Assistance Program (SEAP)

The Self-Employment Assistance Program, or SEAP, allows you to start your
own business while collecting Unemployment Insurance benefits. When your
business begins making money, you can continue to collect benefits up to

26 weeks. You do not have to look for other work while participating in the
SEAP program, but you must work full time on your business. Important: To be
eligible for this program, you must be identified by us as likely to exhaust
your Unemployment Insurance benefits before finding work. In addition, you
must have 13 or more weeks of benefits left on your claim when you apply for
the SEAP. You must meet program eligibility requirements and receive written
acceptance from the Department of Labor into the SEAP before you can start
or operate your own business while collecting benefits.

For more information about the SEAP, go to www.labor.ny.gov/seap or contact
your local New York State Career Center. To find your closest New York State
Career Center, go to http://labor.ny.gov/career-center-locator/, or call the
Department of Labor Contact Center at (888) 4-NYSDOL ((888) 469-7365)
between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday - Friday.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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I lost my job due to foreign trade. What is Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA)?

If you were laid off due to a lack of work either directly or indirectly because of
foreign trade, you may be eligible for the federal Trade Adjustment Assistance
program, or TAA for short. TAA assistance may include:

¢ Help finding and training for a new job. This can include assessing
your skills, career counseling, help with resume writing and interview
skills, job referrals and more.

* Transportation and subsistence payments can help you pay for extra
transportation and living costs when attending training outside your
commuting area.

¢ Job search allowances can help pay for some travel expenses to job
interviews outside your commuting area.

* Relocation allowances can help pay moving expenses for you and your
family if you must move outside your commuting area for a new job.

* Trade Adjustment Allowances (TRA for short). This weekly allowance is
payable after you have exhausted your Unemployment Insurance benefits.

¢ Alternate or Reemployment Trade Adjustment Allowances (ATAA or
RTAA for short). If you are at least 50 years of age and you get a new
full-time job within 26 weeks of losing a job due to foreign trade, you
may be eligible for these allowances. They help bridge any salary gap
between your old and your new job.

Important: You must meet certain deadlines to qualify for some of these benéefits.

To be eligible for these benefits, the United States Department of Labor must
certify that foreign trade was an important reason that you lost your job. A
petition must be filed to receive this certification. The petition can be filed by:

¢ A group of three co-workers from the same firm at the same job location;

e A union official;

e A company official; or

* A representative of a state or local agency at your local New York State
Career Center.

You can get a petition form and filing instructions online at
www.doleta.gov/tradeact/petitions.cfm. The petition must be filed with the
United States Department of Labor within one year of the date you lost your
job. Once a valid petition is received by the United States Department of
Labor, a decision should be made within 40 days.

For more detailed information about assistance and services you may be eligible
for under this program, contact your local New York State Career Center. To find

the closest Career Center, go to http://labor.ny.gov/career-center-locator/ or

call the New York State Department of Labor Contact Center at (888) 4-NYSDOL
((888) 469-7365) between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday - Friday.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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You can change your
address with the
Department of Labor
either online or by
calling the Telephone
Claims Center.*

It’s unlikely I’ll be able to find another job in my old industry or occupation.
What are “dislocated worker” services?

A “dislocated worker” is someone who lost their job due to one of the
following situations:

* You were terminated or laid off from your job, are eligible for
Unemployment Insurance benefits and are identified by us as unlikely
to return to your previous industry or occupation;

* You lost your job as a result of a plant closing or substantial layoff;

* You have been unemployed for a long time and are unlikely to get
another job in the same or similar occupation; or

* You were self-employed and are unemployed due to general economic
conditions or a natural disaster.

You may also be considered a dislocated worker if you have been away from the
labor force for many years. For example: you were a full-time homemaker and you
must now return to the labor force because you have lost your source of income.

As a dislocated worker, you may be eligible for retraining and other services.
Contact your local New York State Career Center for information about
services available under this program. To find your closest New York State
Career Center, go to http://labor.ny.gov/career-center-locator/ or call the New
York State Department of Labor Contact Center at (888) 4-NYSDOL ((888) 469-
7365) between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m Monday - Friday.

What if | worked outside of New York State?

If you have not worked in New York State in the last 18 months, you must file
your claim with one of the states where you worked. Check the other state’s
website to find out how to file in that state.

What if I plan to move out of New York State?
The Telephone Claims Center* can tell you how to transfer your claim.

You can change your address with the Department of Labor either online or by
calling the Telephone Claims Center.* To change your address online, sign in to
your account at www.labor.ny.gov/signin and click on “Unemployment Services”

on the My Online Services page. This brings you to the Unemployment Insurance
Benefits Online page. Click the “Claim Weekly Benefits” button, which brings you to
the Benefit Payments page. Click the “Continue” button at the bottom of that page,
which will bring you to the Claim Weekly Benefits page. Click the “Change Address/
Telephone Number” button to change your address and/or phone number.

You can also change your address by calling the Telephone Claims Center.* At
the Main Menu, select the option “For PIN or Address Changes.”

You must also update your contact information for your Unemployment Insurance
benefits payment method. Direct deposit users should contact their bank. Debit card
users should contact KeyBank Customer Service at (866) 295-2955.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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Unemployment Insurance benefits are taxable

Unemployment Insurance benefits are subject to federal, New York State

and local taxes. You can have federal and/or state tax withheld from your
Unemployment Insurance benefits. If you do not, you may end up owing taxes
at the end of the year. If you decide to have federal tax withheld, ten percent
of your weekly benefit amount will be withheld. If you decide to have state
tax withheld, 2.5 percent of your weekly benefit amount will be withheld.
Federal and/or state tax will be withheld only after any mandatory deductions,
such as child support payments, are made. Tax withholding is voluntary.

You can stop or start the withholding at any time through your account at
www.labor.ny.gov/signin or by calling the Telephone Claims Center.* The
Department of Labor cannot return any money withheld for taxes to you.

Year-end tax statement (Form 1099-G)

In early January, your tax statement (Form 1099-G) will be available. It will show
the total Unemployment Insurance benefits paid to you during the calendar year
and any taxes withheld. You can either print it out from your online account at
www.labor.ny.gov/signin, or you can call the Telephone Claims Center* (after
you select your language, follow the prompts to obtain your 1099 form) to have
a copy mailed to you. You will need the PIN you established when you filed

your claim. Form 1099-G information is also sent to the federal Internal Revenue
Service and to the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance.

If you have questions about federal taxes, call the Internal Revenue Service
(IRS) at (800) 829-1040 or visit www.irs.gov. If you have questions about state
taxes, call the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance at (518)
457-5181 or visit www.tax.ny.gov.

