Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Disability Employment Initiative

The Disability Employment Initiative (DEI) is jointly funded and administered by the United States Department of Labor’s Employment and Training Administration and the Office of Disability Employment Policy.

This federally-funded disability employment service is available in the ten Career Centers listed below. The DOL provides seamless Workforce Investment Act (WIA) services and accessibility for everyone served in all NYS Career Centers, including individuals with disabilities.

The DEI’s purposes include the following:

  • Improve educational, training, and employment opportunities and outcomes for adults with disabilities who are unemployed, underemployed, and/or receiving Social Security disability benefits, by refining and expanding already identified successful public workforce strategies;
  • Help these individuals with disabilities find a path into the middle class through exemplary and model service delivery by the public workforce system;
  • Improve coordination and collaboration among employment, training and asset development programs implemented at state and local levels, including the expansion of the public workforce investment system's capacity to serve as Employment Networks under the Social Security Administration’s Ticket to Work Program; and
  • Build effective community partnerships that leverage public and private resources to better serve individuals with disabilities and improve employment outcomes.

The Disability Resource Coordinator, among other responsibilities, will:

  • Help expand the workforce development system to serve as Employment Networks under the Ticket to Work program;
  • Provide services to Ticket Holders, as credentialed Benefits and Work Incentives Advisors;
  • Develop and maintain partnerships and collaborative activities;
  • Help ensure that job seekers with disabilities access all of the different programs and services they need to meet their employment and asset development goals;
  • Assist with Career Center staff and partner training; and
  • Assist in maintaining and ensuring the accessibility of the Career Centers.

For more information about the DEI, visit https://disability.workforce3one.org/page/tag/dei_project and http://www.dei-ideas.org.

DEI Staff Contact Information

Patrick Pascarella
Acting DEI State Lead
State Office Campus
Building 12, Room 440
Albany, New York 12240
patrick.pascarella@labor.ny.gov
P: (518) 457-0364

Geri Walsh
State DRC
Career Central
175 Central Avenue
Albany, New York 12206
statedrc@capreg.org
P: (518) 462-7600 ext. 157

CountyDisability Resource CoordinatorEmployment Network

Broome

Randall Cook

rcook@co.broome.ny.us
P: (607) 778-6478

Broome-Tioga Workforce New York

171 Front Street

Binghamton, New York 13905

Cayuga

Emily Tortorici

etortorici@cscaa.com

P: (315) 253-1013

Cayuga Works Career Center

199 Franklin Street, Suite 204

Auburn, New York 13021

Chautauqua

Karen Colaiacovo

kcolaiacovo@chautauquaworks.com

P: (716) 487-5127

Chautauqua Works

407 Central Avenue

Dunkirk, New York 14048 

 

Chautauqua Works

23 E. 3rd Street

Jamestown, New York 14701

Chenango

Kathy DeAngelo

deangelok@otsegocounty.com

P: (607) 432-4800 ext. 113

CDO Workforce

1 Ohara Drive
Norwich, New York 13815

Cortland

Joshua Kisner
joshuak@jmmurray.com
P: (607) 756-7585 ext. 3298

Cortland Works Career Center
99 Main Street
Cortland, New York 13045

Delaware

Kathy DeAngelo

deangelok@otsegocounty.com

P: (607) 432-4800 ext. 113

CDO Workforce 
1 Gallant Avenue
Delhi, New York 13753

 

CDO Workforce 
21 Liberty Street
Sidney, New York 13838

Nassau

Maria Lombardi
mlombardi@hempsteadworks.com
P: (516) 485-5000 ext. 1113

Carolina Urrea
currea@hempsteadworks.com
P: (516) 485-5000 ext. 1103

Aurora Berman
aberman@hempsteadworks.com
P: (516) 485-5000 ext. 1125

Hempstead Works Career Center
Hempstead Executive Plaza
50 Clinton Street, Suite 400
Hempstead, New York 11550

Niagara

Marilyn Patterson

marilyn.patterson@niagaracounty.com

P: (716) 278-1695

Niagara's WorkSourceOne

1001 11th Street

Niagara Falls, New York 14301

Orange

Veronica Jones

vjones@orangecountygov.com

P: (845) 346-1321

Orange Works Career Center 
Fulton Plaza
33 Fulton Street, 2nd Floor
Middletown, New York 10940

 

Orange Works Career Center 
The Maple Building
3 Washington Center, 4th Floor
Newburgh, New York 12550

Otsego

Kathy DeAngelo

deangelok@otsegocounty.com

P: (607) 432-4800 ext. 113

CDO Workforce

12 Dietz Street
Oneonta, New York 13820

Saratoga

John Banas
jbanas@saratogacountyny.gov
P: (518) 884-4907

Saratoga County Employment & Training
152 West High Street
Ballston Spa, New York 12020

Suffolk

Timothy Carew
timothy.carew@suffolkcountyny.gov
P: (631) 853-6634

Suffolk County Department of Labor, Licensing & Consumer Affairs
725 Veterans Memorial Highway
Hauppauge, New York 11788

Suffolk

James Eddings
james.eddings@suffolkcountyny.gov
P: (631) 853-2025

Suffolk Works Employment Program
395 Oser Avenue
Hauppauge, New York 11788

Suffolk

Kenneth Klassert
ken.klassert@suffolkcountyny.gov
P: (631) 687-4860

Workforce New York Career Center
160 South Ocean Avenue
Patchogue, New York 11772

Suffolk County Department of Labor, Licensing & Consumer Affairs
300 Center Drive, Room S-12
Riverhead, New York 11901

Tioga

Randall Cook

rcook@co.broome.ny.us

P: (607) 778-6478

Tioga Employment Center
1062 State Route 38
Owego, New York 13827

Tompkins

Jason Harriott
jason.harriott@aboutchallenge.org

P: (607) 793-8339

Tompkins Workforce New York
Center Ithaca, Suite #241
171 East State Street
Ithaca, NY 14850

Warren

Gail Clark
clarkg@warrencountyny.gov
P: (518) 743-0925 ext. 8879

Career Center of Warren County
Northway Plaza, Suite 13C
Queensbury, New York 12804

Washington

Thomas Pooler
tpooler@co.washington.ny.us
P: (518) 746-2390 ext. 3183

Career Center of Washington County
383 Broadway
Fort Edward, New York 12828

Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.