Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Funeral Director

Description

Person licensed and registered to engage in all aspects of the business and practice of funeral directing in New York State.

Licensing Requirements

To become licensed to function as a funeral director in New York State, an applicant must pass the National Board Examination administered by the International Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards. Applicants must be of good moral character, complete a course of college-level study in funeral service, and be a citizen of the United States or an alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence in the United States. Applicants to be a funeral director in New York State must complete a 12-month registered resident training program with an approved New York State-registered funeral firm. Subject applicants must pass an examination pertaining to the laws, rules and regulations governing the business and practice of funeral directing in New York State.

Education

Students planning to practice in New York State must file a student application with the New York State Department of Health when they enroll in a funeral service education program.

Students seeking to become funeral directors must complete 60 semester credits (about 2 years) of college-level study approved by the New York State Department of Health in the following subjects: mortuary arts (22 semester hours/33 quarter credits); funeral services (22 semester hours/33 quarter credits); elective subjects (16 semester hours/24 quarter credits).

Continuing Education

Effective January 1, 2001, continuing education is a statutory requirement for the biennial registration of an active funeral director license. Prior to the start of the July 1, 2002-June 30, 2004 biennial registration period, funeral directors must complete 6 contact hours of New York State Department of Health-approved courses. For all subsequent biennial registration periods, 12 contact hours will be required.

Experience

A prospective, licensed New York State funeral director must serve a 12-month training program as a registered resident at an approved funeral firm operating in New York State. This registered resident training program begins after all educational requirements have been satisfied and the applicant has passed the National Board Examination. An application to register as a resident for this training program is filed with the New York State Department of Health. The registered resident training program must include all aspects of funeral service. Quarterly activity reports must be filed with the New York State Department of Health by the registered resident.

Fees: (as of August 1, 2012)

$50 -- Student registration fee payable to the New York State Department of Health, upon enrollment in a funeral service education institution, and must be accompanied by a completed student application obtained from the funeral service institution.

No fee is required to register as a resident with the New York State Department of Health.

$125 -- Biennial registration renewal

Examination Requirements

Must pass the National Board examination administered by the International Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards.

Must pass the New York State Department of Health-administered examination pertaining to the laws, rules, and regulations governing the business and practice of funeral directing in New York State.

Limited Permit Requirements

No limited permit is issued for practice as funeral director.

Licenses Issued and Active

In 2011, there were 83 licenses issued for this occupation.
As of October 4, 2012, there were 3,691 active licenses for this occupation.

Licensing Authority

New York State Department of Health
Bureau of Funeral Directing
875 Central Avenue
Albany, New York 12206
Phone: (518) 402-0785
Fax: (518) 402-0784

Standard Occupational Classification

11-9061 - Funeral Directors
To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).

Additional Information

New York State Funeral Directors Association, Inc.
1 South Family Drive
Albany, New York 12205
Phone: (518) 452-8230 or (800) 291-2629
Fax: (518)452-8667

The National Funeral Directors Association
13625 Bishop's Drive
Brookfield, Wisconsin 53005
Phone: 1-800-228-6332 or (414) 789-1880

Disclaimer:

Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.

This page was last updated on 10/16/14.

Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.