My employer paid me as an independent contractor and/or paid me off the
books. What do | do?

It is against the law for any employer to force you to give up your rights to file
for Unemployment Insurance benefits. No employer should tell you that you
cannot claim benefits. Everyone has a right to file a claim. The Department of
Labor will decide if you are eligible for benefits. It does not matter whether
your employer considered you an independent contractor or an off-the-books
worker. It does not matter whether you were paid in cash, check, part cash/
part check or otherwise. If you think you may be eligible for benefits, you
should apply and let the Department review your case.

If you have been misclassified as an independent contractor or paid off the
books, your wages may not appear on your Monetary Benefit Determination
form. Please see page 10: “If wages and/or employers are missing from your
Monetary Benefit Determination notice.” Complete and return the Request for
Reconsideration form found at the back of this handbook.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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You may receive a questionnaire to fill out or you may be contacted by

the Telephone Claims Center* about your employee classification status.
Complete and return any questionnaires you receive as soon as possible.
Please note: Independent contractor/off-the-books payment issues can take
more than six weeks to resolve.

If you know of other workers who have been misclassified, call the Employer
Fraud Hotline at (866) 435-1499 (24 hours) or the Unemployment Insurance
Fraud Unit at (518) 485-2144 from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday - Friday. We will
keep your information private and you can remain anonymous.

12. Definitions of important terms

Base Period: A base period represents one year of your work and wages (four
calendar quarters). You must have been paid a minimum amount of wages in
these four quarters in order to qualify for Unemployment Insurance benefits.

Basic Base Period: The first four of the last five completed calendar
quarters before you file for benefits. The quarter in which you file for
benefits does not count as part of your base period.

Alternate Base Period: The last four completed calendar quarters
immediately before you file for benefits. The quarter in which you file for
benefits does not count as part of the Alternate Base Period.

Extended Base Period: Your Basic Base Period, plus the one or two
quarters preceding it, make up your Extended Base Period. Available only
to claimants who received workers compensation or volunteer firefighters’
benefits and who do not qualify on the basis of earnings in their Basic or
Alternate Base Periods.

Benefit Rate: The benefit rate is the amount of money you receive if you are
eligible for a full week of Unemployment Insurance benefits. It is calculated
based on your base period employment and earnings.

Benefit Year: The benefit year is the one-year period that begins the Monday
after the week you filed your original claim. You can be paid benefits for up to
26 weeks or the equivalent during your benefit year.

Benefit Year Ending Date: The benefit year ending date is the date your
Unemployment Insurance claim ends. After the benefit year ending date, you
can no longer collect Unemployment Insurance benefits on that claim. Your
benefit year ending date is shown on documents that we mail to you. You can
also find it through your online account at www.labor.ny.gov/signin. If you
were employed for part of your benefit year, but are unemployed after the
benefit year ending date, you can file a new claim on our website or by calling
the Telephone Claims Center.*

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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Certifying for Benefits: The process of claiming weekly benefits is also called

certifying for benefits. This is because when you answer the questions that are
part of claiming weekly benefits, you are certifying to the Department of Labor
that your answers are true and correct.

Claimant: Any person seeking Unemployment Insurance benefits.

Covered Employment: The law requires most employers to provide
Unemployment Insurance coverage. The employer pays contributions to New
York State, which are used to pay your benefits. There are a few types of
work that are not covered by Unemployment Insurance. If your work was not
covered, the Department of Labor will tell you so in a letter.

Determination: For the purposes of the Unemployment Insurance program,

a determination is the formal name for a decision the Department of

Labor makes concerning your claim. For example, the Monetary Benefit
Determination form tells you our decision about how much you may receive in
benefits each week. An eligibility determination tells you if you are eligible for
benefits. It is important to read, understand and keep any notice you receive
from us that has “determination” in its title.

Dislocated Worker: A dislocated worker is someone who lost their job due to
one of the following situations:

* You were terminated or laid off from your job, are eligible for
Unemployment Insurance benefits and are identified by us as unlikely
to return to your previous industry or occupation;

* You lost your job as a result of a plant closing or substantial layoff;

* You have been unemployed for a long time and are unlikely to get
another job in the same or similar occupation; or

* You were self-employed and are unemployed due to general economic
conditions or a natural disaster.

You may also be considered a dislocated worker if you have been away from
the labor force for a substantial number of years.

Effective Day: Each day in a week (Monday through Sunday) that you qualify
for benefits is called an effective day. There is a maximum of four effective
days each week, and you must qualify for all four effective days in order to
receive your total weekly benefit rate. For each day in the week that you are
not eligible to receive benefits, you will receive one less effective day, which
is equivalent to one fourth of your weekly benefit rate. For example, if you are
not available to work one day in a week, or if you have worked any part of

a day, or have received vacation or holiday pay for one day in a week, your
benefits will be reduced by one effective day (the same as one-quarter of your
benefit rate). You can receive a maximum of 104 effective days on your claim.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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599 Program: A program that allows you to attend school or training while
receiving Unemployment Insurance benefits. You must notify the Department
of Labor as soon as you are enrolled in training.

Forfeit Days: Forfeit days are days in the future when you are eligible to
receive benefits, but cannot because you have forfeited your right to receive
benefits for those days as a penalty.

Fraud: An act of deceiving or misrepresenting (Webster’'s New Collegiate
Dictionary). For example, certifying that you were not working when in fact you
were working in order to receive Unemployment Insurance benefits.

Misconduct: Misconduct is any act or omission which you knew was not permitted
on the job and which caused or could have caused harm to the employer.

Monetary Benefit Determination: A notice that shows whether or not you
have enough wages to qualify for benefits. It shows your base period, benefit
rate (if any) and employers and wages used to calculate the benefit rate.
Important: The Monetary Benefit Determination does not tell you if you are
eligible for Unemployment Insurance benefits. It simply shows if you have
enough wages to qualify. There may be other factors that determine whether
or not you are eligible for benefits.

Overpayment: An overpayment occurs when you receive Unemployment
Insurance benefits that you were not entitled to. In most cases, overpayments
must be repaid to the Department of Labor.

