Vehicle escort drivers drive vehicles that accompany overdimensional loads being driven in NYS.
Applicants must take a written test at a New York State Department of Motor Vehicles office. In addition, an applicant must have a valid New York State license or out-of-state license with current New York State driving privileges.
Applicants must be at least 21 years of age.
$40 -- Written test fees
$40 -- Renewal fee (concurrent with expiration of NYS license or 4 years for out-of-state licensed drivers)
$5 -- Duplicates
To become a certified vehicle escort driver in New York State, applicants must take a written test consisting of 20 questions and score 70 percent or higher.
Note: A Certified Vehicle Escort Driver Manual is available to applicants for study prior to the written examination (available online at https://www.dot.ny.gov/nypermits/repository/escort.pdf).
The vehicle escort driver test includes questions on safe driving, rules of the road, regulations governing the movement of over-dimensional loads, responsibilities of the escort driver, escort procedures, and New York State traffic laws. Applicants should also be familiar with the New York State Driver's Manual and the Hauling Permit Manual.
There are no limited permit requirements for escort certification. Applicants who pass the written test are immediately certified and are given a 60-day interim certificate. Their permanent certification is sent to them by mail.
In 2013, there were 847 certificates issued for escort vehicle drivers.
As of July 14, 2014, there were 7,663 drivers with Escort certificates.
New York State Department of Motor Vehicles
Motor Carrier Bureau
Bus Driver Unit
6 Empire State Plaza, Room 136B
Albany, New York 12228
|From Area Code(s)||Please Call|
|212, 646, 917, 718||(212) 645-5550 or (718) 966-6155|
|516, 914, 631, 845||(718) 447-4820|
|Upstate and all others in New York State||(518) 486-9786|
|Out of New York State||(518) 473-5595|
53-3033 - Truck Drivers, Light or Delivery Services
To learn more about this occupation go to the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).
New York State Department of Transportation
50 Wolf Road
Albany, New York 12205
Phone: (518) 457-6195
Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.
This page was last updated on 8/5/14.
Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.