Self-Employment Assistance Program (also referred to as SEAP): The Self-
Employment Assistance Program allows certain unemployed people to start their

own businesses while collecting Unemployment Insurance benefits. To be eligible

for this program, you must be identified by the Department of Labor as likely to
exhaust benefits. You must also have 13 or more weeks of benefits left on your claim.
You must request and receive written acceptance into the SEAP program from

the Department of Labor before you can start or operate your own business while
collecting benefits. If you are accepted into the SEAP, you will be able to work full time
to start and run your business while collecting Unemployment Insurance benefits, even
if you earn money from your business. For more information about the SEAP, go to
www.labor.ny.gov/seap or contact your local New York State Career Center. To find your
closest New York State Career Center, go to http://labor.ny.gov/career-center-locator/
or call the Department of Labor Contact Center at (888) 4-NYSDOL ((888) 469-7365)
between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday - Friday.

TAA Program: The Trade Adjustment Assistance (Trade Act) program is a
federal program that provides special benefits and services to workers who
have lost their jobs as a result of foreign trade. Contact your local New York
State Career Center for more information. To find your closest New York State
Career Center, go to http://labor.ny.gov/career-center-locator/ or call the
Department of Labor Contact Center at (888) 4-NYSDOL ((888) 469-7365)
between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday - Friday.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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Unemployment Insurance Cutoff Wage (Ul Cutoff Wage): A wage that
is 10 percent below the Unemployment Insurance prevailing wage for a
given occupation.

Unemployment Insurance Prevailing Wage: The prevailing wage is the
pay rate for similar jobs in a given area as determined by a survey done
by the Department of Labor. Important: The Unemployment Insurance
prevailing wage is to be used for Unemployment Insurance purposes
only. It is not to be used for prevailing wages for Public Work or Foreign
Labor Certification purposes, for example. To find the Unemployment
Insurance prevailing wage for a given occupation, please go to
http://www.labor.ny.gov/stats/uiwages.shtm or check with your local New
York State Career Center.

Week of Employment: A Monday-through-Sunday time period in which you
were paid wages for work in covered employment.

Waiting Period or Week: The first full week you claim benefits is a waiting
period or week. You will not receive Unemployment Insurance benefits for this
week. After this waiting week, you will receive Unemployment Insurance for
each week that you claim weekly benefits.

You must be ready, willing and able to work during this waiting week, just

like any other week for which you want to receive Unemployment Insurance
benefits. In addition, you must fulfill all work search and related record-
keeping requirements. For more information, please see pages 23 - 28: “What
are the work search requirements?”

If you work at all during the first week of your claim or do not serve a full waiting
week for other reasons, the waiting period will extend into the next week(s).

Week Ending Date: The week ending date is the Sunday of the week for
which you are claiming benefits.

Work Search Plan: A Work Search Plan is a formal agreement that is developed
and signed by you and your Workforce Advisor at your local New York State Career
Center. This agreement spells out in writing exactly what type of work you are
looking for, what work search activities you will do and how often you will do them,
and the wages you must seek and accept if offered a job. The plan will also address
any limitations or restrictions that may affect your job search. To find your closest
New York State Career Center, go to http://labor.ny.gov/career-center-locator/ or
call the Department of Labor Contact Center at (888) 4-NYSDOL ((888) 469-7365)
between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday - Friday.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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13. Appendix: Claimant Advocate Office:

Helping claimants understand their rights and responsibilities throughout
the Unemployment Insurance process

If you have read this handbook and called the Telephone Claims Center,* and
you still have questions about Unemployment Insurance, our Claimant
Advocate Office can help. This free, impartial service is available to all
claimants, especially those with limited English proficiency or other barriers.

Important: It takes three to six weeks from the time you file your claim to when you receive your first
payment, because we have to review and process your application for benefits. You will not receive

benefits during this time period. If this time has not lapsed, please continue to wait for the review
process to be finished. Also, the Claimant Advocate Office is separate from the Telephone Claims
Center.* Advocates are not able to process claims, make determinations or expedite a claim.

The Claimant
Advocate office is
separate from the
Telephone Claims
Center*

How we can help

Advocates can help claimants understand:

e Their rights and responsibilities;

* An Unemployment Insurance determination and other correspondence;
* How to proceed with a hearing; and

* How to appeal a decision.

What we cannot do

Advocates cannot:

* Provide legal representation;

* Expedite your claim;

* Make a determination about your eligibility;
¢ Influence the outcome of a claim; or

* Pay benefits.

Case assistance guidelines

Advocates can help claimants that meet the guidelines below. Please read the
guidelines and find the situation that you are in.

1. Have you filed a claim but have not heard from the Department of Labor?

Before an Advocate can help you, please make sure you have done the following:

¢ Allowed at least five weeks to pass since you first filed a claim (new
claims). New claims normally take three to six weeks to be reviewed
and processed. Please do not contact this office until it has been five
weeks. If it has been less than five weeks, please continue to wait.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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¢ Claimed (certified for) weekly benefits every week you were
unemployed and ready, willing and able to work. Not sure what it
means to claim (certify for) weekly benefits? Please see Chapter 6 of
this handbook: “How do I claim weekly benefits?” on page 15. If you
missed claiming benefits for a week, please see page 17: “When to
claim weekly benefits” to learn how to request credit for the week(s)
you missed.

¢ Contacted the Telephone Claims Center* by web or phone. We
understand that call wait times can be lengthy, especially earlier in the week
and around a holiday. We encourage you to call more than once a day. You
can also contact the Telephone Claims Center* by secure message. Sign
in to your online account at www.labor.ny.gov/signin. Then, click on the
envelope icon at the upper right of the My Online Services page.

If it has been more than five weeks since you filed your claim and you have
not heard from the Department of Labor, you can call the Telephone Claims
Center* or contact a Claimant Advocate.

If you do not meet these guidelines, this office will probably not be able to
help you. Remember that all claims must be reviewed and processed. This can
take up to six weeks. If your claim is under review, you must wait for the review
process to be finished. If benefits have stopped and you have not received a
questionnaire, please contact the Telephone Claims Center* to ask why the
benefits have stopped.

2. Are you trying to file a claim, but the system told you to speak with a
Telephone Claims Center* representative and you cannot reach someone?

You must keep trying to speak with a representative at the Telephone Claims
Center,* because they are the only ones who can complete your claim. We
understand that call wait times can be lengthy, especially earlier in the week
and around a holiday. We encourage you to call more than once a day. If you
are unable to reach a representative and you miss the week that you are trying
to file, the Telephone Claims Center* can back date a claim for up to a week.

3. Were you receiving benefits but they stopped unexpectedly?

If you were receiving benefits but they have stopped due to an issue, make
sure you have done the following before contacting an Advocate:

* If you were unable to claim weekly benefits and were told to call
(855) 822-6536, our New Hire Call Center, make sure you have called
that number first;

e Followed instructions and returned any questionnaires and/or
paperwork requested;

¢ Allowed two weeks to pass after you responded to a questionnaire or
spoke to an agent; and

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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a maximum of 26
weeks of benefits.

e Contacted the Telephone Claims Center.* We understand that call
wait times can be lengthy, especially earlier in the week and around a
holiday. We encourage you to call more than once a day. You can also
contact the Telephone Claims Center* by secure message. Sign in to
your online account at www.labor.ny.gov/signin. Then, click on the
envelope icon at the upper right of the My Online Services page.

¢ |f you have followed these steps and you still do not have a response,
please contact a Claimant Advocate.

4. Did you receive a determination that says you are not eligible for
benefits, but you disagree?

Claimant Advocates can answer your questions about the hearing or appeal process.

¢ We can explain how to request a hearing or appeal; and
¢ We can explain how to prepare for a hearing.

5. Did you receive a determination but you do not understand what it means?

Claimant Advocates can explain the determination. Please have the letter with
you when you call.

6. Did you exhaust your 26 weeks and want to know what you can do to
extend benefits?

Currently, Unemployment Insurance offers a maximum of 26 weeks of
benefits. There are no exceptions. Congress has not extended the program.
This office cannot help you get additional weeks because none are available.
If you are still unemployed and want to know what other benefits may be
available to you, visit the www.mybenefits.ny.gov website.

7. You have tried contacting the Telephone Claims Center* and cannot get through?

Unfortunately, there are times of the week and the year when the wait times
on phones are longer than other times. Mondays and the day after a holiday
are usually the busiest. Remember, you can always send a secure message
through your online account. Sign in at www.labor.ny.gov/signin. Then, click
on the envelope icon at the upper right of the My Online Services page.

8. You have not yet filed a claim and have questions about the process?

This office can only help after you file a claim. Read

the Frequently Asked Questions on our website at
http://labor.ny.gov/ui/claimantinfo/beforeyouapplyfaq.shtm and this
claimant handbook. If you still have questions, send a secure message
through your online account. Sign in at www.labor.ny.gov/signin. Then, click
on the envelope icon at the upper right of the My Online Services page.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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This office cannot determine if you will be eligible for benefits or influence a
determination. The only way to find out if you are eligible for benefits is by
filing a claim. The Department of Labor’s claim specialists must review the
claim and make a determination.

Requesting case assistance

If you meet the guidelines above, you may contact this office. Services are
available in approximately 200 languages.

Hours of operation: Monday - Friday, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Call toll-free: (855) 528-5618
When you call, please have:

* Your Social Security number;
e A list of questions; and
* Any related documents.

Email: UlClaimantAdvocateOffice@labor.ny.gov. Important: Please email only
the last four digits of your Social Security number; not the entire number.
Also include your full name.

Our office staff are not lawyers, and they cannot represent you at a hearing. If
you cannot afford to pay an attorney or a registered representative, you may be
able to get free representation from a pro bono attorney or your local Legal Aid
Society or legal services program. For a list of legal resources, including attorneys,
registered representatives, legal services programs and pro bono attorneys’
organizations, go to the Unemployment Insurance Appeal Board website at
www.uiab.ny.gov. Click on the “Resources” tab and then click on “List of Attorneys
& Authorized Agents.” You may also request this list by calling (518) 402-0205.

14. Forms
The following pages contain forms referenced throughout this document:

* A Work Search Record is used to record and document your work
search efforts.

* A Request for Reconsideration form may be used to notify the
Telephone Claims Center* that you disagree with information on your
Monetary Benefit Determination notice.

* A Request for Alternate Base Period may be used to increase your
benefit rate if your high quarter wages are in the alternate quarter.

* A Request for Rate Based on Weeks of Employment form and instructions.
* Voter Registration form. Do not return this form to the Department of
Labor. A completed Voter Registration form must be returned to your
local Board of Elections at the address listed on the instruction page.

*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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*To reach the Telephone Claims Center, please call (888) 209-8124. TTY/TDD users: call a relay operator at (800) 662-1220 and ask the operator
to call (888) 783-1370. Video or other types of relay service users contact your relay operator and ask the relay operator to call (888) 783-1370.
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NV xORK | Department Work Search Record For Week Ending: / /

oproRTUNTY. | of | abor (Use Sunday date)
Last Name: First Name NYS ID#: NY or SS No: XXX-XX-
(Found at the top of appointment letters) (Last four digits only)

This form may be used to record your work search activities. Instructions are on the back. You can also use the Work Search Record on our JobZone website instead
of this form. Simply click on the JobZone Work Search link when you claim weekly Unemployment Insurance benefits online.

Businesses/Employers Contacted: List jobs you have applied for, interviews you have attended, and businesses/employers you have contacted during the
week shown above. All columns should be filled in to the best of your ability. Use additional sheets of paper if needed. The first row is an example.

Date Position Business/Employer Name and title Method Contact information for Result of contact
of applied name of person of contact method of contact listed (if known)
contact for contacted (In person, phone, fax, | (address, telephone number, (Interview, waiting for
(if known) email, web site, etc.) email, website/URL, fax response, not hired)
number)
John Smith,
1/2/2014 Clerk ABC Industries HR Director email j.smith@abcinc.com Set up interview

Work Search Activities: List things you did to find a job that were not business/employer contacts. See Instructions on the back for suggested activities. The first row is an example.

Date of activity Activity performed

1/3/2014 Attended a resume preparation workshop at the Career Center

WS5 (04/15) Equal Opportunity Program - Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
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New York State Department of Labor IMPORTANT!

PO Box 15130 This form must be received within 30

Albany, NY 12212-5130 calendar days from the Date Mailed of
your last Monetary Benefit Determination.

Unemployment Insurance Please print clearly. If you do not, we

Request for Reconsideration cannot process this form.

Please print clearly

Last Name: First Name: Middle Initial:
Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Claim Effective/Start Date: I/ Social Security number: XXX-XX-__ o

Form requirements
To correct wages and/or add wages not reflected on your Monetary Benefit Determination, follow the instructions below.
e Complete the employer and quarterly wage information below using black or blue ink.
e Include any documentation that could be considered proof of employment and wages such as pay stubs, W-2s,
1099s, vouchers, checks, tips, bonuses, meals, lodging, commissions, vacation pay and records of employment
and/or payment.

e Do not send originals; photocopy all supporting documentation onto 8%z x 11 single-sided paper.
e Write your name, the last four digits of your Social Security number and your phone number on each attachment.
e If you received worker's compensation, include a copy of your most recent Subsequent Report of Injury (SROI) filing.
e This completed form and all attachments must be received within the time frame noted above in the IMPORTANT!
message. Please print clearly.
Employer Information Basic or Alternate Base Period Total Quarterly Gross Wages
Please print clearly. Attach an additional page if you have | Write in the total quarterly gross wages for each employer /
information for more than (3) three employers. quarter indicated. Refer to your most recent Monetary Benefit
Determination for assistance.
Employer: Quarter __/__J - $000,000.00
Address: _ Quarter __/__J A $000,000.00
o State: _— 2p: Quarter__/__/____-__,_,___$000,000.00
If work was performed outside New York State,
Quarter |/ - $000,000.00
Employer: Quarter __ [/ / -1 $DDD ) gao.od
Address: Quarter __/__J A $000,000.00
City: State: Zip:
If work was performed outside New York State, Quarter /[ / -/ [/ $DDD ! 0o0.00
indicate state: Quarter /[ - $DDD,DDDDD
Quarter |/ - $000,000.00
Employer: Quarter /[ -1 $DDD,DDDDD
Address: Quarter __ / __/ - $DDD,DDDDD
City: State: Zip:
If work was performed outside New York State, Quarter /[ - [ [ $DDD ) DDD ' DD
indicate state: Quarter /[ -1 $DDD,DDDDD
Quarter | - | $DDD,DDDDD

Certification

| certify that the above information is true to the best of my knowledge and | am aware that there are penalties for
making false statements. | understand | will be notified of the results of my request.

Signature (Required) Date Area code Telephone number

Return instructions

This notice and all attachments must be received within the time frame noted above in the IMPORTANT! message.
Fax: 518-457-9378. This notice is your cover page. Indicate total number of pages .
OR Mail: New York State Department of Labor, P.O. Box 15130, Albany, NY 12212-5130.

Claim weekly benefits at www.labor.ny.gov For more information visit: For help, see the claimant handbook at
or call Tel-Service at 888-581-5812. www.Iabor.ny.gov. www.labor.ny.gov/uihandbook.

TC 403 HR (10-15)






NEW YORK STATE IMPORTANT!
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR This form must be received within ten

P. O. Box 15130
ALBANY, NY 12212-5130

calendar days from the Date Mailed of

your last Monetary Benefit Determination.

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE Please print clearly. If you do not, we

Request for Alternate Base Period

cannot process this form.

Please print LAST NAME: FIRST NAME: MIDDLE INITIAL:

clearly - -
ADDRESS:
CITY: STATE: ZIP CODE:
CLAIM EFFECTIVE/START DATE: I SOCIAL SECURITY #: XXX = XX-

Form

requirements

If you wish to use the Alternate Base Period to increase your weekly benefit rate:

e Complete the steps below using black or blue ink.

¢ Include any documentation that could be considered proof of employment and wages such as pay
stubs, W-2s, 1099s, vouchers, checks, tips, bonuses, meals, lodging, commissions, vacation pay
and records of employment and/or payment.

e Photocopy all supporting documentation onto 8% x 11 single-sided paper. Do not send originals.

e Write your name, the last four digits of you Social Security number and your phone number on each
attachment.

e This completed form and all attachments must be received within the time frame noted above in the
IMPORTANT! message. Please print clearly.
If the wages in your last completed calendar quarter exceed the "High Quarter Wages" on your
Monetary Benefit Determination, use of the Alternate Base Period may increase your benefit rate. If
you choose the Alternate Base Period to establish a claim, you will not be able to use these wages
for a future claim.

Step 1 The last completed calendar quarter prior to your claim effective/start date is: I/ through /I
Last Calendar Month/Day/Year Month/Day/Year
Quarter Refer to your Monetary Benefit Determination for calendar quarter dates and compare the Alternate Base Period
Information Quarter wages with your records, then check the appropriate box below and proceed to the "Step" indicated.
L1 The Alternate Base Period Quarter Wages are incorrect or missing. (Proceed to Step 2)
[] The Alternate Base Period Quarter Wages are correct. (Proceed to Step 3)
Step 2 Complete the information below, include proof of wages and attach an additional page if you have
Wage information for more than (3) three employers.
Information
EMPLOYER NAME: QUARTERLY GROSS WAGES $
EMPLOYER ADDRESS:
) ] ) If work was performed outside New
CITY: STATE: ZIP: York State, indicate state
EMPLOYER NAME: QUARTERLY GROSS WAGES $
EMPLOYER ADDRESS:
) ) ) If work was performed outside New
CITY: STATE: ZIP: York State, indicate state
EMPLOYER NAME: QUARTERLY GROSS WAGES $
EMPLOYER ADDRESS:
] ) ) If work was performed outside New
CITY: STATE: ZIP: York State, indicate state
Step 3 | certify that the above information is true to the best of my knowledge and | am aware that there are penalties for

Acknowledgement

making false statements. | understand if | use the Alternate Base Period, these wages cannot be used for a future claim.

Signature Required Date Area Code Telephone Number

Step 4 This notice and all attachments must be received within the time frame noted above in the IMPORTANT! message.
Return FAX: 518-457-9378 OR MAIL: New York State Department of Labor
Instructions This notice is your cover page. P.O. Box 15130
Indicate total # of pages Albany, NY 12212-5130
Claim your weekly benefits on the For additional information visit For assistance, review your
web or by calling Tel-Service. our website: www.labor.ny.gov claimant handbook.

TC 403 HA (10-15)






New York State Department of Labor
PO Box 15130
Albany, NY 12212-5130

Request for Rate Based on Weeks of Employment

To request a benefit rate based on weeks of employment, you must complete this form and return it to the above
Department of Labor address with a copy of your proof of employment and earnings for each week of employment for the
base period indicated below. It must be received within ten calendar days of your latest Monetary Benefit Determination.
Do not send the originals of your supporting payroll documents as they cannot be returned. Your Request for Rate Based
on Weeks of Employment cannot be processed until all Requests for Reconsideration have been reviewed and the
establishment of your base period has been finalized. You will be notified of the action taken regarding your request within
three weeks of receipt.

Complete only the front of this form if you have worked for one employer or you have worked for two or more employers
consecutively. If you worked during the same week(s) for two or more employers, complete the worksheet on the back of
this form first and transfer the appropriate information to the front of the form. If you have more than seven employers
during the base period, list the information on a separate sheet of paper and attach it to this form.

Please print clearly

Last Name: First name: Middle Initial:
Address:

City: State: Zip:

Social Security Number: XXX -XX-_

Base Period: From Through

(Enter these dates from the previously issued T402, Monetary Benefit Determination)

A. Employer Name and Address | B. Length of Pay Period; i.e. |C. Total Weeks Paid D. Total Wages Paid
weekly, bi-weekly, etc. During Base Period During Base Period
1. $
2. $
3. $
4. $
5. $
6. $
7. $
E. Total Weeks and Wages Worked During the Base Period $
F. Total Weeks Worked From Concurrency Worksheet (on back)
G. Recomputation Formula:
1. Divide the total wages by the total weeks (the lesser of E or F) to calculate
the average Weekly Wage ...........ooiiiiiii i $
2. Divide the average weekly wage by 2 to arrive at your proposed rate based
on weeks and wages. The rate cannot exceed $425.............c.cccoiiiiiiiiiiiiiininnn.. $
3. Enter your current benefit rate from your last T402 Monetary Benefit
Determination fOrm ... . ..o $
4. Subtract line 3 from line 2. The amount must be $5 or more to receive
the recomputed rate based on weeks and wages............ooooiiiiiiiiiiiiiii i, $

Certification: | certify that all information and records submitted are true and accurate. | understand that this information
is subject to verification and penalties can be imposed for false statements.

Signature: Date: / / Telephone No.:
LO 403.5 (09/15)
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Instructions for Request for Rate Based on Weeks of Employment

Your entitlement to benefits and weekly benefit rate have been established based upon a formula using your high
calendar quarter(s) earnings in your base period. Depending on your employment history, you may qualify for a higher

weekly benefit based upon one-half of your average weekly wage. To request a review of your weekly benefit rate, all of
the following must apply:

e Your request must be received within ten calendar days of the date of your latest Monetary Benefit Determination.

e The establishment of your base period has been finalized.

e You must have at least 20 weeks of employment in your base period. A week of work is defined as a Monday
through Sunday period during which you were paid remuneration for employment for an employer covered under
the New York State Unemployment Insurance Law.

e You must provide proof of all of your base period weeks of employment and wages. Acceptable proof includes
paycheck stubs, payroll envelopes, or cancelled checks. Your proof must show name of employer, pay
period/date of payment, wages and your name and/or Social Security n umber. In no event may the benefit rate
calculated based on your acceptable proof be more than the maximum benefit rate currently in effect.

e The benefit rate based on one-half of your average weekly wage must be at least $5.00 more than the weekly

benefit amount based on the quarterly earnings formula as reported on your latest Monetary Benefit
Determination form.

The Request for Rate Based on Weeks of Employment is separate from a Request for Reconsideration. The request for
Reconsideration is discussed in Section 4 of the claimant handbook: “How much willl receive in benefits each week?” A
Request for Rate Based on Weeks of Employment cannot be made until you finalize the base period to utilize and a
determination has been issued on any Request for Reconsideration.

On the reverse side is an example of a completed Request for Rate Based on Weeks of Employment form. The example
assumes a benefit claim filed in the 4™ quarter 2013 and wages employers reported to the New York State Wage
Reporting system within the basic base period July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2013.

Employer Wages Base Period
2/2013 1/2013 4/2012 3/2012
Good Construction, Inc. $5,000 $6,594 $7,812 $1,375 $20,781
Better Construction, Inc. $640 $640
Best Construction, Inc. $6,440 $6,440
Total $5,640 $6,594 $7,812 $7,815 $27,861

The rate based on one twenty-six (1/26) of the high quarter wages is $300. For those with $3,575 or less wages in the

high quarter, the weekly benefit rate is based on one twenty-fifth (1/25).

The rate based on weekly employment and wages data as evidenced by acceptable proof is $309. (See calculations on

page 2 of the instructions.)

LO 403.51 (09/15)




NOTE: If you worked for more than one employer in the same week for one or more weeks, you must first complete the
Concurrency Worksheet on the back of the Request for Rate Based on Weeks of Employment form. In the example
below, the total weeks on line F are less than the sum of the weeks as shown on line E due to concurrent employment in

the base period.

Example — Request for Rate Based on Weeks of Employment

A. Employer Name and Address B. Length of Pay Period,; i.e. C. Total Weeks Paid D. Total Wages Paid
weekly, bi-weekly, etc. During Base Period During Base Period
1. Good Construction, Inc. Bi-weekly 43 $ 20,781.00
Anytown, NY 10101
2. Better Construction, Inc. Bi-weekly 2 $ 640.00
Anytown, NY 10101
3. Best Construction, Inc. Weekly 8 $ 6,440.00,
Anytown, NY 10101
4.
5.
6.
7.
E. Total weeks and wages worked during the base period 53 $ 27,861.00
F. Total weeks worked from Concurrency Worksheet 45
G. Recomputation Formula Example
1. Divide the total wages by the total weeks (the lesser of line E or F) to calculate
the average Weekly Wage ..o $619.13
2. Divide the average weekly wage by 2 to arrive at your proposed rate based on
weeks and wages. The rate cannot exceed $425..............ccooiiiiiiiiiiiiii, $ 309.57
3. Enter your current benefit rate from your last T402 Monetary Benefit
Determination form............oooiiii e $300.00
4. Subtract line 3 from line 2. The amount must be $5 or more to receive
the recomputed rate based on weeks and wages. ..........c.cooviiiiiiiiicii $9.57
Example 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 4 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52
Weeks —
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Etc.
X X X
Key: Gross Weeks 53
X = No work available Concurrent Weeks 8
* = Weeks 10-39; worded 26 weeks for “A” Net Weeks 45




Instructions for Voter Registration Form

1. Fill out the Voter Registration form that immediately follows this instruction sheet.

2. Carefully tear it out of this booklet and put it in an envelope. Be sure to
include your return address and correct postage.

3. Mail to the County Board of Elections in the county in which you live (see list at
bottom of this page). Do not mail this form to the Department of Labor! We cannot
process it and will have to return it to you. This will delay your registration.

New York City
32 Broadway, 7th Fl.
New York, NY 10004
(212) 487-5300

Albany

32 North Russell Road
Albany, NY 12206
(518) 487-5060

Allegany

6 Schuyler St.
Belmont, NY 14813
(585) 268-9294

Broome
Government Plaza
60 Hawley St.

PO Box 1766
Binghamton, NY
13902

(607) 778-2172

Cattaraugus

207 Rock City St.
Suite 100

Little Valley, NY 14755
(716) 938-2400

Cayuga

157 Genesee St.
(Basement)
Auburn, NY 13021
(315) 253-1285

Chautauqua

7 North Erie St.
Mayville, NY 14757
(716) 753-4580

Chemung

378 South Main St.
PO Box 588
Elmira, NY 14902
(607) 737-5475

Chenango

5 Court St.
Norwich, NY 13815
(607) 337-1760

Clinton

Cnty Government Ctr.
Ste. 104

137 Margaret St.
Plattsburgh, NY 12901
(518) 5665-4740

Columbia

401 State St.
Hudson, NY 12534
(518) 828-3115

Cortland

112 River St.

Suite 1

Cortland, NY 13045
(607) 753-5032

Delaware

3 Gallant Ave.
Delhi, NY 13753
(607) 746-2315

Dutchess

47 Cannon St.
Poughkeepsie, NY
12601

(845) 486-2473

Erie

134 W. Eagle St.
Buffalo, NY 14202
(716) 858-8891

Essex

7551 Court St.

PO Box 217
Elizabethtown, NY
12932

(518) 873-3474

Franklin

355 West Main St.
Ste. 161

Malone, NY 12953
(518) 481-1663

Fulton

2714 St. Hwy 29

Ste. 1

Johnstown, NY 12095
(518) 736-5526

Genesee

County Building #1
15 Main St.
Batavia, NY 14021
(585) 344-2550

Greene

411 Main St.

Ste. 437

Catskill, NY 12414
(518) 719-3550

Hamilton

Rte. 8

PO Box 175

Lake Pleasant, NY
12108

(518) 548-4684

Herkimer

109 Mary St.

Ste. 1306

Herkimer, NY 13350
(315) 867-1102

Jefferson

175 Arsenal St.
Watertown, NY 13601
(315) 785-3027

Lewis

7660 N. State St.
Lowville, NY 13367
(315) 376-5329

Livingston

County Govt. Ctr.

6 Court St.

Room 104
Geneseo, NY 14454
(585) 243-7090

Madison

County Office Bldg.
N. Court St.

PO Box 666
Wampsville, NY
13163

(315) 366-2231

Monroe

39 Main St. W.
Rochester, NY 14614
(585) 753-1550

Montgomery
Old Courthouse
9 Park St.

PO Box 1500
Fonda, NY 12068
(518) 853-8180

Nassau

240 0Old Country Rd.
5th Fl.

Mineola, NY 11501
(516) 571-2411

Niagara

111 Main St.

Ste. 100

Lockport, NY 14094
(716) 438-4040

Oneida

Union Station
321 Main St.
3rd Fl.

Utica, NY 13501
(315) 798-5765

Onondaga

1000 Erie Blvd West
Syracuse, NY 13204
(315) 435-3312

Ontario

74 Ontario St.
Canandaigua, NY
14424

(585) 396-4005

Orange

75 Webster Ave
PO Box 30
Goshen, NY 10924
(845) 360-6500

Orleans

14012 State Rte. 31
Albion, NY 14411
(585) 589-3274

Oswego

185 E. Seneca St.
Box9

Oswego, NY 13126
(315) 349-8350

Otsego

Ste.2

140 County Hwy. 33W
Cooperstown, NY
13326

(607) 547-4247

Putnam

25 0ld Route 6
Carmel, NY 10512
(845) 808-1300

Rensselaer

Ned Pattison
Government Ctr.
1600 Seventh Ave.
Troy, NY 12180
(518) 270-2990

Rockland

11 New Hempstead Rd.
New City, NY 10956
(845) 638-5172

St. Lawrence
48 Court St.
Canton, NY 13617
(315) 379-2202

Saratoga

50 W. High St.
Ballston Spa, NY
12020

(518) 885-2249

Schenectady

388 Broadway, Ste. E
Schenectady, NY
12305

(518) 377-2469

Schoharie

County Office Bldg.
284 Main St.

PO Box 99
Schoharie, NY 12157
(518) 295-8388

Schuyler

County Office Bldg.
105 9th St., Unit 13
Watkins Glen, NY
14891

(607) 535-8195

Seneca

One DiPronio Dr.
Waterloo, NY 13165
(315) 5639-1760

Steuben

3 E. Pulteney Sq.
Bath, NY 14810

(607) 664-2260

Suffolk

Yaphank Ave.

PO Box 700
Yaphank, NY 11980
(631) 852-4500

Sullivan

Gov't. Ctr.

100 North St.

PO Box 5012
Monticello, NY 12701
(845) 807-0400

Tioga

1062 State Rte. 38
P.O.Box 306
Owego, NY 13827
(607) 687-8261

Tompkins

Court House Annex
128 E. Buffalo St.
Ithaca, NY 14850
(607) 274-5522

Ulster

284 Wall St.
Kingston, NY 12401
(845) 334-5470

Warren

Cnty. Municipal Ctr.
3rd Floor

Human Serv. Bldg
1340 St. Rte. 9
Lake George, NY
12845

(518) 761-6456

Washington
383 Broadway
Fort Edward, NY
12828

(518) 746-2180

Wayne

7376 State Rte. 31
PO Box 636
Lyons, NY 14489
(315) 946-7400

Westchester
25 Quarropas St.
White Plains, NY
10601

(914) 995-5700

Wyoming

4 Perry Ave.
Warsaw, NY 14569
(585) 786-8931

Yates

Ste. 1124

417 Liberty St.
PennYan, NY 14527
(315) 5636-5135
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#)NYS Agency-Based Voter Registration Form
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you are not registered to vote where you live now, would you

e to apply to register here today?”
If you checked YES, please complete the It’ai/v(:/ubz‘;( n;;;l;z;k
VOTER REGISTRATION APPLICATION below be considered to
NO because | choose not to register OR have decided not
to register to vote
at this time.

| am already registered at my current address OR

| asked for and received a mail registration form

Important!

Applying to register or declining to register to vote will not affect the
amount of assistance that you will be provided by this agency.

If you would like help filling out the voter registration application form,
we will help you. The decision whether to seek or accept help is yours.
You may fill out the application form in private.

Informacion en espafiol: si le interesa obtener este formulario en espafiol,
llame al 1-800-367-8683

HROCE R AT LR R I OB R R A%, S5 T 1-800-367-8683

Signature Date Shapol: Ghato] Ghate] A& A5kAIw 1-800-367-8683
o Azt A L.
sl
- R TG ﬂiiiﬂﬁ?%@ﬁ (© (109 BI ©IR(T 1-800-367-8683 i
Please Print Name d9EG (HA I 3
01
VOTER REG'STRAT'ON APPL'CAT'ON (instructions on back)
[ Yes, | need an application for an Absentee Ballot Please print or type in blue or black ink [ Yes, | would like to be an Election Day worker
Are you a U.S. citizen? Will you be 18 years old on or before election day? For Board Use Only
1 [ Yes [ no 2 [dYes [1 no
If you answered NO, do not complete this form If you answered NO, do not complete this form
unless you will be 18 by the end of the year
Last Name First Name Middle Initial Suffix
3
Address where you live (do not give P.O. box) Apt. No. City/Town/Village Zip Code County
4
Address where you get your mail (if different than above) P.O. Box, Star Route, etc. Post Office Zip Code
5
Date of Birth Sex Telephone (optional) Email (optional)
6 7 D M D F 8
The last year you voted Your address was (give house number, street and city) ID Number (Check the applicable box and provide your number)
10 9 [ New York State DMV number — — — — — —
In county/state Under the name (if different from your name now) D Last four digits of your Social Security number — — — —
D I do not have a New York State DMV or Social Security number
Political Party Affidavit: | swear or affirm that
| wish to enroll in a political party ¢ |am acitizen of the United States.
. Iwill h livedinth ty, cit ill for at least 30 days bef
00 Democratic party O Independence party o tm eleac\;?oxe in the county, city or village for at least 30 days before
O Republicar_l party [0 Women's Equality party ¢ |will meet all requirements to register to vote in New York State.
11| O Conservative party 00 Reform party 12| . Thisis my signature or mark on the line below.
- Greer.1 party . [ Other e Theabove informationistrue, lunderstand thatifitis nottrue, | can be
[0 Working Families party convicted and fined up to $5,000 and/or jailed for up to four years.
I do not wish to enroll in a political party / /
O No party Signature or Mark in ink Date
(Optional) Register to donate your organs and tissues
Last Name By signing below, you certify that you are: e w—
- - — - e 18yearsofageorolder LIFE
FirstName Middle Initial | Suffix e Consentto donate all of your organs and tissues for
transplantation, research, or both; WNew York Stare
Address .

Birth

Date Sex

Om OF

Eye Color Height

Authorizing the Board of Elections to provide your name and
identifying information to DOH for enroliment in the Registry;

Apt Number |City/Town/Village Zip Code e And authorizing DOH to allow access to this information to federally regulated organ
procurement organizations and NYS-licensed tissue and eye banks and hospitals
upon your death.

Ft. In. Signature

Date



Qualifications for Registration

You Can Use This Form To:

e register to vote in New York State;

e change your name and/or address, if there is a change since you
last voted;

e enroll in a political party or change your enrollment.

To Regqister You Must:

® be a U.S. citizen;

e be 18 years old by December 31 of the year in which you file this form
(note: You must be 18 years old by the date of the general, primary, or
other election in which you want to vote.);

¢ be a resident of the County, or of the City of New York at least 30 days
before an election;

e not be in jail or on parole for a felony conviction; and

e not claim the right to vote elsewhere.

Important!

If you believe that someone has interfered with your right to register or
to decline to register to vote, your right to privacy in deciding whether to
register or in applying to register to vote, or your right to choose your own
political party or other political preference, you may file a complaint with:

NYS Board of Elections
40 North Pearl St, Suite 5
Albany, NY 12207-2729
Telephone: 1-800-469-6872;
TDD/TTY users contact the New York State Relay at 711;
or visit our web site - www.elections.ny.gov

Your decision to register will remain confidential and will be used only for

voter registration purposes. Anyone not choosing to register to vote and/

or information regarding the office to which the application was submitted
will remain confidential, to be used only for voter registration purposes.

Verifying your identity

We will try to check your identity before Election Day, through the DMV number (driver’s license number or non-driver 1D
number), or the last four digits of your social security number, which you will fill in Box 9.

If you do not have a DMV or Social Security number, you may use a valid photo ID, a current utility bill, bank statement,
paycheck, government check or some other government document that shows your name and address. You may include

a copy of one of those types of ID with this form.

If we are unable to verify your identity before Election Day, you will be asked for ID when you vote for the first time.

To complete this form:

It is a crime to procure a false registration or to furnish false information to the Board of Elections.

Box 9:You must make one selection. For questions refer to Verifying your identity above.

Box 10: If you have never voted before, write “None’ If you can't remember when you last voted, put a question mark (?).
If you voted before under a different name, put down that name. If not, write “Same’

Box 11: Check one box only. Political party enroliment is optional but that, in order to vote in a primary election of a political
party, a voter must enroll in that political party, unless state party rules allow otherwise.



EQUAL
OPPORTUNITY
is THE LAW

It is against the law for all recipients of Federal financial assistance to discriminate on the following basis:

Against any individual in the United States, on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, disability,
political affiliation or belief; and against any beneficiary of programs financially assisted under Title I of the Workforce
Investment Act of 1998 (WIA), on the basis of the beneficiary’s citizenship/status as a lawfully admitted immigrant authorized
to work in the United States, or his or her participation in any WIA Title I-financially assisted program or activity. The
recipient must not discriminate in any of the following areas: Deciding who will be admitted, or have access, to any WIA Title
I-financially assisted program or activity; providing opportunities in, or treating any person with regard to such a program
or activity; or making employment decisions in the administration of, or in connection with such a program or activity.

What to Do If You Believe You Have Experienced Discrimination

Ifyou think you have been subjected to discrimination under a WIA Title I-financially assisted program or activity,
you may file a complaint within 180 days from the date of the alleged violation with either:

Director

Division of Equal Opportunity Development
New York State Department of Labor

State Office Campus, Building 12, Room 540
Albany, New York 12240

PHONE: (518) 457-1984
'SQTETVEVO‘F{ORK De pa rtment | (o) 1-s00-662-1220
OPPORTUNITY. VOICE) 1-800-421-1220
of Labor (VOICE)
or you may file a complaint directly with:

Director

Civil Rights Center (CRC)
U.S. Department of Labor
200 Constitution Avenue, NW
Room N-4123

Washington, D.C. 20210

If you file your complaint with the recipient, you must wait either until the recipient issues a written Notice of Final
Action, or until 90 days have passed (whichever is sooner), before filing with the Civil Rights Center (see address above). If
the recipient does not give you a written Notice of Final Action within 90 days of the day on which you filed your complaint,
you do not have to wait for the recipient to issue that Notice before filing a complaint with CRC. However, you must file
your CRC complaint within 30 days of the 90-day deadline (in other words, within 120 days after the day on which you filed
your complaint with the recipient). If the recipient does give you a written Notice of Final Action on your complaint, but
you are dissatisfied with the decision or resolution, you may file a complaint with CRC. You must file your CRC complaint
within 30 days of the date on which you received the Notice of Final Action.

DEOD 310.1E (12/15)

Equal Opportunity Employer/Program.
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
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